Creative Living.

in #introducemyself7 years ago (edited)

I typed a book title idea into my iphone notes once upon a time ago.
Laura Scarborough: A Life Creatively Lived.

I suppose it sounds like the beginning of an obituary, but the idea was that I should write a memoir someday about the wonder, curiosity, and play approach to living.  


You see, I believe happiness is derived from creative living, and creativity lives inside all of us.  

Creativity is an outlook - a way of being and seeing the world.  
Creativity is colorful.

Creativity exists in daily choices. Creativity is active - not passive.  

Creativity requires presence and bandwidth.
Creativity understands everything is in a state of flow and that obstacles are opportunities.  

Creativity leads to invention - but only with Action.
 
Action is : doing the work.
Action is : realizing the vision.
 
A friend last night said to me, “My new years resolution for 2018 is to resolve something everyday... and it's been going great - I'm getting so much done!”  

Resolve to Resolve. Brilliant, right?!
So, my resolve today was to get my first post up on Steemit.
 
I discovered Steemit because a fellow Steemer sent me a message that he had shared some music of mine in a post (Artopium Post Link Here). He said it had generated positive response and some Steem -- and that I should get over here!
 
Since then, I’ve been exploring, reading, learning about blockchain, the crypto currency world, and checking out the awesome vibe here. I think this community is creative, innovative, forward thinking, supportive, engaged, and curious. So I’m in and delighted to be here!


I’m a touring musician, piano instructor, vibraphonist, multi-instrumentalist, nerd, dog mom that’s been hooping (yes hula hooping) for over 13 years. Austin, TX is my home base. I teach and share about the power of creative living, growing younger, and hooping for fitness, play, and movement meditation.
 
Looking forward to sharing, learning, and finding inspiration here on Steemit. :D

Love, Laura



 

Sort:  

Welcome Laura, This is a great commuity to be part of. Musicians and Artists seem to flourish here. Looking forward to see your posts and ideas. upvoted, followed and resteemed.

Thank you!

Hello Laura, welcome to steemit. I wish you used the "introduceyourself" tag, your post may have gotten more exposure.
I look forward to your posts.
Quick tip: you can get free images on websites like Pexels, Unsplash, and Pixabay. If you use an image in a post, it's good practice to reference where you got the image from. If you own the copyright, you could state it at the end of the post.

Ah Thank you so much! I realized I did introducemyself not introduceyourself! duh! neeeewbie! I updated but the post is probably old now ... haha.
yes reference to the image source / photo credit important - yes thank you so much for the feedback. #learning

Welcome aboard, @Laurascarborough, you sound like a lot of fun! As a fellow artist (I'm a writer) I also view life as serious play, and hope you write your book, one day.

Just visited Austin for the first time, recently, where I was invited to take part in Int'l Book Festival :)

If you're interested, here's a poetry reading I did:

Cheers, Yahia

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59453.81
ETH 2607.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39