Saying Hello To All You Steemians.

in #introducemyself8 years ago (edited)

Hello, I am James83501

I am a disabled man, who has has never given up on life. I have had many incredible experiences--sometimes tragic--but I view that in light of the “grand scheme of things.” Some of my experiences are almost unbelievable. So much so, that I often imagined that if I wrote an autobiography, it would most likely have been put on the fiction shelves (some parts of it might be classified as “science fiction,” and other parts would most likely land in the “miraculous” section). This depth of experience to draw from, gave me the reputation of being a good story-teller. And, it’s been said, over many years, that I should write about them. I sort of “off-handedly” dismissed those suggestions, though I secretly thought I should do just that.

I went back to school (college) at a late age. For a senior project, I needed to do a scientific research study and write an article detailing it’s results (hmmm, maybe I should publish it here?). I was one of five that year, in the entire college, that passed peer review and became “published.” However, it was in a field that, later, I found no desire to work in.   

I am married (for several years, now) to a wonderful and beautiful woman—inside and out (third time was a charm). I live somewhere in Idaho (USA), and she had lived most of her life on Long Island, NY, with various trips to different parts of the world. The story of how we came together??? Well, that is one of those ALMOST “science fiction” or miraculous” events, that I may or may not share with you, at some future time. She is VERY supportive of NEARLY everything I attempt to accomplish—she believes in me. I am, I believe, the most fortunate and blessed man in the world, to have her in my life. 

I guess you could describe me as a very happily married man, a truth-seeker, philosopher-wannabe, designer/builder of next-level shit, hobbyist of “really fast” sports-cars, “Browncoat,” story-teller, and aspiring science fiction writer...and I suppose now...a blogger. Ya, I know, it’s starting to sound like the time Bilbo Baggins was “riddling” the dragon Smaug, in J. R. R. Tolkien’s novel about Hobbits, Dwarves, Wizards, and such, but “hey, it’s my story” (something one of my daughters says frequently)! 

Of late, I had desired to start writing, again—a dream I’ve had for a considerable time now. I came up with a very good idea of how to bring back one of my favorite TV and movie series, Firefly and Serenity, and started arranging my thoughts in order to put them in “novel” form, as a “fan fiction.” I opened up a Twitter account (Geese! I hated doing that!), found some of the cast members, and the creator, and tried sharing my ideas with each of them. I found out...um...they don’t really pay attention to us “less important” folks. Oh well, it was worth a shot, plus I learned how to post (and more importantly, what not to expect) on Twitter. However, I continued to develop my ideas, in hopes that, one day, I could share them. Then, I started coming up with ideas for my own novel(s) as well, though I had no outlet for them..YET!

So, after my email acquaintance, Clif High (the Web Bot guy), mentioned that his research pointed toward Steemit, as one of the crypto-systems that persevere for the long-run, I looked into it. I snooped around a bit. I found out that one needed to be on FaceBook or Reddit to sign up. There was good reasons for that—helps keep out bots , rif-raf, and such,. However, I had painstakingly been limiting my net-presence for some time now, and immediately dismissed the possibility. 

I, then, watched a recent video of Jeff Berwick interviewing a young lady who blogs on Steemit about traveling. Steemit, pretty much pays her bills, and has lifted her out of the doldrums of a mediocre life. Jeff, now, blogs here himself. That clinched it. I had to join up. So, I restarted my old Facebook account, just to be able to sign on..and started educating myself about Steemit. I ended up uploading my first two posts, found here, and here, before realizing that nobody on Steemit knows me. So, in the middle of editing my third post (posting right after this one...find it here), I decided to share a little about who I am, with this great community (and Steemit is truly a great community). 

My plans for Steemit have changed a bit, since I first signed on. Not only am I planning on posting my original writing, I am also planning on posting commentary about the content a couple of acquaintances of mine are uploading to the web, some DIY (maybe some of my “next-level-shit” and possibly my wife’s gardening, prepping, and how to eat weeds gourmet style), and my late uncle’s REALLY NICE photography I inherited...with commentary, of course...and, maybe more things, as well...This feels, in many ways, like  “wandering outside of my cozy little Hobbit Hole, in search of a new adventure.” 

...Stay tuned. 


  

(Image Source Pinterest)

I really, REALLY, covet your comments, praise, and criticism, as your participation will help my “good” (in my own opinion) writing become “better”, or even “great” (hopefully your opinion, at some point). I wish to thank you in advance for that. Your up-votes are greatly appreciated,, as well, since they are one of the the vehicles, after having been disabled since age 22, that may lift me to greater self-sufficiency—carrying my own water, so-to-speak. 

Please follow me at... 

Steemit : @james83501

Twitter: @james83501

~Cheers~ 

Sort:  

Hi @james83501 - Welcome to Steemit and thank you for popping a quick message to me or I may really not have found you to see the body of your work. I am really looking forward to reading your stories and published works. We are always seeking quality work and stellar people!

You know, NaNoWriMo is just around the corner! It's a worldwide challenge to write 50K words in 30 days. We've got quite a few people on Steemit giving it a go. Worst case - you don't "win". Best case: You get a real good start on your fiction and have a bunch of supportive writers going through the same pain. :) Think about it! ~ Mere

Thank you Mere. I'll giver er' a go! I have much more coming. I will check you out as well. ~Cheers~

I'm looking forward to hearing more about your journey. I'm also trying to get some creative writing going on. One book on Amazon with more to come.

And I know a bit about some of the struggles of living with a disability, and I just love it when people say, what the hell, I'm going to have a kick-arse life anyway. ;-)

Thank you, so much...

Hi James, I look forward to your posts on sustainable living.

Thank you. I just posted my second installation of the Firefly Serenity resurrection campaign. You can find it here: https://steemit.com/writing/@james83501/my-campaign-to-resurrect-firefly-serenity-including-how-to-bring-back-wash-believably-part-2 Please follow me, so you will know when I post sustainable living articles. I will be following you, as well...
~Cheers~

Welcome to Steemit @james83501. Enjoy!

Thank you. I will. Please follow me and check out my other posts. I think you may enjoy them. I just followed you as well.
~Cheers~

I didn't know that the Cliff High mentioned Steemit! Thanks for sharing that. Hopefully that prediction comes true!

He mentioned it more on his twitter page, than his website. He has two posts here, but became heavily involved in twitter ads, since he needs $$$ for some property he is currently looking at. I may be posting his latest video, from today, in the morning. Follow me, I will have lots of interesting things to share. ~Cheers~

Clif is also on Steemit: @clif

Although he hasn't been very active here, yet...

Yes he is. But again he became more interested in Twitter adds. I always send him a copy of what I've posted about him, which includes links to his sites. He's let me do that, so far. However, if he begins posting again, I'll just resteem his posts when they are over a day old. Which brings me to my idea: Since I am just really starting, and we all need a helping hand, I am going to start, daily, looking at the Blogs of my Followers, finding things I like that are over one day old and less than a month old, then upvoting them and resteeming them. I would ask you to do the same for me. This way, we all get continual exposure. That is what we all need, right? I am staring today. I will look at your Blog and resteem and upvote the ones I like.

Yes it is a good idea, I often resteem things after they are past the 24 hour payout. They usually don't get a lot of extra votes though because they are past the payout.

But as you say, it's gets exposure..

I submitted one of your articles to Curie by the way, talk about exposure lol..

You're doing well my friend, keep it up :)

They are past "FIRST PAYOUT"...there is a second one a month out...That is when you get payed for those who upvote your stuff during the first month. That is why my idea will work...muah-hahaha...you game? I already spun one back up for you in good faith ; )

Yeah I am aware of that but there is no curation rewards on that second payout...

At least that's how I understand it but sure, I'll resteem one of yours :)

Welcome to Steemit @james83501

Nice to have you with us :)

Welcome to Steemit @james83501 I love your work, very interesting and original. I am looking forward to all your future posts, cheers!

Thank you...

I have a difficult time holding water, let alone carrying it. Official greetings are in order. Welcome to the Steeming Land, where the steemians can be seen to be steeming steem. I started at the beginning. I will have more to express as I proceed and as I complete a survey of your domain. Thank you.

Sweet! As always, I value your opinion...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56125.76
ETH 2526.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27