Why I used to aspire a professional sports career and why I now don't.

in #intro8 years ago

As it is my first post, a proper introduction would suffice. So, who am I again ? My name is Haroen and I'm currently pursuing a Marine Engineering major. I'll be uploading these glorified zero's and one's based from the Netherlands.

Some of my hobbies are sports and coding. I'm just getting into this coding stuff, so I'll probably write about that topic as well. It'd be cool to keep track of my progress and showcase it to the world. But I guess right now I'm just digressing from the title, or aren't I ?

I used to train intensively on a daily basis to become an elite level boxer, while simultaneously attending college. I even won some matches, could you imagine ? However, I thought about what I wanted in life, and it certainly wasn't going to be getting hammered in the head for little to no money. From here on I made the decision to pursue my academic career. The boxing industry seems to be all about money and glam right now. Though the sport is becoming more and more lucrative, the major payouts are only meant for topdogs or athletes with a proper fanbase. Most of the boxer even have jobs next to training.

Eventually I stood, with in one hand the possibility to pursue knowledge academic wise, and in the other something quite risky. So I chose. And I'm glad I did! The moment you CHOOSE to fight, you have to be in phenomenal shape. And getting in phenomenal shape requires heaps of effort, otherwise you're simply putting your life at risk. Because people do DIE from fighting. Whilst battling in the ring or because of the tremendous amount of (accumulated) damage. Furthermore, chances to obtain punch drunk syndrom (brain damage and consequences) where also a grand incentive. I can assure you that this path of war isn't paved for the majority of people, myself included.

With that said, I have huge amounts of respect for people who give it their all in the ring or elsewhere, to provide for themselves and their families. And don't get me wrong, I'm still infatuated by the art of boxing!

Sooooo, right now I'm quite interested in cyber security/hacking/coding etc. I'm making the switch from my current major to computer science somewhere in the near future. At the moment I'm just living the life of a student whilst being an autodidact in the field of computer science (still quite an amateur however). I also enjoy my occassional video game, I'm quite the geek after all ;). I guess I'm dragging this on way too long, LOL!

PS: Here's a fancy pic from a fight:
Shot!.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @hqb! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

Upvote this notificationto to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @hqb! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62209.21
ETH 2436.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66