INTERNET NEUTRALITY - WHY YOU NEED A VPN! - Money Well Spent

in #internet7 years ago (edited)


netneutrality urgent.jpg

I am living with family in Arizona lately and notice their internet service provider is reading my searches and inserting their ads into my search results?!



WTF?
(SuddenLink does not seem to respect the rights of those using their internet connection for P2P as well.)

I don't have a picture of it right now, and I don't want to turn off my VPN to create one. But it's the first time I have ever seen it, and it scared the heck out of me!

The logic here:

  1. They read my web request, know I am attempting a search for "green apples"
  2. They intercept the text search results from bing.com for my search of "green apples"
  3. Suddenlink formatted a page in their template with their logo, with my search results to a site they do not own, for a web search they have no business reading in the first place.

WE WILL HAVE TO STAY VIGILANT TO THIS, or the internet will no longer be our own. It looks like it's going to be a fight, for something I have taken for granted for 2 decades.

I recently received this letter from a well known open-source media group (tvaddons.co):


"At this point it's safe to say that the future of the internet is not looking too promising when it comes to individual freedoms and rights. While the internet may have once been a place where the free flow of information was paramount, it is slowly being taken over by corporate interests and governmental regulations. The notion of a free and open internet will soon be forgotten, to be replaced with something that can be controlled at many different levels.


Reasons Why You Need a VPN
Privacy Protection: Your ISP keeps logs of everything you do online, do you really want them having a list of every web site you've ever visited? Using a VPN will prevent them from being able to log your internet use. Circumvent Censorship: Countries around the world are blocking sites in the name of anti-piracy efforts, consumer protection, and even worse: to silence political dissidents. Don't let the government control your internet use! Geoblocking: Streaming video sites around the world frequently block foreign visitors from accessing their free services. An example would be an American trying to access an Italian streaming site, or vice versa. Torrents & P2P: When you are downloading or streaming via torrents (or SopCast/AceStream) other people on the network can see your IP Address. This could result in you receiving a nasty letter in the mail.

Recommended VPN Services

IPVanish: This very popular VPN service markets itself to Kodi users and offers native apps for both Android TV and Amazon Fire TV. Definitely worth considering! Prices start at $5.20 per month.

Private Internet Access: They are one of the most respected names in the privacy world, the only downside is that they do not yet offer native apps for Android TV and Amazon Fire TV. Prices start at $2.91 per month.

NordVPN: Another great option, NordVPN is a global leader in the VPN industry. You'll often see their commercials on TV, however they do not offer native Android TV and Amazon Fire TV apps. Prices start at $3.29 per month.

ExpressVPN: They're just released their native apps for Android TV and Amazon Fire TV, making them good contenders in the race to provide VPN services to people looking to cut the cord. Prices start at $8.32 per month.

Internet services providers used to be the ones that fought for internet freedoms, they wanted the internet to be something that could be enjoyed universally. Over the years, almost every internet service provider in the world has either been acquired by (or expanded into) larger media conglomerates who had monopolized the distribution of entertainment and media prior to the arrival of high speed internet.

We're beginning to see governments and internet services providers blocking more and more content on a daily basis. It looks like the free internet is being lost to the status-quo. At one point China was the only country that blocked its citizens from accessing an open internet, now we're seeing countries like the United States, Canada, United Kingdom and Europe following suit.

The right to privacy is a fundamental human right. Free societies could exist without that right. Change could not happen without that right. Governments could not be held accountable without it. In an age where user information is considered to be a business asset, and information is shared between companies for the purposes of delivering advertising, VPN services are essential."

I agree this will require world wide vigilance over time. The best thing you can do is get a VPN right now. And participate in elections where internet privacy is being voted on in your nation.


I think it will require we all understand this issue and why it's important. And tell our family about it, and understand when and why it's happening. Recognize it's happening and do what is necessary to block it.

When I first attempted to use Private Internet Access, I found that SuddenLink had blocked all the IP addresses of all PIA servers around the world!!

At that point I was forced to try a new provider and purchased a subscription to IpVanish. This is probably the VPN I will recommend to others, because they are much more sophisticated and have 1000s of IPs they switch between, making it very difficult to block their servers! ;-)

Surf Safely!


Art by: @rocksg

surfyogi-mandala-original-dads.png

Sort:  

I have only used a free VPN chrome plugin. I see lifelong or yearly deals on slickdeals quite often. I don't think there is a plugin for Brave Browser yet.

Are these plugins or do they work as a program before you even open up the internet?

I don't think, well I hope in all the deepest parts of myself that the internet is a battle they will not win. How far will we be pushed into the corner by them trying, before we fight back.. we will see.

What do you think of the potential for a worldwide internet service like Space X and Elon Musk are trying? It will drop prices and improve speed I am guessing at least. So that will be a victory. I am only basing that by google fiber going into big cities forcing the crap service providers to offer better services for cheaper.

Free markets are beautiful when they work right. They are crony capatalism and monopolies when they don't.

Great reply!
All good questions, anyone might need to understand, thankyou.
a) These are executable apps installed on the telephone or computer you are using. I have mine set to start with the Operating System and auto-connect to the VPN server, so mostly, I don't have to touch it, and it's always on.
b) It may be possible to use a VPN strictly for web browsing with a plug-in, but keep in mind any other programs using the internet will not be protected from your ISP prying eyes.
c) We really CAN NOT EXPECT central authorities to bless an open internet; we will have to create it ourselves in someways and the more they push, the more the public will push back.

Not entirely clear what that will look like, but I do expect a fight, which will become very hi-tech, with measures, then counter measures. This is exactly what I currently find with SuddenLink, so they are prepping me for the future fight around the world I assume.

And to me, it looks like IPvanish is at the forefront of this almost weaponized technology ;-)

FIGHTING FOR AN OPEN INTERNET, ONE ISP AT A TIME!

@surfyogi, Absolutely greatest title indeed importand conversation here. I've heard before about VPN. These days, VPN technology has made the transition from a nice thing to have to a must-have for many folks who are online.In short, there are a number of compelling reasons why you should start using a VPN, Putting WhatsApp,Skype and Snapchat services through a VPN provides a higher level of security with the inherent encryption. Online communications have evolved from simple text based emails to robust cross platform messaging services. Additionally, a VPN can be used to overcome geo blocking restrictions, so for example, continue to play a based game while traveling overseas. Also, in some cases, using a VPN will offer faster connection speeds as it could avoid throttling. Using public wi-fi can also be fraught with hazards. These include packet sniffers, falling into phishing scams via fake wi-fi connections, and being hacked or infected with malware. The good news is that a VPN technology will help protect you and your precious data from these types of attacks.Finally, a VPN can increase your level of protection against DDoS attacks.Thank you for giving valuable blog post.

THANKYOU
I was upset and not thinking about all the great uses of a VPN that can sometimes change our browsing experience, and also protect other messenger services.

a) Avoid Geo-blocking - often it is not possible in the US to view things that are freely viewed in Sweden, for example.
b) Often some sites refuse US users to view a video or item found on search. But sometimes they throttle and the video is viewable but does not view well. Simply use your VPN to log into another server in another country and this video may now be watchable!
c) Better security on public wifi, as you mentioned as well, is a huge benefit of using a VPN app.

I completely agree with you on VPN. If anyone has ever used an unsecured Wi-Fi network, they may have unwittingly passed their personal information to scammers ncluding me, that’s why I learned my lesson. Because the Network security is a tricky thing using a VPN, for example what I have is IPVanish which you mentioned is n your post, goes a long way toward making the web safer and more secure. IPVanish has many features including advanced like automatic IP address cycling, it wasn’t cheap, but it was worth it. IPVanish's special abilities was just what I needed. This was recommended by my friend who works with computer security. But for an even better experience, I recommend, actualy mr friend recommended as well “KeepSolid” VPN Unlimited, which bundles strong, flexible security into a user-friendly, affordable VPN service. But this would be litle more than I actualy needed.
Thank you for your information.

I agree with you... Internet is filled with ads , and the mode of security you can believe in .....
I personaly use IPVANISH . IP Vanish has quickly earned a reputation as one of the top VPN providers in the marketplace.They offer an extensive network that boasts over 850 servers (and counting) across more than 60 different countries.
Their VPN services are compatible with nearly every device and OS imaginable and they have dedicated apps for Windows, Mac OS, Android, and IOS , thats what makes it awesome. For the more tech-savvy users, they also allow customers to manually setup an IPVanish configuration on Window’s phones, Ubuntu, ChromeBook, and your routers.
IPVanish also supports all major VPN protocols and even allows users access to the download-free SOCKS5 web proxy.
While these prices are nowhere near as expensive as some of their more premium competitors , they are still a far cry from “Budget Friendly”.
This fact is painfully illustrated when you take a look at the pricing plans offered by PIA and many other cheaper VPNs, you’ll quickly realize that you can find other high-quality VPN providers for less than half the price of IPVanish.
I do appreciate the all-inclusive pricing and love the simplicity of their offer, but frankly, I think that IPVanish is doing their company and their clients a disservice by not offering a steeper discount on their yearly plan.
However, for you to truly determine whether or not IPVanish is worth give it a try and start believe like we do....

So which one is budget friendly then?

you are completely right. Damn it, governments prohibit the site to go to their fronts. Presently I can not get into an opposite site to government without VPN. I effectively utilized Chrome as the program. After these damn bans, I utilize the Opera program since it gives free vpn. I prescribe everybody.

There are no locales that are not restricted today. They are keeping us from going anyplace. In any case, because of Vpn, this issue remained.

About a year prior, he toppled his activity without expert and restricted every single social medium. It even restricted WhatsApp for a brief time-frame. That is the first occasion when I met VPN. Regardless i'm utilizing it. Much appreciated data and sharing @surfyogi

The free web is step by step ceasing to exist. Like you specified huge companies are assuming control over the once free web world. Facebook for example now police what I do post and advance on my Facebook page. As of late, my post have been blocked three times since it discussed Zappl, Steemit and the Steem blockchain which as indicated by them is currently precluded to advance on their site.

Another reason one needs a VPN is you protection and wellbeing. You wouldn't need somebody later on endeavoring to extort you by debilitating to convey to people in general your perusing history

VPNs provide enhanced security while online .Using a VPN doesn’t mean you’re invulnerable. You should still make sure you’re using HTTPS whenever possible, and you should still be careful about what you download. Some VPN service providers—especially mobile ones—bundle their clients with anti-malware scanners to make sure you’re not downloading viruses or trojans. When you’re shopping, see if the providers you’re interested in offer anti-malware protection while you’re connected.

"At this point it's safe to say that the future of the internet is not looking too promising when it comes to individual freedoms and rights. While the internet may have once been a place where the free flow of information was paramount, it is slowly being taken over by corporate interests and governmental regulations. The notion of a free and open internet will soon be forgotten, to be replaced with something that can be controlled at many different levels.

Wow this is a deep message that really needs looking into.

The First Day I heard of the vpn, I have always known it to be used by scammers (made a post about it on my blog). Never knew it could be used for anything good until today.

Besides , arnt there any free VPN available? How do people who don't have money to pay for von cope? If there are free ones? Then what's so special about these ones you mentioned?

I think 1 thing to do is look for free vpn but I don't know how they work, and would not trust them anyway.
Second idea, is to share a vpn account with trusted friends, and then if everyone pays $1 USD per month, for a shared account, it is affordable.

Owh really? Never knew vpn accounts could be shared. Guess ama speak with a few of my friends then coz as you rightly said...One can't really trust these free stuffs. It might not be as strong and as secure as the paid ones.

Excellent good friend you are right you have to use in the not too distant future a vpn for security I think like you that every time will be more restricted and that many people want you to do or publish what the owner of the page wants I do not agree with that I believe in those times of the free internet where you could put what you thought I do not support what facebook did recently I am against that they forget that the users were the main thing for them to be successful I think that as users we have rights thanks for such good information about the vpn greetings success friend

This happens to me all the time. However, my own experience is slightly different. If I read about say Headphones, granted, I don't see any adverts at the moment, but any other time I try to use the internet, I will find adverts of headphones from different retailers, scattered all over my screen. This shows that that somebody has been keeping tab of the things I search for and this is very scary.

I have an evidence
Screenshot_2018-03-01-06-43-37-1.png
I read about jollof rice that night and when I turned on my internet this morning, I was immediately greeted my adverts of delivery services of jollof rice. How is that?

This is very disheartening and discouraging. We pay for these services. Atleast we deserve some level of privacy from our providers.

I think VPN is the best voice in the game right now, this breach of security has to stop.

Thanks for this enlightenment @surfyogi

I believe what you describe, is typical marketing via whatsapp or facebook, or google, where our searches follow us around, and when we walk into a mall, we are advertised things we recently searched. This is pretty common, across services owned by a given company. One reason I use Google and Facebook as little as possible, because they follow me everywhere.
Unfortunately, using a VPN will no protect you from Google following your searches, because they have a cookie on your browser and they know who you are because you are logged in...
So there are many forms of privacy intrusion on the web/internet, and we have really only scratched the surface today.
The issues I am talking about, revolve around our ISP or Telecom provider, changing what we see from the website we are attempting to browse. This is something like "double intrusion" on my privacy. Now BOTH my ISP, and the site I am visiting, are invading my privacy and showing me ads.
It looks to me like ISPs in USA have both monopoly in their given areas, and no shame...

you are absolutely right. Damn it, governments forbid the site to come to their fronts. Now I can not get into a contrary site to government without VPN. I already used Chrome as the browser. After these damn bans, I use the Opera browser because it provides free vpn. I recommend everyone.

There are no sites that are not banned today. They are preventing us from going anywhere. But thanks to Vpn, this problem remained.

About a year ago, he overturned his job without authority and banned all social media. It even banned WhatsApp for a short time. That's the first time I met VPN. I'm still using it. Thanks information and sharing @surfyogi

Use VPN, surf safely

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55157.38
ETH 2317.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33