On The Tip Of My Tongue

in #inspiration5 years ago

I think we all know this feeling. If not, there's something wrong with me, so I hope you all know what I mean; that moment when your brain decides to fart, just when you're about to say something important .


keyboard_small.jpg
Image by geralt - source: Pixabay

Or when you're talking about a movie with that great actor everyone knows, and when you start saying his or her name, your brain stops. Then you start naming other movies the actors played in, start to describe his looks, even quote some of the lines he spoke in several movies, yet the name keeps escaping your mind. It's on the tip of your tongue and decides to stay there...

The best thing to do at those moments, for me at least, is to stop trying to remember what you're trying to remember, think of something else completely and most of the time the name will magically pop up in your mind. It's strange how that works, but it doesn't work with tip-of-the-tongue stuff alone, I've noticed. It works the same way, again, for me that is, with inspiration. You may have noticed that I write about something every day, and until now I've been able to pull from a seemingly endless well of topics to write about, even when the articles are centered around my own core interests.

At the rare occasions when I stare at my screen, and nothing seems to spring to mind, I just use the same technique as described above; do something completely different, think about anything but writing. Within the hour someone says something, something happens, or my mind wanders off to something in the past or a distant friend, and somehow a new topic magically presents itself. Like today's post; this topic came to me after leaving the screen and remembering that this is what I always do. Also I noticed the resemblance between the tip-of-the-tongue situation and temporary writer's block.

Inspiration comes from the outside as much as it comes from the inside, so when the inside refuses to cooperate, just turn your view outside and you'll see that you're surrounded by a universe filled to the brim with sources of the inspiration you seek. Take a walk, watch a movie, have that conversation with that friend or partner or child, read a book or just let your mind drift away on memories long gone; I guarantee that there's always something to be found outside to light that spark on the inside.


Thanks so much for visiting my blog and reading my posts dear reader, I appreciate that a lot :-) If you like my content, please consider leaving a comment, upvote or resteem. I'll be back here tomorrow and sincerely hope you'll join me. Until then, keep steeming!


wave-13 divider odrau steem

Recent articles you might be interested in:

Latest article >>>>>>>>>>>Ease Of Mind
Flash And Flesh GordonStupid Poor People
Ignorance Is BlissThe Sinister Left
Now You KnowLife After Game Of Thrones

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Thanks for stopping by and reading. If you really liked this content, if you disagree (or if you do agree), please leave a comment. Of course, upvotes, follows, resteems are all greatly appreciated, but nothing brings me and you more growth than sharing our ideas. It's what Steemit is made for!
Helpienaut_post_banner_02-01.png

I am a proud helpinaut! @Helpie is looking for new members! Helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST or contact @paintingangels on discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668.

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Just for Full Disclosure, I'm invested in these crypto-currencies:

Bitcoin | Litecoin | EOS | OmiseGo | FunFair | KIN | Pillar | DENT | Polymath | XDCE | 0x | Decred | Ethereum | Carmel | XYO

wave-13 divider odrau steem

@helpie is a WITNESS now! So please help @helpie help you by voting for us here!Helpie_01.png

Sort:  

Very true - if stuck don't force it, go do the exact opposite of what you were doing (trying to force letters on a blank screen ;-)) and inspiration will come. Sometimes I'm really frustrated and just start to write about having nothing to write. After posting within 5 minutes I know what to write next :')

Thanks for recognizing the feeling and the response @soyrosa; I was starting to think that there really is something wrong with me 😊 😋

Hi @zyx066!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.666 which ranks you at #5521 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 204 contributions, your post is ranked at #84.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hello @zyx066, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63280.44
ETH 3253.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89