Life After Game Of Thrones

in #entertainment6 years ago

I'm so excited right now I can barely sit still on my chair to write today's post. There's two reasons for my extreme happiness right now, and they both are linked to the announcement that the popular TV series Game Of Thrones is finally coming to an end.


Game_of_Thrones_small.jpg
Image by BagoGames - source: Flickr

Yep, I'm glad that series is finally done. Not because I don't like it, but because I'll probably like it a lot! Since the show started everybody I know has been watching it and most seasons all I hear is good things, but I myself have never watched a single episode, not even one full scene. After seeing the trailers and picking up on all the positive noises around the show, I immediately suspected that this is right up my alley; if you've ever read anything from me, you know I'm a big fan of almost everything related to science-fiction and fantasy. So the obvious thing to do for me was not ever watch a single episode.

Why? Because TV shows are like everything else in our hyper-capitalistic world; they last as long as they make money. Too often have I started watching a series, only to be left with a cliffhanger because the network decided it didn't make enough money. I'm really astonished every day about all the people who blindly still believe in the capitalist fairy tale that "the market" is the best place to decide what we value; the opposite is true as evidenced by the accumulating pile of rubbish and shit-products we surround ourself with while further destroying both the environment and human intelligence in the proces. It doesn't matter if it's quality, as long as it sells and sells a lot, has quickly become the only measure of everything in western society.

Gotta watch myself: keep on topic, don't go on another capitalism rant... and spoil my own happy mood... get... back... on... track...

I didn't want to start watching, fall in love with the story and characters, only to be left hanging after a season that didn't financially perform well enough to keep the show going. But now, now my years of patience have been rewarded: it has been announced that the eight and FINAL season will start on April 14 2019! I assume, since this is announced in advance, that the series' creators, David Benioff and D.B. Weiss, have written a proper ending to the story and won't leave the audience dangling over some stupid narrative cliff.


Star_Wars_Logo.jpg
source: Wikipedia

A while ago it was already announced that the same creative duo would write something new for Star Wars, and this is the second reason for my current exaltation. It appears that what they'll eb making is an entire new trilogy! HBO president Casey Bloys said in an interview with TVLine that Benioff and Weiss were offered to make three films:

"Dan and David are finishing up the final season [of Game of Thrones] and then they are going to go into the Star Wars universe," Bloys told TVLine. "When they come out of that, I assume they will come back to us." The HBO president is referring to Confederate, the planned HBO series set in an alternate universe where the American Civil War ended in a stalemate, when he mentions Benioff and Weiss coming back to HBO after Star Wars.

Announced back in July 2017, Confederate instantly became controversial with users on the Internet, with some dubbing it "slavery fan fiction". But Bloys said the show's development hasn't been affected by that and added: "The delay has to do with [the fact] that they were offered three movies."
source: Gadgets360 - 14 February 2019

This doesn't automatically mean those three films will be a trilogy, but that's the most realistic assumption looking back at Star Wars film history, and looking at the creative duo's experience with serialized or episodic storytelling. After the complete disappointment that was The Last Jedi, and after all the other classic franchises like Star Trek and Doctor Who have been sacrificed on the altar of political correct messaging, this is some much needed good news for the fans. I'm excited, I hope you are too :-)


Trilogy Confirmed! I'm Pumped For This - Star Wars Theory


Thanks so much for visiting my blog and reading my posts dear reader, I appreciate that a lot :-) If you like my content, please consider leaving a comment, upvote or resteem. I'll be back here tomorrow and sincerely hope you'll join me. Until then, keep steeming!


wave-13 divider odrau steem

Recent articles you might be interested in:

Latest article >>>>>>>>>>>Eternal Shock
Huge PerspectiveFake Philanthropy
Incredible Shrinking MammothBrainwash Super Bowl
Assassination Of An IdeaModern Times With Spock

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Thanks for stopping by and reading. If you really liked this content, if you disagree (or if you do agree), please leave a comment. Of course, upvotes, follows, resteems are all greatly appreciated, but nothing brings me and you more growth than sharing our ideas. It's what Steemit is made for!
Helpienaut_post_banner_02-01.png

I am a proud helpinaut! @Helpie is looking for new members! Helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST or contact @paintingangels on discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668.

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Just for Full Disclosure, I'm invested in these crypto-currencies:

Bitcoin | Litecoin | EOS | OmiseGo | FunFair | KIN | Pillar | DENT | Polymath | XDCE | 0x | Decred | Ethereum | Carmel | XYO

wave-13 divider odrau steem

@helpie is a WITNESS now! So please help @helpie help you by voting for us here!Helpie_01.png

Sort:  

Hello @zyx066, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

I just watched all the seasons in one go for the same reason although the rate of violence was also not attracting me. Only with the last season, i got REALLY into it, expectations are high for the final season.

And the mother of dragons man, what a character, ouch :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey @bubke! So nice of you to drop a line my friend, and I'm glad to see you like the series too; I'm gonna start watching when the final season is half way done, maybe I can time it so that I can watch the very last episode "life" together with the rest of the world 😊

I almost never get a chance to do this, so thank you for your continued support, I really appreciate that a lot! 😍🙏🏼

I just watched all the seasons in one go for the same reason although the rate of violence was also not attracting me. Only with the last season, i got REALLY into it, expectations are high for the final season.

And the mother of dragons man, what a character, ouch :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @zyx066!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.668 which ranks you at #5492 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 187 contributions, your post is ranked at #93.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62768.63
ETH 2678.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56