For the Women Who Inspired Me

in #inspiration6 years ago (edited)

Women who have empowered or inspired me.png

I was browsing through my inbox earlier, and opened a timely email from Udemy.

Today being International Women's Day, the theme of the email reflected that. At the bottom, it asked, "Do you have a story about a woman who empowered or inspired you? Let us know! Share your story on Facebook or Twitter using #WomenOfUdemy"

I sat back in thought. I don't have a story about a woman who inspired me—I have several...perhaps more than I can reasonably type or even remember.

As I begin to type this post, my greatest concern isn't remembering all the women I'd love to pay attribution to, but rather, that I may forget someone who had a subtle, yet pivotal influence on me.

But, it's a risk worth taking.

Udemy Women Who've Empowered or Inspired Me

If you're not sure what Udemy is, it's basically an online learning platform through which you can take courses. Since it was a Udemy email that inspired me to create this list, it seems fitting that I should begin with "Udemy women," who are women that have courses on Udemy.

The first "Udemy woman" to come to mind is Jessica Brody, a writer with something like 25 books to her name.

She has empowered me through her writing courses that you can find on Udemy. Currently, there are 5 of these, and I have them all.

Other Women Who Have Empowered or Inspired Me

My Mother

Of course, this list wouldn't be complete without her.

Quite simply, she's a good lady, and she's urged us to be good people, both through her actions and her words.

Jessica Jones

The only fictional character on this list is Jessica Jones. Because she's fictional, some may think her inclusion here is trivial, but as I've written elsewhere, I think she's a solid, much-needed role model.

Jennifer Blanchard

Jennifer Blanchard is a multi-passionate woman who's making a lot of things happen. She's an emerging beacon of empowerment for people who want to be and achieve more in live.

My Friend Maureen

Maureen is a lady who goes to my church. Sometimes, after the service, we sit and talk about things that a grandma and grandson would talk about. I admire the fact that she was able to leave a bad relationship and, on her own, without relying on welfare or any kind of outside support, raise two children.

Kaye and Edwarda O'Bara

Wayne Dyer wrote that the"story of Kaye and Edwarda O'Bara is indeed a love story that transcends our own experiences of love."

On January 3rd, 1970, Kaye watched her daughter Edwarda slip into and out of consciousness. In desperation, Edwarda asked her mom, "Promise you won't leave me, will you, Mommy?"

For decades, Kaye stayed by her comatose daughter's side, displaying an endurance that can only be born of unconditional love.

Though I've never met Kaye or Edwarda (God rest their souls), theirs is a story that touches you, and perhaps changes you in ways you don't yet know. I feel that's the case for me.

Debbie Ford

Though I haven't given Debbie Ford's work the attention it deserves, the little of it that I have read has inpired me to take a look at something that many people don't want to take a look at: the shadow.

Just as there's up and down, front and back, and light and dark, there is that aspect of ourselves that we'd rather not know. Thanks to Debbie Ford, many readers now feel empowered to look at their shadows and learn what it has to teach them.

Oprah Winfrey

From overcoming systematic racism and sexism, sharing her story of being abused, to being a staple of positivity in a world that needs light, Oprah Winfrey is deserving of mention.

Ellen DeGeneres

If I could summarize Ellen DeGeneres in one word, it'd be kindness. I don't watch Ellen that often, but I have seen segments where she has done wonderful things for members of her audience. Those deeds are duly noted.

Hallie Ephron

Haillie Ephron is a mystery writer and author of a book I'm currently working through: Writing and Selling Your Mystery Novel: The Complete Guide to Mystery, Suspense, and Crime. Though the book currently doesn't have a lot of reviews, it's been held in very high regard by reviewers on Amazon and Goodreads. In fact, Lee Child said, that it's "The best how-to guide I have ever seen--I just wish I could have read it twenty years ago."

That, coming from Lee Child, is very high praise.

I myself am exploring the craft of mystery writing, and I find this book quite instructive. It will save me years.

Agatha Christie

While we're on the subject of mystery writing, Agatha Christie deserves mention for her contribution to the mystery genre. According to Harper Collins, Christie is "the most widely published author of all time, outsold only by the Bible and Shakespeare."

Only recently have I started on her works, reading And Then There Were None, which is said to be one of the best mystery novels of all time.

As a side note, I am aware that And Then There Were None had been previously titled. In fact, it had two previous titles (that I'm aware of). I know that both those titles may be offensive to some, but for me, I'm not here to judge any of her personal biases (if she had any). I have not looked deeply into the biographical life of Agatha Christie, and even if I did, any biases she may have had have not hindered my enjoyment of this book. I mention her here because, her writing has been received universally, and her books set a good standard for others to aim for.

Bonnie Johnston

If you're an aspiring author and take your craft seriously, I would urge you to invest in some courses by Bonnie Johnston. But I will warn you: some of them are detailed and deep, and ask you to really implement yourself. If you do, you'll emerge a much better writer.

Melanie Anne Phillips

I feel that what Melanie Ann Philips helped create—namely, the Dramatica storytelling paradigm—is universally applicable to a number of fields. Her work is little-known to the general masses, but I feel it will have an effect on things that even now, I can't exactly determine.

Jane Austen

Pride and Prejudice is said to be "a love story centuries old, but eternally fresh." Admittedly, I haven't finished it yet, but as an aspiring author, I have it on my to-read list. When Jane Austen penned this masterpiece, I don't think she knew of the centries-long appeal it would garner. Her work has been the inspiration (and future inspiration) of many readers.

J.K. Rowling

We all know that literacy is critically important. Perhaps the one person who has inspired people to read, and not just read, but immerse themeselves in a living, well-written world, is J.K. Rowling.

Hope Huggs (Heather)

Though I had heard of Steemit before, it was Heather's product that renewed my interest in this platform, and urged me to get back here and create content.

So, today being International Women's Day, the above-mentioned women are a few of the women who have empowered or inspired me.

Sort:  

It's important to get inspiration from other people. Without their inspiration, we are lost and wandering. Glad you have so many inspirations in your life!

Wow, that was a great attribution to a lot of wonderful women. I knew only a few of them, and of course I'm proud of calling one of them, Bonnie Johnston, my friend. She's being recognized more widely now, and perhaps you saw Johnny B. Truant's mail about that a few hours ago.

Hello @sindore,

Thanks for your response. I didn't see Johnny B. Truant's email about it, but I'll definitely do some searching.

Let me know if you don't find it. Or perhaps I should write on Steemit about it :D

Congratulations @dkfynn! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dkfynn! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66267.02
ETH 3282.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70