Vegan Pumpkin Pie Recipe!

in #innerblocks5 years ago (edited)

Vegan Pumpkin Pie.png


As the leaves change into their beautiful colors and they begin to fall gently covering our lawns, fields and streets, the sweet aromas of the season fill our homes.

It is my favorite time of year!


Then the countdown begins. How long will it be until the first pumpkin pie of the season makes it's way to us?!

tenor.gif

I wish it was as easy as picking one up from the store, but like most desserts, they are hardly ever vegan. Heck, when I first starting baking everything was filled with eggs, butter and cream. So...I get it. Fortunately, there are some real dedicated vegan food bloggers who have already done all the hard work for us, and man am I thankful!

I have a few favorites, one of them is Minimalist Baker. If I google something and they pop up, I know it's going to be amazing!

Then a few years ago, we were having Christmas Eve dinner with friends and they baked a few delicious vegan pies from Oh She Glows, and I was sold!

Her vegan pumpkin pie, with it's scrumptious gluten-free crust, has now become a household staple, and today I want to share it with you!

Orange dot page break.png

Oh She Glows Vegan and Gluten-Free Pumpkin Pie

Orange dot page break.png

Ingredients:

For the pecan oat crust:

3/4 cup pecan halves
1/4 cup virgin coconut oil
3 tablespoons pure maple syrup
1/4 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
1/2 cup + 1/3 cup gluten-free oat flour
1 cup gluten free rolled oats

For the pumpkin filling:

1/4 cup full-fat canned coconut milk (the white cream portion) OR almond milk
2 tablespoons + 1 teaspoon arrowroot powder OR cornstarch
1 (15 oz) can pumpkin puree or 2 cup fresh puree (Making puree for the first, watch this how-to)
6 tablespoons of pure cane sugar
1/4 cup pure maple syrup
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
pinch of fine grain sea salt

Directions:

  1. For the crust: Preheat oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease a 9 inch pie dish with coconut oil. In a food processor or blender, add pecans and crush until a sand like texture, but not long enough to make the oils come out. Empty the pecans and add the rolled oats and pulse until they are crumbled. In a separate bowl add coconut oil, maple syrup, salt and oat flour. Add the pecans and rolled oats and mix. (I like to mix with my hands.)

  2. Pour the crumble into the pie dish and press the mixture evenly into the pan, then bake the crust, uncovered for 10-13 minutes.

  3. For the filling: In a medium bowl, whisk the pumpkin puree with all the ingredients.

  4. Bake the pie, uncovered at 350* for 35-45 minutes, until the pie is mostly firm.

  5. Cool the pie for 2 hours on a cooling rack and transfer to the fridge overnight.

This one of the few recipes that I have not altered. It is really that good. Unfortunately, I can't find the originally recipe to link to this post, so I'm glad I still have it written down!

I hope you all enjoy this and try it! This is also great for the holidays especially if any of your family or friends are vegan or gluten-free. If they are like us, they would never expect anyone to cater to them, but I'm sure they would appreciate it!

Orange dot page break.png

Thank you so much for sharing this with me!

Much love,
Stacie D

flower page break.png

real footer.jpg


Sort:  

I approve of this plant-based posts.
Upvote 👍

That pie looks really tasty!

Thank you! It was delicious!

I would love a slice of pie yumyumyum

Haha it was so good!

Well that looks yummy! Thanks for sharing the recipe, have only had pumpkin a couple of times but did enjoy it, particularly in soup so this would be a different experience in a pie :)

Haha, and here I am, never having it in soup! That would be something really great to try.

Thanks for share your recipe

Posted using Partiko Android

You're welcome! Thanks for stopping by!

😍😋👍🙏👍😋😍

Posted using Partiko Android

That looks delicious! I'm definitely bookmarking this to try soon. I just finished up the last bit of puree today from the pumpkin I prepped yesterday. I've got plenty left for a vegan Thanksgiving treat! I have made one vegan version before, but I can't remember which website it was from? I'm sure I have it pinned on Pinterest. This one looks like a great new one to try, though.

Ohhh pinterest! I have a pumpkin cake I'm planning on trying tomorrow. What kind of Thanksgiving treat are you going to make?

Yum! Cake sounds good, too. I think I may just stick with the pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving! Though I do also make a vegan main dish, too, so I very well may experiment with using some pumpkin in a veggie loaf. Always fun to test out different things!

Ohhhh veggie loaf. I haven't quite mastered a Thanksgiving main dish, the thing that would replace the turkey. What do you put in it? Or will you by chance come out with a recipe??

So, I made the cake this morning and it was so good! I put caramel frosting on top with caramel drizzle and pecans. We definitely went into a sugar coma...but those are okay every once in awhile, right? haha

So one of my favorite loaves is from the Happy Herbivore made out of tempeh (here's someone who shared the recipe https://veganflavorista.org/2016/09/01/tempeh-meatloaf-ii/). I make it all the time because it is so easy and holds together really well! I am still working on perfecting a recipe myself, but I will definitely share if I come up with a good one worthy of a post. :)

That sounds sooooo delicious! I got Barhi dates earlier this year that taste just like caramel. I still have some in the freezer, but now I want to thaw some to make caramel sauce, haha.

Mm-hmm. That looks really good. I'd love to do that.

And it's so surprisingly easy! If you do try, let me know how it works out for you!

Looking very Yummy!

It is my favorite time of year!

Mine too! I love everything about it.

I've baked two pumpkin pies already this year, but I cheat and use store bought crusts (though I definitely puree my own pumpkin). I'm always up for healthier alternatives though. I might need to try this one - it doesn't look horribly difficult and in fact looks quite tasty. Thanks for the recipe!

Haha everyone has their limits. Yeah, the crust really doesn't take much time at all, and it is really good. It compliments the pumpkin flavor really well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63