How to Make Pumpkin Puree

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


It is that time of year, when we fill our homes with the spices of the season and everyone drools of pumpkin...everything!

Pumpkin spice the world!

Orange dot page break.png

But with all the baking and all the making and all the latte sipping, it's important to take this time for self-reflection.

Do you rely on yucky store bought canned pumpkin puree or do you love yourself enough to make your own?!

I'm here to tell you that you deserve that fresh pumpkin taste! LOL

It really only takes about 20 minutes, and I promise that you will never..ever...go back.

How to Make Pumpkin Puree

First, buy a small pie pumpkin, the large pumpkis will end being too stringy and I believe less sweet. Then cut it in half. Place it into a a large pot with a steamer basket filled with about a half inch of water. Steam the pumpkins for about 10-15 minutes. (I said 20 -30 in video by accident), then carefully peel the meat out of the shell. Puree in a blender or with a hand mixer. The end!

You can use it right away. One 15 oz. can equals 2 cups fresh puree. If you have more than you need or simply want to store it for later, it can be kept in a freezer safe container for 4-5 months!

I hope you all enjoy this glorious time of year, and let me know what you'll make with your pumpkin puree this season!

Orange dot page break.png

Thank you for sharing this me!

Much love,

Stacie D

flower page break.png

real footer.jpg


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube

Sort:  

I approve of this plant-based posts.
Upvote 👍

Mmmmm pumpkin 🧡🧡🧡 I read an article recently that said most of the 'pumpkin'puree in stores is n9t actually pumpkin but another type of squash which is better for commercial production in terms of taste and color. Not that it matters imo squash is squash much of the time. It's all good. I feel it's par for the course that labeling laws are so lenient and often get away with being misleading. Hope you enjoy what you are cooking!! 🎃

Well that explains why it tastes so much different! The labeling is crazy...I mean, do they make strawberry jam but really it's raspberry but who cares because it's still a berry? I wish they had to be most honest.

Really appreciated the accompanying paragraphs under the video, normally I skip videos because I don't have time for them... LOL.

It does look easy enough to make, plus the advantage of getting them fresh is a valid reason for people who love them to start making some. I wonder what if you get a huge pumpkin instead of a small one...will the thing taste different (apart form the size)? I rarely have pumpkin here (and I don't get the choice to buy my own because life as a student stuck in dorms relying on canteens!) so was wondering...haha...

I'm so glad the extra paragraphs were helpful!

I did mention this in the video, but forgot in blog (thank you for mentioning this!) A bigger pumpkin will be tougher and more stringy and maybe even less sweet. So it won't turn out the same. Bummer, right!?

Well, soon enough you'll be out of college making all sorts of things!

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational video!


This post got curated by our fellow curator @priyanarc and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Feel free to check out our channel @diytube to:

Easy and yummy ^.^

Yes! With so many options!

An instant pot makes quick work of it too! However... roasting a pumpkin for 45 minutes in an oven takes much longer, and it's much more work, but it smells so good. It's almost like the fresh, warm, wholesome aroma of fresh baked bread. the only way to make it better is to make pumpkin bread with the fresh pumpkin! Mmmmmmmm.

That's like a double whammy with baking the pumpkin and turning around and baking the bread! I've heard really great things about Insta-Pots!

I got mine when my slow cooker gave up the ghost last year, and I haven't looked back. I'm sure if I looked hard enough it could even do some laundry for me!

Hahaha if it does that I'll definitely get one!

I have had pumpkin soup but never puree before :)

Well, I'm not sure about eatting it all by itself, but it's perfect for making pumpkin breads and cakes!

Yuumy!
It looks easy to make. I sould try this way sometimes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45