Homemade Laundry Detergent!

in #innerblocks5 years ago (edited)

Homemade Laundry Detergent.png


Laundry is one of those needs that never goes away and hardly lets up. In fact, I have a load in the dryer and the washer right now. But hey, I'm not complaining...for five long, long years I hand washed outside with a James washer and hung everything on a clothes line.

Although laundry never seems to change, the soap we use certainly seems to. When we first started out we used Tide with Frebreeze. Then after wising up to the harsh chemicals, we switched to the all natural, plant based Ecos brand. Once I started feeling my homesteading bone kick in, still a few years away from actual homesteading, I started making my own. It was liquid based and used Borax, Washing soda and Dr. Bronner's bar soap. This worked alright, although our clothes didn't always come out smelling fresh. Then we hit the homestead.

I was back to using Ecos because...well...I'm not sure, lol. I know we ran out of the homemade. Maybe it seemed like too much to try and mix a big batch of soap and store it while we were building a house. But whatever the reason, I noticed I was having to add a lot of baking soda and vinegar to the mix to get the dirt and stank out. So I experimented and stopped adding the soap. I also learned from somewhere in the internet land to put the vinegar in the rinse cycle. The clothes ended up just as clean.

Now, we're here in Northern Michigan. I use a washer and dryer again (woohoo!), but I found that it wasn't as complimentary of system. Our clothes were clean, but they felt like they could do so much better! Plus the socks weren't getting that extra bit of TLC that they were used to from being hand washed, or was it being beaten on a rock until the water ran clean? lol


I recently had talked to my Dad about this in an off-hand conversation, and he said he was surprised it worked at all because the vinegar and baking soda cancelled each other out. I thought on that for a moment and realized how silly I had been. I should have waited to put the vinegar into the rinse cycle like I was doing with the James washer. He also said a little soap would help make the fabric "wetter" letting the grime out easier.

So, I thought on this for a bit, and decided to try something different.

Since I had experience with using Dr. Bronner's bar soap, I decided to give it a go again by grating it fine and mixing it into the baking soda. Then for kicks and giggles, I would try adding free and clear Oxyclean for stain removal.

This is the mix I came up with:

8 cups baking soda
1 bar lavender Dr. Bronner's
8 level 2 scoops of Oxyclean

I then used a 1/2 cup of the mix for each normal load.

Add a subheading.png

The socks are now coming out magically clean, and the stain removal is really working! Just ask the Yeti about the white dish towel he used to clean coffee with! 😝

I have realized something as well. Just like most things in life, there are a million ways to do it! I almost titled this post "Homemade Laundry Detergent...yup another one" haha. It really only depends on how much money and time you want to invest. Also what your family needs as far as smell and stain tackling is concerned.

I encourage all of your to go out there and find your laundry groove! And also to watch out in a couple years from my next laundry detergent recipe...haha.

Thanks so much for visiting with me today. I hope all your laundry dreams come true!

Much love,
Stacie D

flower page break.png

W5LtFUPm6g73Bc6hhnNt8V8a1EhfkcqB2xeBjtMfgKkHiXpaS752ZSifUercn9xfzhrWUdtkwfJRPTjA9dGnM9gYmqshXRMAhSwzzqrPQVnd6aPKkxtaoFHSH6oF1eipeePsxLzn8K4mejZncFrhzGJfzwcTP.gif

real footer.jpg

Sort:  

Oh yes! I remember when my kids were all at home and I was doing laundry every day of the week! Making my own was a God-Send!

Yes! We've gotten so much better about piling it up unnecessarily, but dirties are dirties lol and they still happen everyday!

Once again, you have inadvertently reminded me how old I am. Ha ha! I will be 63 tomorrow, and I realize more and more every day how important it is to use my remaining time wisely. With less energy than I had 20 years ago, that means there are things I don't care to try at this point in life. Like making my own laundry detergent. Kudos to you for doing it, but I'll pass.

Hahaha you make me laugh! I understand though. I used to make our own bread. Hour and hours of work. I feel like I just don't have that in me anymore. Although I'm glad I have the skill to do it, life is precious, and I'm okay buying it at the store.

Okay, this is getting even funnier: I still bake homemade bread! But I don't want to tackle making laundry detergent. What a hoot!

Hahaha I guess we all have our limits!

whoa ! this is better alternatives than constantly buying plastic packaged detergent!

Thank you! Yeah, and you can't trust what it's good for you either, ya know?

You are too cute for words! Hehhe

Love Dr.Bronner's soap :)

And i had no idea they cancelled each other out in the wash cycle hahaha

Cuz when you use it as a drain cleaner you HAVE to use them together for the oxidation... right?? Lolol no idea hahhaa

Anyway.. just saying hi! Every time we drive past that park we think of you. 🤗

Oh geez. I used the wrong account lol

This is Dreemie :)

Ah! I'm so glad you clarified haha, I was like "Uhhhh...." 😂Yeah, when you use them as a drain cleaning you need that chemical reaction! So I thought it was the same for washing clothes...but I guess not!

We made a few batches of homemade laundry soap and it works great. Yeah, wait until the rinse cycle and the vinegar works great as a fabric softener. During the spring and summer we use a solar dryer and the clothes smells so fresh.

The trick is remembering to set a timer to put in the vinegar haha. Is the solar dryer the sun? 😉

Yeah if you forget it does not work out so well! Yeah, the sun and the wind! LOL.

Hahaha Maybe this next spring we'll hang a clothes line up outside. The only problem is that we are on a cow farm...sometimes the air doesn't smell the freshest LOL

Thanks for present something different.

Haha you're welcome! Thanks for stopping by!

This is something I will try! Thanks!

Great! Let me know how it goes! Also, you can use any scent of Dr. Bronner's you would like, and I forgot to add (which I will go back and do) that I use a 1/2 cup for normal load.

Everyone could benefit from this homemade guide for detergent

This post has been appreciated and featured in daily quality content rewards. Keep up the good work.

Thank you so much!

Laundry never, ever, ever, ever ends. Ever. "Mount Washmore" is an ongoing joke in this house.

It just .. never... ends.

Hahaha I hear you! When we were in the stage of young kids dressing themselves we would have mounds and mounds of clothes. Turns out they would pull everything out of their drawers and change clothes through out the day. Then I would go through and not know what was dirty or clean and wash it all. What in the world?! Haha we have a better system now lol

Yes! lol! Yes! My youngest (10 years old) absolutely does not like to wear clothes. It's a struggle. I joke that the first thing he does after getting in the door is begin to take his clothes off and drop them; it's like following a trail of clothes through the house.

Hahaha kids are so funny!

@freedomtowrite - I make my own homemade laundry soap as well, a big batch lasts me about a year. I have a trick for grating the hard bar of soap though - put it in a blender (cut into chunks) and add about a cup of granuled Oxy Clean or the baking soda and it will grind the soap up into powder. Much easier and faster and it dissolves better in the laundry.

Ohhhhh I like that! Thank you! How many bar soaps do you get for a year's supply? I like that idea too

I used the Fels-Naptha soap - 3 bars and I also put in Arm & Hammer washing powder (.lb 7 oz box) and Downy Essentials beads and a box of borax (4lbs 12 oz). It makes a BIG container and I only use about a quarter cup per load.

Gotcha! Okay yeah...I'd probably need more than that 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68011.48
ETH 3275.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64