An Enlightening Session with @verbal-d...Multi Talented Steemian... Father of Two.... User Chain Nominee

in #inkpot7 years ago

Hello fellow Steemians this is the second Steemisode of The Ink Pot, a show where you come to know what is going on in the minds of your favourite authors and poets.

Our guest for this is @verbal-d, a multitalented Steemian and a Father of Two

...
Ogochukwu: can you tell us your name, where you are from, and how you came to know about Steemit?

Verbal-d: People can call me Dom, short for Dominique, pronounced like Dominick. I'm a Californian Native currently in Germany and I learned of Steemit through my genius brother @sirwinchester

Ogochukwu: What are your thoughts about the recent post hard fork developments in Steemit and the new Steem Team Led By @andrarchy and @Zurvanic

Verbal-d: I haven't kept updated on the developments and don't know much about either of these Steemit team members. The technical aspects of the development side is pretty dense for me to comprehend, I am just good at creating content and being part of this amazing community. All I can say is I hope we can "edit" our material a month or so back from now because that was a big help option for me which is now currently gone. Other than that, the payouts have returned roughly to normal so that's great to see and as far as the voting power goes, it fluctuates so much, I can never grasp or gauge my real voting power influence unless someone has a lot of money uprooted on their post already. I don't use a bot so I up vote manually what I really like and it varies from no cents to 18 cents and I never adjust my voting percentage, it is always 100%. Hopefully Steemit keeps improving to make the website more user friendly, but I like what I see so far besides a few aspects that need to reappear.

Ogochukwu: You are currently publishing your poetry series, Pearlescent Poems here on Steemit, what is it all about?

Verbal-d: It is simply a catchy title phrase to pile all of my poetic thoughts into one genre. The majority of my poetry is uplifting, positive, deeply contemplative, inspiring, guiding, encouraging, and at times dark and bold to shed light through things of my Christian faith.

I could have used Opalescent Poems or Poetic Plethora or some other type of Alliteration, just like my Melodious Music Memoirs, it helps me to stand out from the rest of the talented content creators in Steemitopia. When you read my poetry you will be able to tell how much I love wordplay and lyricism but the message of all my literary artwork aims to resonate resounding, impactful moments of clarity and share what I know, so the intentions and the context of my messages are of the upmost importance.

Ogochukwu: Does writing energise or exhaust you?

Verbal-d: Both! .A favourite song lyric of mine is "Music is my energy, music is my sedative, Possibilities are like creating with a pair of 'ifs'..." .And that is from my song "The Echoes Of One Who Pondered", which I recently entered into the Open Mic Night Contest, Week #29 where I gratefully won 3rd place (shout out and props to all supporters, engagers and participants of The Open Mic Contest here, an integral part and creative music community of Steemit)

Writing is both invigorating and exhausting at times, it all depends on the moment of inspiration and intention of what I am writing, some of my best material in my mind have varied from being a breeze of ease for a song or poem, to a tedious and strenuous effort, always trying to best my previous creations.

Exhaust is like the back of a car exhaust; you must expel your energy in order to make moves and go somewhere progressive.
And energy is a life currency like time, where you spend it wisely on your passions, dreams, priorities and obligations with a fleeting drive of determination towards success.

Ogochukwu: Do you believe in writers block?

Verbal-d: Yes, because when believe in anything, you make it possible for it to affect you. Belief is a powerful thing, and things can bee broken down easily with the changing of interpretive perspective.

Cliche but wise sayings like, "I can do it!" then yes, you can, or "I can't do that", then no, you can't do it, because you believe it to be so.

Writer's block barely happens nowadays, and I have found alternative avenues to express something of value or to gift to the community. Writing keeps me sharp, and the sharper a writer is, the more swiftly the mind can obliterate any writer's obstacle with their blade of intelligence....see what I just did their? I'm always at the edge or the bluntness of the my psychological and spiritual weapon. Arm yourself and charge into battle prepared for your adversary, the Writer's Block.

Ogochukwu: Do you think that someone could be a writer if they don't feel emotions strongly?

Verbal-d: But of course, those would be the technical writers lol!, where I read the diverse aspects of cryptocurrency developments, like hard forks and implemented blueprints for improvements to fix algorithmic formulas, or the in-depth manuals of electronic devices and troubleshooting guidelines, and the "How To" types of books for all areas you can think of, or even legal jargon/terminology with clauses and contract fine prints, and even the government-related documentation.

Some of those documents are of the most boring, lifeless and emotionally void pieces I have ever written, yet they are written and thought up by someone right? But of course, they all have a specified purpose, and it is not always to engage the emotions of a human being.

Ogochukwu: What other authors are you friends with on Steemit or outside steemit and how do they help you become a better writer?

Verbal-d: I am friends with the talented novelists @dreemit, @papa-pepper, @jedau, and @ezzy. To praise them with compliments of their skills and talents would still be an understatement but I enjoy all of their creative contributions as a whole and individually.

All have contributed to my understandings of how to structure a storyline, staying true to one's voice and bringing out the best in one's writing ability based upon the intention and direction of their genre. I always keep in mind of who my audience is and that plays a big factor in how and what I write and why I write it, everything I do and share is for a reason.

Ogochukwu: What is the best money you have ever spent as a writer?

Verbal-d: As a writer? Definitely my macbook, because the majority of my writing occurred while using my personal portable computer being carried with me and pulling it out at any moment of inspiration, especially all of my music related literature, and by music related, I mean songs that I write for myself and compose for others as well, and not so much about me writing on the topic of music as an analyst. I am a bonafide musician wholeheartedly and I am ready to perform anytime anywhere at any given moment.

Ogochukwu: What do you think are the most Important magazines for writers to subscribe to?

Verbal-d: I have no idea, I don't read magazines much unless I am waiting around somewhere for a service and their happens to be a magazine there in front of me, and usually by default I like to browse car magazines, there is definitely some good technical literature in there lol

Ogochukwu: What was an early experience where you learned that language has power?

Verbal-d: Long story short, I wrote a song about women's beauty titled "Beautiful" and how an individual, in general, shouldn't base their beauty standards off of the mainstream media and I shared and performed this song in a classroom setting and a one lady in particular came up to me in tears and thanked me for helping to change her perspective on how she viewed herself.

Another experience was saving a life of a friend from committing suicide where all I could do was text the person in order to get a hold of them and reach deep into their heart to help them realise the depth and severity of their possible decision and the consequences of passing on even more pain if they were to go through with it, I am glad that person listened and took heed to my words.

Lastly, I have gone through a lot since childhood up until now, and writing has empowered myself to stay strong as well as empower others through times of adversity and oppression.

The Conclusion of this awesome Interview would be posted on Wednesday

From the Inkpot host @ogochukwu, thanks for reading, share your thoughts about this show in the comments, if there is anything you feel that needs to be added feel free to suggest, if there is any Steemian you also want to be on the show feel free to suggest.

The top quill strokes is here to acknowledge creative quotes or lines which are used by steemians on their blog. The quote of the week is
...
"If you are on Steemit, then you are a CEO"
@surpassinggoogle
...


The following are contests which are run by very wonderful Steemians
....
50 word story contest which is run by @ogochukwu on @literature-trail
.....
The Art Challenge contest which is run by the amazing @aksinya on @artquest-trail
....
The Art Trail contest which is run by the multitalented @paolobeneforti
....
Thanks for reading have a nice day, don't forget to comment below.

Sort:  

Great post!!! Resteemed! And thank you very much for mentioning!!!!!!!!!!

Thank you very much for giving this a read my friend.

Very good interview! Congratulations!

Thank you very much friend, I truly appreciate your kindness

Great interview, I'll be looking out for the conclusion :)

It was a great read. I've followed you so I'll see the rest of the series

Thank you for your kind words, appreciate your interest and support friend :)

No problem, stay poetic :D!

Most definitely will, thank you. Stay kind

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.44 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 08 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I didn't realize this was already out! I need to read through it more thoroughly, but @verbal-d is an awesome choice for this :) Love that brother ;)

What I love most about this interview is the pure honesty and completely genuine nature of every answer. Just like his poetry and music, it comes straight from his heart, his beautiful spirit shining through.
Thank you for crediting me @verbal-d, you are a sincerely delightful human being and friend. Much love xo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 49842.52
ETH 2229.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00