An Educative Chat With @jedau...Solver Of Problems...Teller Of Stories... Great Wordsmith.... Part One

in #inkpot7 years ago (edited)


..
Your favourite trail show The Inkpot is currently in it's third Steemisode, and our guest for this week is the amazing @jedau who is an author here on steemit, he is currently sharing a series with us here on steemit called Silver Lining

You can check his blog after reading this interview, Ladies and Gentlemen, i give you @jedau
..
A_Chat_With_jedau


..
Ogochukwu: Can you tell us your name and where you came from?

Jedau: My name is Jed and my nickname is AU (pronounced ey-yu). That’s why my user name is jedau (pronounced jed-ow, because reasons). I’m born and raised in the Philippines. As to whether or not I will die here, that remains to be seen.

Ogochukwu: Before Steem where you involved with crypto-currencies and how did you find out about Steemit?

Jedau: I used to mine LTC a few years ago back in the early days of crypto, but my rig got fried and I haven’t set up another once since. I happened upon Steemit while browsing through tech sites and thought that it could be a cool place to hang out in.

Ogochukwu: What do you think is the greatest advantage Steemit/Steem have over other social media sites/crypto-currencies?

Jedau: I want to say the community, but I guess I don’t necessarily feel the benefits of it, even though most others do. So, the obvious answer for me is the potential rewards. To get paid while posting things you love is a dream come true. Too bad some people are gaming the system and posting stuff that they see elsewhere on the internet. Ironically, they earn more than people who post original work that was crafted for hours. Will it change in the future? I sure hope so.

Ogochukwu: What do you think about the three growth related strategies being implemented by the Steem Team led by @andrarchy and @zurvanic?

Jedau: Okay, so, this might not be a popular answer, but I’m not that big of a fan. Yet. Allow me to explain. Everything’s still up in the air, with no concrete thing in place yet. Maybe there is internally, but the community in general isn’t aware of it yet. I’m not someone who easily gets hyped, so tangible strategies are more appealing to me.

I do have to say though, I like the potential of the Crowdsourced Marketing Protocol. For an organization that exists on the blockchain, I guess that makes sense. However, I can’t help but think that some people are getting paid for it, while others are doing it pro bono.

I don’t like talking about Steemit in general because I don’t really feel like I have any say with its direction. For something that I’m a “part owner” of, that’s really quite discouraging. I don’t know if I’m allowed to say this, but I was actually part of an effort to promote Steemit locally before they streamlined the marketing.

Once the heads were set up, I was one of the people that was, well, let go, I guess. Am I sour about it? Haha! A little bit. But, it is what it is.

I have some STEEM-related app ideas in mind, so hopefully I can contribute that way in the future. Also, I do hope for Steemit’s success.

Ogochukwu: What Literary Pilgrimages have you gone on?
I haven’t gone to any former writer’s retreats, but I’ve done quite a few soul searching walks. Really though, I get my best ideas while I’m in the shower. @meesterboom and @ezzy could definitely relate to that.

Ogochukwu: Do you think someone can be a writer if they don’t feel emotions strongly?

Jedau: Oh, good question. I guess that depends on the writing style. For me, I’m all about emotions. I try to play around with the reader’s emotions every chance I get. Also, whenever I write, I try to act out all the scenes, squeezing every last drop of emotion I can. That’s not exactly efficient, but it’s my process.

Some writers are more technical and by the book, resulting in stories that feel a bit formulaic. That’s not too say that it’s not any good, because some of the modern best sellers are like that. It’s just not my cup of tea.

Ogochukwu: Do you try to be more original or deliver what people want?

Jedau: Definitely original.As much as I want to cater to what’s popular, it’s just not how I operate. I do want to write something that people want, just so I can get more people to read, but sometimes it just comes off as formulaic. But, as you can see from my earnings, I rather write what I feel like writing instead of what I think people want to read.

Ogochukwu: Does a big Ego help or hurt writers?

Jedau: You know, this could go both ways. Some of the best and most popular writers in the world have hubris for days. I guess it helps them become more noticed than others, but it does hurt in terms of being complacent or not being capable of handling criticism effectively.

Ogochukwu: Does your family support your career as a writer?

Jedau: Sure, I guess they do. They don’t not support me, is what I’m trying to say. My family aren't big readers, but they’re happy for me whenever I finish writing stories.

Ogochukwu: Did you ever consider writing under a pseudonym?

Jedau: In a way, I do. I sign my stories under AU Gonzales, even though most people know me as “Jed.” I understand the other writers who use pseudonyms that really hide their identity, but I’m not ashamed of exposing my thoughts to the world.

Ogochukwu: Do you believe in writer’s block?

Jedau: I want to say I don’t, because I don’t want to give it power. It exists because people believe it exists. For centuries, scribes have battled with that beast in hopes of ... Hmm ... Yeah, let me get back to you on that one.

Ogochukwu: What is your Writing Kryptonite?

Jedau: I would have to say that bad reviews really affect me a lot. Even though I try to develop a thick skin and not let those things get to me, I just can’t help but become discouraged. That’s why I try to not read reviews. Too bad that I reply to every last one of them.

Ogochukwu: What other Authors are your friends on steemit/outside steemit, that help you to become a better writer?

Jedau: Ohh! I’ve met some really great people here who are, above all else, fantastic writers themselves. @ezzy, @dreemit, @meesterboom and @verbal-d have all helped me in more ways than one.

Reading their wonderful work has helped me sharpen my skills. They’re also part of my marvelous support system! I couldn’t imagine myself still on Steemit without the help of these people, who I’m proud to call as friends.

From the Inkpot host @ogochukwu, thanks for reading, share your thoughts about this show in the comments, if there is anything you feel that needs to be added feel free to suggest, if there is any Steemian you also want to be on the show feel free to suggest.

The top quill strokes is here to acknowledge creative quotes or lines which are used by steemians on their blog. The quote of the week is
...
Appreciate simple things, enjoy the silence, be always positive. @tincho
...


The following are contests which are run by very wonderful Steemians
....
50 word story contest which is run by @ogochukwu on @literature-trail
.....
The Art Challenge contest which is run by the amazing @aksinya on @artquest-trail
....
The Art Trail contest which is run by the multitalented @paolobeneforti
....
Thanks for reading have a nice day, don't forget to comment below.

Sort:  

Aw, you couldn't hopoe to meet a more fantastic dude and yes! The shower is indeed the holy place of inspiration!

Great interview @ogochukwu!

Thank's For reading @meesterboom.

You are one of the people who inspire me

Top notch! You are doing excellently on the platform mate!

I posted another interview on my blog just now. @meesterboom

You can also check it out

@ogochukwu

I sent you a message on Steemit Chat @meesterboom

The Fellowship of Froth. The Band of Bubbles. The Buds of Suds.

Are we seeing the makings of shower-influenced writing emerge? I do believe we're still on the ground floor of that trend even though great thinkers of old have changed society while taking a bath in the shower or tub.

It was a good thing that there wasn't a lot of crossover with your interview, dude! Makes it seem like a sequel :D

I noticed a deliberate effort on your part not to repeat yourself! Or was I imagining it?

Hehe, it is like a sequel, like a further snapshot in time!

I will have to get some waterproof something to jot donw my shower ideas!

Ha! I deliberately try to mask my deliberate effort to not repeat myself, but in that regard, I guess I failed haha! You're right about that, dude! :D I make a concerted effort every time to not undermine other people's effort, so I skate around stuff just so everything will be counted. It's all about the extra mile :D

You know, I had a waterproof marker before, but after college I lost the need to write on the tiles haha!

What an awesome interview. Great job, @ogochukwu.

I think I must have read it about three times already, lol! Well, let me set the record straight and say that the masterful @jedau has had a profound effect on every steemian community member he has come into contact with. No question about it. Such enthusiasm and heart-warming grace are qualities so very rare to find these days. His comments are like none other. They will keep you smiling for the rest of the day, guaranteed!

Oozing with genuine talent and charisma, his spinning of tales are true works of art that flow so effortlessly from him. His stories are undeniably original and expertly told. To such a degree, you may as well have just watched his persoanlized directorial movie through your mind's eye.

To @jedau. A scholar and a gentleman. We can only wait with bated breath at the next gem to be produced from this creative wordsmith among us.

Steem on, my brother! And never underestimate your brilliance! :)

Not gonna lie, my eyes welled up as I was reading this comment, my brother. I struggled to not close my eyes and just waited for it to be drained naturally instead of letting it flow down my face haha! I just hope I could live up to the lofty standard you put me in. Without you though, I'm sure I wouldn't be where I am on this platform. So thank you, brother!

A scholar and a gentleman.

YES! Finally someone addressed me with it hahaha! I've been waiting for it for years, bro!

Thank you for reading and for your wonderful comment

@ezzy

I sent you a message on Steemit Chat @ezzy

Thank you, @ogochukwu, for the opportunity! It's a real honor :D It's nice that I get to share the post with my buddy @tincho as the Top Quill Stroke!

I had not seen this!!! Excellent post and you deserve all the recognition me dear friend! Do you see that we are getting closer to the Nobel? Step by step, you will gradually achieve what you propose...
Thanks @ogochukwu for the top quote of the week!

I can smell it now! Don't worry I won't forget you when I'm at the top of the food chain, my friend. I will always remember you as the one who believed I can achieve the dreams of many great men who have come before me.

"Ogochukwu: Do you believe in writer’s block?

Jedau: I want to say I don’t, because I don’t want to give it power. It exists because people believe it exists. For centuries, scribes have battled with that beast in hopes of ... Hmm ... Yeah, let me get back to you on that one."

That was a nice little humorous jab at writer's block experience bro, thoroughly enjoyed this interview of you. And Glad we are all supportive of one another and keep the team morale high! Community and friendship is important and what better place than steemit? Let's keep pushing forward

Thanks, brother! I wouldn't have had the opportunity without yours and @dreemit's nomination :D Don't think you can get away without a shoutout!

Much appreciated bro, you're most welcome as always

Thanks @tincho

You deserve it. Keep up the good Work

It was very interesting to read! Congratulations!

I knew @jedau would be up after @verbal-d! He's an incredible writer as well as as dear friend and I'm glad he has the opportunity to voice his thoughts :) I'm lucky to know him, and I look forward to reading part two :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55948.41
ETH 2523.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31