Transparency in public discourse and the protection of privacy, revisited

in #informationwar6 years ago

I just finished listening to Sam Harris' latest podcast, an episode entitled The Information War. He talks with Renée DiResta, a government cyberwar analyst (and yes a statist) about her review of the evidence of Russian shitposting trolls.

It is worth listening to, no matter where you fall on the spectrum of opinion. DiResta alleges that there's no room for doubt any more that Russia has been infiltrating grassroots political movements via Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

What I found funny when considering this was the ease at which anyone of those shitposting groups could influence this platform, if they thought it was a worthy target, which I think we have to assume they do not. There is a lot conspiratorial thinking here, a lot of people who are so suspicious that they employ magical thinking, jump to conclusions, and so on, to arrive at complete distrust. It is worrying to think how such profound levels of mistrust can be weaponized against not only the credulous but those in their circles.

Particularly striking was how (it is alleged) they "laundered" fake hacked emails through WikiLeaks (I'd like to see this substantiated), and ads through Facebook. DiResta says that the shitposters would sometimes reach out to others in their community to post their ads on legitimate activist pages. I wonder how much of that information has made it's way here?

The message she was imparting, in her biased expert opinion, was that this was all about sowing devision. The shitposters played the long game, starting first with bolstering pride and group identity, then eventually using that very identity as rationale for political action.

Spies and transparency

It's not hard to suspect that much of this is true. Before I joined Steem I had become really tired of all the shitposting on Facebook. The groups I was in were becoming more and more toxic. This was right around the time that DiResta alleges the steering really began to take off. I was part of several political groups, of all different kinds and sides, and it seemed to be devolving rapidly into adversarial chaos. It's funny not to think back that Steem seemed a lot friendlier in those days, and though there was a lot of arguing and discussion, I could tell it was largely "good faith".

Still, I joined here pseudononymously. I was tired of being tracked, being watched and mined for information. It angered me that my relevant personal details were observed, analysed, then bought and sold, all in order to manipulate me. I though, enough. So I came to Steem, with no ads, no need to use the preferred access portal, and with a lot of interesting folks. And of course the promise of internet money in the form of votes was a carrot worth trying to bite at the time.

I argued against the radical transparency that @dan wrote about, specifically because of the implications above, for the ease of mining and so on. Radical opacity seemed far wiser, so I practiced that, and continue to. But what I'm seeing more and more is that on public platforms transparency is important.

Privacy in the home, transparency in public

I think the infiltration problem is pretty huge. I actually came to know someone who claimed to semi-professionally infiltrate political organizations too, though I'll give nothing else away on that. It's seems so so easy with the current state of online discourse.

All this has left me wondering if the privacy focus isn't a little off in most people's conception, including my own. Privacy is important of course, but perhaps when we speak in public we should not expect the privacy we do in our own homes.

This leads us to question how public and private spaces can be defined online, and I think there is a lot of room for debate here. But the debate must be had.

And this leads me personally to question how tenable my pseudononymous status is here. Should I be more open, as say my friend @tarazkp has?

Sort:  

There is a cost to transparency because so few are actually willing to engage in it and there is the tendency to mine information for any slip and then use that as a way to undermine a personality. There are several people I would say that have done this to me here in various ways, most of it tied to having an open wallet or public support.

However, there is also a growing need for transparency in order to trust. If we think back to the amount of extremely vocal and prolific support Trump got on twitter from eggs with very low follower count, you can see how easy it is in social media to game the narrative and appear much more supported in view than other forms. Twitter doesn't have a one account per person mechanism either. While I am not for this, imagine if everyone had to sign up under their social security number on social media.

When so many people are faceless, how can one trust their intention when there is zero cost to them, no blow-back, no accountability for words or actions? The internet provides a mask of protection and while great for those who may be persecuted in some areas, the amount of various troll types far outnumber the ones who would actually face much personal risk for speaking their mind. Bank robbers and the KKK wear masks for a reason.

I also embrace pseudonmity, for similar reasons. All my online accounts are pseudonymous, including email.

While state level actors will connect these accounts with my person, it is prohibitively expensive for mere marketers to undertake, particular since I refuse to have a bank account, or use credit cards of any kind. There's no financial upside.

That being said, there are far more important metrics than money, and various parties, including state actors, do find other social metrics of nominal importance that they might dox me. C'est la guerre.

I expect that Russia, Israel, and even France, England, and etc., have been seeking to influence our elections since we began having them. Not to would be reckless. Anyway, the reverse is absolutely, without any doubt the case. The US not only seeks influence, but directly engineers elections, and when that doesn't achieve geopolitical ends, just overthrows governments.

Marines were on the ground at least 27 times in Nicaragua in the 20th Century, for example.

@dana-edwards addresses some of the salient issues regarding privacy, cognition, and related issues in a recent post. I reckon you'd note the relevance of that post to your own considerations.

Thanks!

Congratulations @personz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3500 replies. Your next target is to reach 3750 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Curated for #informationwar (by @wakeupnd)

Ways you can help the @informationwar!

  • Upvote this comment or Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP or Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

FreezePeach

If you feel you've been wrongly flagged, check out @freezepeach, the flag abuse neutralizer. See the intro post for more details, or join the discord server.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61757.03
ETH 2490.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64