You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trump, Imperialist In Chief

in #informationwar5 years ago

We knew this was coming and now it is unfolding. I am not so sure I believe people are asleep anymore, I am starting to believe the lack of needed change is purely fear based. The agenda is so obvious that I just cannot reconcile peoples inability to see..

We can collapse this tyrannical system so easily, so quickly.. but then.. We wouldn't be able to go to Walmart and pick up a chicken dinner anymore, no.. We might have to go out and collect firewood for heat, we might have to lose some luxuries for a while and rebuild..

Dependency, fear, and polarization are such effective methods for control of the masses.

We're literally getting ready to take a front row seat to the slaughter and we're too afraid to save ourselves. (Collectively speaking.)

People cannot be this blind, we need to dispel fear.

I'm not really sure what else to say regarding this deeply disturbing news.

Thank you as always for your publications my friend.

Sort:  

Yes, it is probably also the case that the people indirectly give their rulers justice by consuming heavily, proclaiming all rights for themselves, going on vacations diligently, wanting to have everything at all times, and assuming that the standard not only needs to be maintained but even further improved, whatever that may mean.

Going back to getting firewood and living in dependent communities or micro-societies is probably such a frightening idea that no one can really imagine it being feasible. Nevertheless, the tendencies are there: towards nationalism, back into the family, a return to paternalistic religion? In some parts, at least, this can be observed. No one really has an answer to it.

I hold the same view as the German economist Niko Paech: if possible, I'm adapting to a post-growth economy. Where I will have to do without a lot of things and luxuries without being shocked by it or being haunted by despair. I started my life about ten years ago to switch to an economy based on rather renunciation and I have not yet quite made the leap into the culture of exchange and repair, although I am learning a part of it. For example, I sew clothes and don't buy new clothes, but used ones.

It is difficult to accept a world that is global and yet create micro-societies that are local. I would agree with both, because otherwise how to avoid all this war? The drivers of innovation, for example, who develop a technology that is independent of oil and other earthly resources, are probably always somewhat in the minority, and again it is impossible to foresee how much even innovation requires raw materials. It really does seem to me that one viable way is to restrict oneself as much as possible voluntarily in terms of nutrition, mobility and other things. Insofar as this self-restriction is not practised by majorities, some voices fear that in future one would have to live under an eco-dictatorship.

As always, we do not know.

I agree, people really aren't blind to what is been seen as highly problematic. They just don't have easy answers.

That's what I keep saying to myself: people can't be this blind... But then I see some Fox News reports, and read an article by Ben Shapiro, and then I see: people CAN be this blind. What they're blinded by varies, but blinded they are; I believe you're right that it's mostly fear based...

I think you're also spot on when you speak of a collective fear of losing the comforts that have become part of our materialistic western identities. Your response, as well as the one from @erh.germany describe that beautifully :-)

Thanks so much @futuremind; I really appreciate your regular visits and valuable comments :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59634.64
ETH 2590.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47