Why Dick's should eat a bag of them.

in #informationwar6 years ago


source

So I bought a gun at Dick's Sporting Goods today, actually I tried to buy it last Friday but I got a "delay", as I always do for some unexplained reason. I have a clean record and yet I always get a "delay" from the same NICS system that allowed Nikolas Cruz to buy all manner of guns despite the police and FBI being called about his criminal activities, domestic violence, threats and mental illness several dozen times.

They seem to be pretty backed up at the NICS office, they failed to call back within the three days. So I got my gun without actually passing the federal background check. Don't worry I have passed all the other ones and the separate one my state requires and my state requires me to hold a permit which requires, you guessed it, another background check and permission from a white police chief.
Then I heard they announced they will no longer be selling whatever "assault rifles" are or make any gun sales to people under 21. Which is stupid for starters because Dick's, at least here, already didn't sell any AR-15s or AK clones or 30 round magazines. So what have they done?
They have ensured that I will never again buy a gun there, they sacrificed a customer who just spent $500 in their retail store to placate who?
No one is going to hear they did that and be so impressed, because they love gun control so much, that they are going to run out to Dick's and spend $500, no one is going to do that.

Any sensible businessperson should consider what impact coming out on one side of a partisan issue will have on their business. Are you alienating the customers you already have in order to impress people who are not your customers?

I can understand the argument that they don't want to be the ones to sell the next mass shooter his gun but that is of course stupid. Sure some people would boycott them if that happened, online anyhow, mostly people who didn't shop there anyways, everyone else would run out to Dick's and buy a new gun of their own, until they went and did this, next time I will go elsewhere.

So what do you think of Dick's decision, did you hear about this new policy and then run out to Dicks and spend $500?
What's the point of background checks anyhow since they don't arrest people who fail them and they don't arrest crazy people who threaten school shootings and have the cops at their house every month for domestic violence and people calling the FBI to report their threats? Isn't it just a feel-good solution that doesn't really provide anything but a false sense of security or of addressing some political ends?
From a business standpoint what are the impacts of this decision going to be?
What more important news stories is this announcement of a retailer changing their sales policy is that distracting me from?

I think they should eat a bag of dicks.

This fact free newish rant is an @funbobby51 original and a steemit.com exclusive, the photo was labeled as free to share and use commercially, please upvote and resteem if you like, thank you to all my followers and supporters and God bless.

Check out some of my other recent posts:

How Mass Shootings End.
Ministry of Truth Struggles to Suppress Speech Contrary to Gun Control Narrative
Facebook and Google Struggle to Squelch ‘Crisis Actor’ Posts
Operation Mockingbird 2018 trying to wag the dog about gun control
Some of my favorite things progressives would want to ban if they knew they existed and are legal.
Soros Groups Launch Children's Crusade Against Civil Rights
Anti-civil rights activists launch children's crusade against guns
The Gun Debate in 6 Charts
My response to "Daily Opinion #7: Gun laws in the US need to be revised"

Sort:  

Oh boy: if you're mad at what you just read, you'll go apoplectic over this:

"Dick’s Sporting Goods Appears to Use School Shootings as Marketing Stunts"

The ownership of Dick’s Sporting Goods appears to be attempting to leverage the tragic shooting of school children into a marketing opportunity. The company has been exposed for its doublespeak on its decision to stop selling so-called “assault rifles.”...

More here, if your blood pressure can stand it:
http://www.breitbart.com/texas/2018/02/28/dicks-sporting-goods-appears-to-use-school-shootings-as-marketing-stunts/


Self-upvoted for visibility.

We will see the same backlash from all those idiots who bowed to pressure to drop their NRA relationships, all the people who used their NRA discount will never again patronize from those places and no one will choose to use one of them because they took an anti gun stance.

Thanks a lot! Geesh!

I was just on FB reading all of my liberal friends posts surrounding this decision. They all praise Dicks. Thanks for posting. I bet none of them actually attempted to buy a gun themselves and know firsthand what is actually involved. I am sure it is different from state to state but at least let's keep the narrative fair and objective. I've seen people post on FB that they were able to buy an AR-15 in less than 15 minutes and out the door. I guess it's possible but I doubt it happens that easy everywhere.

Almost a week to buy a .22. and I am a grown man with a permit, a clean record and permission from my local authorities and I already own other registered guns. Thanks for the encouragement. You should ask them how much they went and spent at Dicks because they were so impressed.

Then I heard they announced they will no longer be selling whatever "assault rifles" are or make any gun sales to people under 21. Which is stupid for starters because Dick's, at least here, already didn't sell any AR-15s or AK clones or 30 round magazines.

I bet that's why management felt oh-so-clever when they made the announcement,

Any sensible businessperson should consider what impact coming out on one side of a partisan issue will have on their business. Are you alienating the customers you already have in order to impress people who are not your customers?

And that there question shows why management was too clever by half.

Cabela's and Bass Pro Shops should run ads saying they support the second amendment

Yeah, they should.

By the way: I saw the perfect opportunity to drop a link to your piece on Gab. Seeing other complain about the same thing: that's all it took. :)

EDIT: As I write, two Gabbers have both liked and reposted it.

cool, I don't know what that is but I am glad they like it.

Nice post, upvoted you one more to an even 60!

I heard they're called clits now!
Nothing against clits, afterall I am the 'clit commander'.
Hell, maybe I should just go ahead and rollback the
policy for you, we really do value our customers!

I am here to give you upvotes without leaving a comment.

Oh damn...

lol, followed

Here's to them going out of business. Haven't been through their doors since sandy hoax and NEVER plan to.

they are going to have to sell a whole lot of sports bras and yoga mats to make up for $500 gun sales.

They'll bridge the gap by selling ski masks and baseball bats to Antifa lol

@masterbot has been called by @funbobby51 to give you 10.84% upvote!
Check this post for information about delegation. Make me strong!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66195.81
ETH 3505.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18