Information Finding championship- Season 1: Round 19 entry- Teaching Hangul (한글)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #informationfinding6 years ago (edited)

This article is for the Information Finding Championship; the topic is teach something! It is a contest about providing exciting information. If you want to be involved, let me know, and I can help!

10264653_926034844095693_6932212346260424026_n.jpg
King Sejong 세종대왕

Hangul (한글)

Okay, I am going to flip the tables on myself and do a little role reversal. Instead of teaching English I am going to teach you all a little Hangul, the Korean writing system. Now, I am not showing any words, just how to read the letters. Learn how to read an Asian language in one post, difficult say you? Worry not my friends; this writing system was developed to be learned in a day. Before I get into the actual system though I have to talk about the inventor, the Great King Sejong (세종대왕).

King Sejong 세종대왕

King Sejong ruled during the second Joseon (조선) dynasty. I love this guy honestly before he ruled, all the elite wrote in classical Chinese characters. However, this didn't work with Korean's complex grammar. So, only the ruling class were literate during his time, and Sejong was "Saddened by this." You can read more in the link, but long story short, he told the elites to suck it got the smartest people he could in the kingdom together (regardless of social status), called it the Hall of Worthies and set them to work inventing and improving ideas. One of these was Hangul, even though the ruling class did not like the idea that everyday people could begin to read taxes and know they are getting screwed. Okay, enough talking about Sejong, I could go on all day.

The Letters

Hangul_letters.jpg
Source

Consonants

Now, the writing system is fascinating because consonants resemble how the mouth forms when producing the sounds. That is crazy right! So, a 'ㄱ' sound lay your tongue down to make that 'g' sound. A 'ㄴ' sound is made by putting the tongue to the roof of the mouth for an 'n' sound. For 'ㅅ' you put your tongue to your teeth to make a 's' sound. 'ㅁ' is the shape of your mouth when you make a' sound. Finally, 'o' is the shape of your throat when you make an 'ung' sound. If you don't believe this, check out the link here, or look at the photo below (All information about phonetics is coming from this page). These letters are also the basic ones, so the rest just build off of them as you can see below.

consonants-5-groups-diagram.gif
Source

Vowels

Okay, there is a lot of philosophy in the creation of the vowels. The symbols a single dot, a horizontal line, and a vertical line represent Heaven, Earth, and Man respectively. If Heaven is to the right of man 'ㅏ', or above Earth 'ㅗ' they make 'a' and 'o' respectively and are known as bright vowels because you form them high in the throat. If Heaven is to the left of man 'ㅓ', or below Earth 'ㅜ' they make 'e' and 'u' respectively, these are the dark vowels because they are formed low in the throat. No dot, they are neutral.
Now, if you add a second dot, it is like adding 'y' to the vowel. Then, you can form the rest of the vowels by putting horizontal vowels 'ㅡ,ㅗ,ㅜ' with vertical ones 'ㅣ,ㅏ,ㅓ.' The horizontal vowel always comes first when forming the complex vowels and can become a shortened 'w,' as you can refer to the first chart.

bright-dark-vowels-diagram.gif
Source

ABC Song (가나다송)

Here is the song that I was shown for learning my 가나다s, this is the actual order, so good to learn in this order. Same tune as our own ABCs, so I hope you find it helpful to memorize them. 😁

Final note

Each block of letters start with a consonant; if 'ㅇ' is the first, it is silent. Each block is a syllable and can contain 2-4 letters.

Okay, hope this made sense to you all!
안녕하세요!! (both hello and goodbye)

Until then,
Ride on!

Sort:  

I'll trust you that it is easy to learn. A little late for me, and no time for the video, but I do hope to watch the abc video, if I do not forget. Looks like a good entry. Interesting actually.

Thanks, during my studies at uni I learned that age has minimal effect after the age of seven. So, it is always possible :)

Glad to see you entered this round! I think you forgot to copy paste your link into the main round thread comments section though.. But anyways.. This looks like a fascinating entry! Unfortunately I discovered it right as I'm about to jump in bed and I'm super tired, so I'll have to check it out tomorrow when I get a chance! Looks really interesting though especially as someone who loves language! I look forward to reading this soon. :D

Glad you like it @apolymask. Sometimes when I study Korean I stop and think to myself, "Holy fuck I'm learning a language with different characters." Fair warning though, the phonemes are straight forward but grammar can be pretty tricky. Hope you enjoy!

Love the video. Not sure the rest will stick in my brain though...

I'm glad you stuck through it though! If anything, you can say you learned it once 😄

Interesting good concept...
like it...
@upvoted

Thanks! I am glad you liked it :)

My memory is botched. I think, nay, I believe. I can memorize this and learn it in a day. The next day, nothing - totally amnesia haha!

Haha, it is fine. This is one of those languages that is only useful within the home country. Unless you are into kpop cultural, contrary to popular belief I live here but I am not into the music or dramas. The variety shows are good though.

I learned some when I was teaching kids then. The difference then is that I get to interact with them daily so I picked up some words. That was years ago. It's interesting that you weren't absorbed into the kpop world. It's a big thing here in our country. I watch some Korean movies though when I feel like it.

Right, I plan to be here a few more years at least, so I am trying to learn as hard as I can. It is gaining more world recognition, so it is kinda easier to learn these days. Yeah, I just never been one to sit down and watch long tv shows.

Great job in explaining im chinese and for our writing system it came from drawings so the sun is 日 i cant explain much but its interesting good job though in teaching how to read im still deciding if il give you the vote il leave it another comment good luck!

Ok i have decided you have my vote your post was direct and taught a lot you showed examples plus you gave us a helpful video you did a great job good luck!

Thank you! I worked for quite a while on that post and I am glad you liked it. I know some hanja characters (Korean written in Chinese) It is useful for directions and ordering food mainly. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61680.81
ETH 3443.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51