Information Finding Championship - Season 1 : Round 12 entry

Hello Steemian Friends!


First I would like to thank @bashadow for inviting me to the ICF Castle! If you haven't heard of Information Finding Championship, it is currently in Season 1 Round 12! BUT it's not too late to get involved and join the contest! This round is intended to be a "catch up" round for new players and players currently not on the leader board! The contest is running until July so there is plenty of time to get yourself on the leader board! This round topic caught my interest, so here is my first entry to the contest! Go and join the fun HERE


Water - A Global Problem...Where is it Going?

glass-2655954_1280.jpg
Image Credit

I sit here thinking water, what the hell happened? [sigh] In order to answer this question, I first questioned where is all the water going? And what I found was truly shocking and it became one of the many reasons for my life style choices!

  • 80%-90% of United States water consumption is from Agriculture. USDA
  • 56% of United States water consumption is from growing feed crops to feed live stock.
  • 20%-33% of all fresh water consumption is from animal agriculture in the world!
  • 1,232 gallons of water is used to produce one 8oz Steak! Source

So, I believe a simple solution, is for us to Leave the Meat! I'm not saying a full switch from a Standard American Diet to a Plant Base Diet, but I am asking everyone to make a conscious effort to contribute to a global problem! By not choosing to eat that hamburger, you are potentially saving 600 gallons of water! Source

Now that you have the knowledge...Now take Action.

Action is Power!

Source

Sort:  

I am glad you stopped by, took a look, and decided to play, I do not think you will be disappointed, so far I have not only been having a lot of fun, but have also met some real nicesteemians here.

Thanks again for the invite! It seems like a lot of fun and I was really intrigued with this theme!

First, Welcome to the IFC! This is some really great information! Thank you for taking a look and placing your entry! I didn't know some of those things you pointed out so I appreciate it. You have me re-thinking a few things already. Good luck on future rounds!

Thanks for the welcome! I am glad you found this informative! We seem to get caught up in the next "great" invention to cure and save humanity! Keeping it simple is where we can start and that's at your dinner plate! :). Not only will we save water...we can save this planet!

Excellent entry iexplore!!! Welcome to the contest. :)
I was really really really hoping someone would point out animal agriculture. That's definitely one of the biggest wastes of water, if not the biggest waste of water.

If more people just cut down on their consumption of animal products, then more people would be able to drink water and shower in clean water and all of that other stuff, hopefully before we start destroying the last remaining aquafurs as well. It really is in crisis mode and.. Cutting down on animal products is one of the best things people can do.

We're not suppose to vote until the round is over for the most part, and there are a few other really good entries in this round.. But.. I have to say.. I am sorta leaning towards your entry right now because I think you touched on the most critical area where almost anyone can help just by not continuing to purchase animal products as much.

Thank your @apolymask for putting this contest together. It looks like a lot of steemians are enjoying themselves with it!

I could have went on and on and on about this as animal agriculture is a BIG culprit to the destruction of our planet! Also, the United Nations has said livestock is most likely the largest source of water pollution! The cool thing is that we ALL can start TODAY doing our part! As of last month I personally have saved roughly 1.6 million gallons of water eating a plant base diet. And that's only in 4 years!

You're welcome. Thanks for participating and the great entry that is helping people learn! We're going to have a big round tomorrow so stay tuned! You may wanna enter that one too, the reward is going to be much bigger, at least 25 steem.

Also glad to hear a lot of people are enjoying themselves. :) That makes me happy to know other people are having a good time with this idea.

Hmm.. Yeah I guess I'm not surprised animal agriculture would also be responsible for most water pollution, I'll have to look into that a bit closer.. But.. I tend to believe that's prolly the case.

And wow! That's a lot of water you saved! Impressive. :) Plus a bunch of animal lives too!
I've been vegan for a little over two years, so I guess I'm half way to those similar kinds of numbers?

Living a much healthier life style and protecting our planet and our animal friends is truly a rewarding experience! I will keep a look out for your next round!

While there were some other really great entries, and I think we may try to do some kind of special round or fundraising charity type of thing like a couple other people suggested anyways regardless, I still feel like this entry was the most important one.

Animal agriculture is a main cause if not the main cause of this water shortage problem in the first place and if people didn't use it so incredibly much we wouldn't have near as much of a problem of this, and ESPECIALLY in the long term in regards to our further survival as a very species on this planet.. We need to conserve first, not keep wasting while trying to make up for it with new technology, though we should keep pursuing new better technology as well! But first and foremost and something almost everyone can do unless you're totally plant based already is to reduce your animal product consumption.. You get my vote for this round! Great entry! And thank you for helping to bring more awareness to this issue.

There were great entries! I enjoyed reading and learning from them. I am honor for your vote in this round and in this great contest of IFC! I am enjoying myself in this world of DIGITA I happen to find. It is very magical from other worlds I have explored.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62731.36
ETH 2678.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54