Another Snake Rescued From My Place!

in #india5 years ago

It wasn't long ago that we had to rescue a snake stuck in the air-conditioning unit but sadly that snake didn't make it as it didn't survive the extent of it's injuries caused by the compressor fan blades when it snuck inside it.

Fortunately this one made it alive and without any injury. However, my cat was annoyed with me that I spoilt it's hunt.

snake1.jpg

It's rainy season here and many of these creatures come out looking for food. It's very common although growing up i've seen so many different types of snake and even got accidentally bitten once by a non-venomous rat snake in my 6th grade while trying to catch fish.

But over the years with a great loss of their habitat these creatures have no way to go. This little one is a Striped Keelback. Absolutely gorgeous looking snake with a great skin. Yes I touched it when a friend and professional rescuer Tauseed came over to get it.

Mom and I found one of our cats (strays but they are over all the time now) trying to hunt this fella and I managed to stop him and soon after mom managed to cover it wit a bucket type of object to keep it in place.

We were hoping it would leave on its own but mom found it messing around my car instead of leaving after the cat-attack and hence we felt it's better to relocate it before it stays behind and ends up in a mess.

snake2.jpg

Striped Keelback is a non-venomous type snake but has a very bad bite that stings apparently from what I learn't from Tauseef. But these are beautiful creatures who haven't troubled us ever. They come and leave on their own and sometimes we get to see them within our compound.

If you ever get into a situation like this please call a professional, don't try to kill the snake or chase it away especially if it's trapped inside your house. Venomous or not just leave it alone and call someone. If you can manage to trap it without hurting then it's fine but otherwise lock the room and wait for someone to get it out and relocate it.

These snakes are usually hunting for food and they shouldn't be killed especially when we have encroached upon all their land.

Growing up i've seen Cobras, Pythons, Pit Vipers, Rat Snakes, Striped Keelback, Green Vine Snake and a couple of oter species common to this region in our neighbourhood. Sadly these days snakes are a rare sight. Else we'd get to see dozens throughout the year.

One of my kittens that messed around with a python was devoured by it in our yard! Crazy right but that's just nature! Live and let live folks! :)


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Why You Should Vote For Firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  2. Steem.Chat Contest #83

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

I must say I admire your courage to hold and even stay that long while holding it. I don't think I can touch it, not to talk of hold it. I am from a different part of the world where it is hard to even know which one is venomous and which one isn't. We just flee hahahaha.

You did exactly what @papa-pepper would have done; protect it and release it.

Well done.

Good job, you and your mom had succeeded to save the beautiful creature.well done.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Nice you rescued all friendly snak

Posted using Partiko Android

One of my kittens that messed around with a python was devoured by it in our yard!

Whoa!

This seems common crait non poisonous in Gujarat we call it Roop Sundari....

Posted using Partiko Android

U r so much caring about these homeless creatures... u r really doing great job by saving theirs life..... may lord shiva fulfill ol ur desires @firepower

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow! It is my dream to hold a snake in my hand. However, whenever I meet this creature I keep thinking as I still have a big fear of them. Amazing you held it in your hand! ( On steem, I have seen videos of papa pepper playing with snakes )

You got a 36.86% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @firepower! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 25 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59583.90
ETH 2578.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48