Drawlloween: The Zika Virus

in #illustration8 years ago (edited)



Name: Zika Virus
Date: 10/06/2016
No: 6


My son watched me look up images related to diseases and said I had a choice between the scary and geeky route. I chose the geeky route after I reviewed images of those affected by the zika virus. The final image I recreated represents the chemical structure of the zika virus.

I started with an outline and filled in the shapes with color. There were 12 yellow units (I am clearly not a scientist) on the exterior of this structure, and the inner triangles were symmetric about the horizontal and vertical axis which made my life easier.

I continued by created a circle with a tea tin cover and hand drew the circles around this main circle. I used the edge of a pencil to get the major lines, and drew the interior lines by hand.

It is interesting to note that no two inner lines between triangles touch.

When it came time to color in the triangles, I chose two shades of green and assumed the light source came from the left. I pressed harder with the colored pencil the further I was from the light source, and used a lighter touch as I moved to the left.


Next: Dr. Blood
Previous: The Mummy Boy Magazine

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59351.18
ETH 2529.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42