IFC R02S02: Why am I laughing?

in #ifc5 years ago (edited)

Unsplash

This is my entry for the Information Finding Championship with the topic "Laughter" run by @ifc and @apolymask.

This was a pretty interesting topic, and one that I mulled over for a quite a few days! I couldn't settle on a particular topic that really took would take my fancy and that I thought that I could run with... and I was pretty sure that I would have to skip this round. However, this morning, I did think of a possible angle! So, I'm in with a just in time entry...

Why Am I Laughing?

In my day job as a musician, I often find myself laughing (either in rehearsal or on stage in a performance. Some of the time it is a shared joke with another colleague or just reveling in the challenge of navigating a particularly difficult passage! These are the times when the laughter (if it is in performance, it is more muted!) is quite transparent and the reason is more intelligible to everyone else!

However, there are times when I laugh at little things in the music or that other musicians are doing that only seem to make any sense to me! I think these little personal secret gems are quite important for a musician (artist), as it this continual joy of disconnected discoveries that helps keep everything fresh for us! Especially with pieces that we play quite often!

So, in this post, I'm sharing two little moments in two Classical pieces that I play quite often which I find totally hilarious... which no one else seems to!

Toy Trains

The Brandenburg concerto #4 is one of the great Baroque masterworks by JS Bach, featuring a solo violin and two recorders. Now, recorders aren't really my favourite instruments... however, I do have colleagues that play it really very very well, so this isn't a comment on their playing ability and skills!

However, in this Concerto, there is a spot at around 12:53 where the two recorders play a series of notes in imitation to the string group. This is the spot where I have a touch of the uncontrollable giggles, as they really really sound like toy trains! Take a listen for yourself!

I've told one of my recorder colleagues this... and now every time in a performance of this piece, she turns around at that moment and glares at me (in a nice way...)! It's the only thing that she is thinking about now when she hits that spot!

Australia!

This particular example is a bit of an embarrassing one... It occurs during the John Passion of JS Bach, which is one of the settings of the Easter story of Christ according to the gospel of St. John. Even worse, this is the moment when Jesus is on the cross... about to expire.

The troublesome bit is at around 3:05, when the alto transitions into the faster section. with a bar that sounds very familiar to me as an Australian.... it is the first little part of the Australian national anthem (in the youtube link, it is where they start singing around 0:18).

Needless to say, this is a spot where it is really bad bad bad form to be smiling or laughing out loud....

Wrap up!

So, if we are lucky, we all have these little moments in our lives... where we are completely caught unaware by a completely random connection which makes something quite funny for us and us alone! Far from being a bad thing, this is a great and human thing (in moderation...) which allows us to find joy and light in the most unusual circumstances!


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Music can be so much fun, and bring a great smile, and a lot of laughter at times. Everyone remembers the "One Eyed One Horned Purple People eater song", but I really always get a kick out of "Jimmy Cross's song - I Want My Baby Back. I know it is not funny in the classical sense you mentioned, but still another example of musical laughter.

This is so fun @bengy! Love the joy your music brings you! Work can so often just become work, but to find something to make you giggle along the way is awesome. Of course the recorder players are now scarred...they'll never look at that piece the same way again, lol

Haha... it is the RIGHT way to look at the piece! Toy trains, it is exactly the thing that JS Bach would have wanted!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community.

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto or help us out with a delegation!

Glad you were able to get an entry in even though you had a difficult time thinking of what to do with it! :)

In my day job as a musician, I often find myself laughing (either in rehearsal or on stage in a performance. Some of the time it is a shared joke with another colleague or just reveling in the challenge of navigating a particularly difficult passage! These are the times when the laughter (if it is in performance, it is more muted!) is quite transparent and the reason is more intelligible to everyone else!

Even though I'm not in the same field as you I think a lot of my laughter comes in similar manner! When little things only I understand for personal reasons happen and they don't really make sense to others and I have to spend time explaining to them why I'm laughing or else I just seem insane, lol..

So, in this post, I'm sharing two little moments in two Classical pieces that I play quite often which I find totally hilarious... which no one else seems to!

Took me a lil while to get both of your references but once I did they gave me a good chuckle! The first one does sound like toy trains.. Though especially the second one made me laugh. And yeah, that's a sensitive subject and I try not to laugh at Jesus jokes cause hey.. Maybe he was a real historical person, though some of them are pretty funny and since I don't believe in it and think it's likely more just myth or perhaps even propaganda I do often tend to have some guilty laughs about such.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts and for getting a couple good laughs out of me! :) Also just so you know it looks like you posted the first link twice? Peace my friend!

Thanks for pointing out the video mistake. I'm not sure what I was thinking... But I must have thought it was a bit of decent formatting... Which didn't work!

I think it is important to find these little things that amuse us! It helps to keep things fresh and interesting! Keeps the mind active and engaged in situations that might otherwise be dull or routine!

You're welcome. And I agree! Well said buddy. :)

I can literally tell that any musician they successfully relate to what you are saying here will have this trapped in their head for the rest of their life... Good luck to them laughing whenever they recall it 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha... I hope so, nothing like getting this sort of thing stuck in someone else's head!

Love it! ♥
You find such joy in your music and I think that is wonderful. :)

I think it is important to find laughter and joy wherever you can in your daily life. What a fun challenge!

Definitely, it is important to find joy where you least expect it! It really makes life easier!

You got a 13.02% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @bengy! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 24 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Thank you for using CryptoSicko!

Well done and thank you for joining and supporting my subscription based upvoting bot that provides you with daily upvotes in exchange for your spare STEEM POWER.
Delegation links for CryptoSicko
100SP 250SP500SP

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 402 (02/16/19)

Hi @bengy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.370 which ranks you at #2386 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 244 contributions, your post is ranked at #79.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63