Steemian Idol Heat 2 - "Vissi d'arte" by Puccini

in #idol7 years ago

Here's my entry for Vocalists-Trail Steemian Idol Heat 2!

This song is from Puccini's opera, Tosca, called Vissi d'arte.


It's really a prayer that I think a lot of people can relate to: why when we try to do good, do bad things happen to us? I've provided a translation below (since it's in Italian).


I lived for my art, I lived for love,
I never did harm to a living soul!
With a secret hand
I relieved as many misfortunes as I knew of.
Always with true faith
my prayer
rose to the holy shrines.
Always with true faith
I gave flowers to the altar.
In the hour of grief
why, why, o Lord,
why do you reward me thus?
I gave jewels for the Madonna’s mantle,
and I gave my song to the stars, to heaven,
which smiled with more beauty.
In the hour of grief
why, why, o Lord,
ah, why do you reward me thus?


Thank you for listening! If you enjoyed my singing, or like piano music, please follow me!
Sort:  

Excellent work, as always. Opera takes the most skill of all types of music, and it shows.

Really, it's the olympics of singing.

Thanks, this is one of my favorite arias!

Glad to give 100% of my 3 cents to upvote you. Great work. Hope you are discovered again.

Gorgeous voice! I was trained operatically myself, so I definitely appreciate hearing another trained voice!

You have amazing talent!! thank you for sharing :)

Thank you so much for listening!

Ooh, a capella too!
I am vindicated in my confidence quality will out on Steemit, and it will be justly rewarded!
I'm not going to dis popular styles (I'm a slut for any kind of music), but this is my JAM., lady! Not to put you on the spot, but do you sing and play simultaneously, also? It's something VERY rare in opera and bel canto, but when done well (Vittoria de los Angeles comes clearly to mind from decades past) it is completely divine...

LOL! I did in my O Mio babbino post, but I can't make eye contact when I do that so I thought it's better to no. Plus, I don't play or sing as well as I can when I do it alone. But there are a few arias I'm dying to do like that ;)

https://steemit.com/openmic/@morodiene/open-mic-week-39-o-mio-babbino-caro-by-puccini

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by morodiene from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67563.69
ETH 3470.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68