Open Mic Week 39 - O Mio Babbino Caro by Puccini

in #openmic7 years ago

Open Mic Week 39 - O Mio Babbino Caro by Puccini

Hopefully this one is recognizable for some of you. I'm singing and playing piano this time, which isn't easy for opera, so please forgive the wrong notes here and there!

This is sung in Italian, but I have the translation below in case you want to know what it's about. It's a rather touching aria sung by a girl who wishes to get married to her boyfriend, but wants her father's blessing. She really lays it on thick to her Daddy Dearest!

O mio babbino caro, Lauretta's aria from Gianni Schicchi

My dear father,
I like him, he's beautiful, beautiful;
I want to go to Porta Rossa
and buy the ring!
Yes, yes, I want to go!
And if my love is in vain,
I would go upon Ponte Vecchio (the old Bridge in Florence),
only to jump in the Arno (the river in Florence)
I long for him and torment myself
O God, I'd like to die!
Father, have pity, have pity!

Translated by Giuseppe Cusmano ([email protected])

Sort:  

Wow! Thanks for playing and singing for us at Steemit Open Mic. What a voice.

My pleasure...it's great to have people who will listen (as opposed to my kitties, who go running away on the first note).

Beautiful! It was clear, crisp and sharp. I'm not a music critic, but I know what I like!

Thank you! Welcome to Steemit! :)

Very nice voice, and thanks for the lyrics. It's amazing to be able to read along with the alternate language. Thank you!

Thank you for listening, I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

Nice work again, Erin. You have excellent tone and vibrato. Upvoted and Resteemed!

Thank you, Matt!

Great job. Not sure why this post isn't garnering as much attention as some of your other entries. Probably just got buried. I didn't notice it until now myself. I resteemed to hopefully help it gain some traction. Keep on keeping on.

Thanks, @bluerthangreen I think that's the problem - it just got buried. I really appreciate the resteem :D

Powerful voice, powerful message. Kinda wish I could understand the language. haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58720.84
ETH 3088.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41