You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What (the fuck) is "transsexuality"? (Part 1 of X)

in #identity8 years ago (edited)
transwomanborn as a girl, identifies as a boy
transmanborn as a boy, identifies as a girl

I'm pretty sure you wrote those two reversed of what they are commonly defined as.

Regarding the hysterectomy, I assume like with any surgery it comes with a lot of added risk and of course additional cost. But would it not also reduce risk, of cancers for example? Is there anything else in the trade-off that I am missing?

So would it be fair to summarize your definitions of transsexual and transgender as the following? A transsexual person is someone who is suffering from or who used to suffer (but no longer does because they received the appropriate medical attention necessary) from gender dysphoria. A transgender person is someone who has strong preferences for certain behaviors and outward expression that differ significantly from those that would be stereotypically inferred by most of society based purely on the birth genitalia of the person in question.

I tried to avoid using the phrases "man," "woman," and "gender identity" in the above definitions, because honestly those words are so vague and unclear to me within this context that they may as well be meaningless (unless you can properly define them).

Sort:  

Geez, you totally got me there. You're obviously right there and I edited the table accordingly. Stupid copy and paste of mine.

I talked a lot with my surgeon about the hysto, and she told me that there are no evidences that the cancer risk is higher if you do not intend to make this surgery. Her statement was confirmed by other transmen I talked to too, but nevertheless I also know several transman who do it preventivly nontheless.

In my opinion your definition sounds right. I like the fact that you didnt mention any of the noted terms. (I just hope that no transgender will shake his or her head in anger, if its not ;D)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60164.54
ETH 2420.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43