What (the fuck) is "transsexuality"? (Part 1 of X)

in #identity8 years ago (edited)

So I decided to tell you a little bit about my transsexual life. Where are the problems? Are there any Problems? In this first part I will try to explain what transsexuality is all about in my own words. Feel free to ask some questions!

1. What (the fuck) is "transsexuality"?

First things first. It means that you identify yourself with another gender. For example if you were born as a girl and you are transsexual, then you identify yourself with the male gender.
And it's the same the other way around. Easy, isn't it?

2. Where is the difference between "transsexual" and "transgender"?

Actually I thought that they are the same, but after three years of transition I think there is a difference. It's very hard to generalize these terms, because it seems like everyone has a different understanding of them. Well let's try it though.

In my opinion transsexual people definitely want to live the gender they identify with. So they are willing to do some surgeries in order to adapt their outer appearence to this gender. (Hello, that's me!)
In contrast to that, transgender is a gender on its own, in addition to male and female. So they don't want to be identified with some gender prejudices. Lots of people do not want to have any surgeries in this time. In the past it was necessary, but since 2011 I think, you dont need any surgeries to change your gender and your name on your pass.

3. There are so many terms!! Which to choose? Help!!

First: Don't panic! To be honest even I get angry if someone messes up with the right terms, but if you're unsure how to call a transsexual person, just ask! They will tell you the right thing for their own behalf.

Just in case some definitions for you:

TermExplanation
FtM (female to male)born as a girl, identifies as a boy
transmanborn as a girl, identifies as a boy
MtF (male to female)born as a boy, identifies as a girl
transwomanborn as a boy, identifies as a girl
cis-mana "normal" born boy
cis-womana "normal" born girl

4. What are the medical possibilities for a transsexual person?

I can only describe this way for a transman. In fact I wasn't confronted with many transwoman yet.

4.1 So first you can take testosterone.

You will often get more hair on arms, legs, back..., a deeper voice, unpurified skin, more muscles.
Fun fact: I know a variety of transman who came out as gay after starting with testosterone, even if they were real machos in women company. It's actually really funny, but I think maybe it's because they coulnd't be true to theirselves before.

Besides, there are also a lot of people who think transsexuality is about who you love and with whom to make love with, just because it ends with "sexuality". So the answer to "Sexuality?" is "I'm transsexual"??? Idiots.
So just let me tell you: Just because you're transsexual does not conclude if you're straight, gay or whatever.
(That's why "asexual" in the above pokémon meme doesn't make any sense...)

4.2 Then there's the (mostly the first) surgery: the mastektomy.

Easy to say: The female breast is removed. It's not that easy actually, but I think you get it that way.
There are many ways of doing this surgery. If you were blessed with a flat breast, you'll hardly see any scars in the future.
I'm now 2 month post surgery and it feels great!

On the next photo you can see a transsexual model. I think he had a bigger breast, so you can see the scars under his nipples.

4.3 Next one: By now not mandatory anymore - The hysterectomy

Womb (and often the ovaries too) are removed. I decided for myself, not to this kind of surgery. If you're interested why, leave a comment down below.

4.4 And lastly, top of the line: a P-E-N-I-S!

You won't believe it but there are soooo many variations for this surgery. The main goal is often to pee while standing. I don't really need that kind of superpower. I'm more interested in a piece that can stand multiple hours of sex. There is in fact a surgery for this, but you need a lot of time, with a lot of pain and there are a lot of risks. Buth there are also a lot of transman happy with their results. You then have a pump in the so-called penoid. The valves are in the testicles, which were formed out of the outer labia. So you decide how long it will stand! (Lucky for the ladies)

5. Conclusion

This was just a brief and very superficial summary of this topic. Next time I think I will write some more about emotions and today's society.
If you have any questions about this topic, feel free to ask in the comments, so I can answer them right there or in the next post.

Read you soon!

Sort:  
transwomanborn as a girl, identifies as a boy
transmanborn as a boy, identifies as a girl

I'm pretty sure you wrote those two reversed of what they are commonly defined as.

Regarding the hysterectomy, I assume like with any surgery it comes with a lot of added risk and of course additional cost. But would it not also reduce risk, of cancers for example? Is there anything else in the trade-off that I am missing?

So would it be fair to summarize your definitions of transsexual and transgender as the following? A transsexual person is someone who is suffering from or who used to suffer (but no longer does because they received the appropriate medical attention necessary) from gender dysphoria. A transgender person is someone who has strong preferences for certain behaviors and outward expression that differ significantly from those that would be stereotypically inferred by most of society based purely on the birth genitalia of the person in question.

I tried to avoid using the phrases "man," "woman," and "gender identity" in the above definitions, because honestly those words are so vague and unclear to me within this context that they may as well be meaningless (unless you can properly define them).

Geez, you totally got me there. You're obviously right there and I edited the table accordingly. Stupid copy and paste of mine.

I talked a lot with my surgeon about the hysto, and she told me that there are no evidences that the cancer risk is higher if you do not intend to make this surgery. Her statement was confirmed by other transmen I talked to too, but nevertheless I also know several transman who do it preventivly nontheless.

In my opinion your definition sounds right. I like the fact that you didnt mention any of the noted terms. (I just hope that no transgender will shake his or her head in anger, if its not ;D)

Thank you
This is great information ever for me,
as trans people i really confused about hystrectomy,
i was 1,8 year on T
my friend say that i must do the hystrectomy before 5 years on T,
is that true?

*i'am sorry my English is bad because i can not speak English well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60165.60
ETH 2421.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44