You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Steemit X-Prize - A Competition to Brainstorm Ideas for Promotion and Marketing

in #ideasfactory7 years ago (edited)

Video testimonials.

I think the easiest way and fastest way for us to market the platform would be through short videos submitted individually where we each express what Steemit is and why we like it. We could create a community incentive, like you've done here, so that users get involved. If we made it a month long event where the goal is to post your video on your own social media sites, we could start a trend across multiple platforms that should get noticed.

Personally I'm going to do this with my next Steemit Open Mic entry and post it to numerous social media sites. I've expressed the reasons why I like Steemit many times on blog posts but I think doing so more personally via a video interview would be more engaging.

Steemit is a community run by each other and that's what I like most about it. Of course there are devs working behind the scenes but ultimately it's up to us to make it thrive, and this call for promotion is just more evidence of how important community involvement is here. With Facebook censoring alternate news outlets soon, Steemit can replace that. With it already being a blogging platform with incentives for rewards, it can replace Reddit. With developers like @picokernel working on photo threads, it could replace Instagram. The list goes on. There's virtually limitless possibilities when it comes to the Steem blockchain, assuming we can continue scaling upwards. This place gives people the opportunity to show their full potential and in fact begs them to do so.

I will add my testimonial video and links as a reply to this comment once I've submitted it all. I think it's important for us to do our individual part and an incentive for video testimonials would definitely be a step in the right direction. After seeing videos from users like @beanz and @andrarchy following their experiences at @steemfest, I was inspired to do the same in regards to using Steemit for the last 5 months.

Short 3 minutes videos aimed at our own individual social networks will spread the word like wild fire.

(If my idea wins, I would like to nominate the @thirstyrecords account to receive the reward.)

Sort:  

Thanks for a great response mate. I think it is a great idea. As long as I don't have to appear on camera lol (I have a face that is suitable only for radio). Also love the uncensored news/content idea @sykochica - has already suggested that.

haha! I don't think you necessarily have to have your face in the video, you could do a video with a voice over and some screenshots of what you do on the platform. The beauty of this idea is that anyone can get involved. With the creative mindsets that we have here, I'm sure we'd see a lot of different and unique submissions. If we hosted some sort of competition for the most creative Steemit testimonial video, I'm sure everyone could get involved.

Yeah, the uncensored content/news thing is already happening so I don't think we need to promote that. Or, we could add it in our testimonials ;)

I could've done it better but in the video I give a shoutout to Steemit and its creators. I think something more along the lines of "how Steemit has worked you" would be better, but this was off the top and from a very tired man. Whether or not this idea wins your prize, I still think it's something worth creating an incentive for. I'm willing to work with you and others to make a steemit testimonial challenge happen

https://steemit.com/openmic/@senseiteekay/soul-searching-original-music-steemit-open-mic

Yes I think it is a great idea. Also you know you and thirstyrecords always have my support:)

Even if you don't win we should definitely take this forward and work together on it - the potential value from doing this is much greater than that the tiny 1MV for this. Let's wait until this is finished and we can look at plans for doing this.

I'm actually thinking of putting together a group to look at marketing ideas on an ongoing basis. Would you be interested in this?

I will put the video aside so I can give it a proper watch when I have a moment. Today has been a bit of a crazy day outside of Steemit!

Thanks :)

I'm definitely interested! I think it's something we all need to get involved in if we want to see the platform grow. We've all spent a lot of time marketing ourselves to audiences here on Steemit and now it's time for us to market Steemit and return the favor.

It's okay if you run out of time, I basically said all I need to say here anyways :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97