The SEC Says Initial Coin Offering (ICO's) Must RegistersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ico7 years ago (edited)

list

And This Ant Hill Says

You can't build any more interstates in the world. They don't like the vibrations.

ant hill.jpg
source

I was really generous with the map of influence the SEC might have. source

Cuz... An ICO has no home office, no CEO, no 1-800 number.

If it's truly decentralized, then there won't be anyone for the SEC to subpoena, indict, or charge. Kind of idiotic if you really think about it.

Somebody is out of their league.

I think the ant hill will have its way first.

I really hate posting links to news sites but here


htooms

Thanks for the read and resteem! 👍

Twitter: @at_htooms

📞 You're invited to steemspeak 📞

Sort:  

Glad I'm not the only one who thought the exact same thing. Unless they hunt down all the ICO investors to charge them, who would be at fault? How would they determine who to charge if the ICO wasn't "registered"? And what about the people that are going to use VPN services to run ICO out of the country?

That is indeed the brilliance of decentralization. Who are you gonna charge?

And shutting it down is even harder. Find those hosting the blockchain, that is to say, every wallet!
the ones not hosted on websites

The restrictions and surveillance in the US is sick. If you have more than 10000 $ in crypto you should declare when traveling to US.

This is honestly stupid. If I don't declare my $10,000 worth of crypto, I am arrested and the fund confiscated. I guess they really could confiscated prepaid cards. But how would they get my crypto? How would they obtain my private key though?

They can't charge you for buying an unregistered security, only for selling them

The land of the free just keeps taking away and taking away.

I know. I moved out many years ago. I still love my country, but last I heard it has dropped 11 more places on the list of countries with the most freedom. Sad.

I disagree, without the US the world will have lot more criminals who are not scared of the law. The btc-e shutdown is a good example. No one has the balls to shut down criminal enterprises like the us justice system does. The SEC has a goal to protect US investors. This is a much needed check to prevent all the dumb alt coins and ICOs raise a ton of money without a product

Lol... the U.S. protects investors????
Lies...
The U.S. protects the big rich investors, but anyone like you or me they feed to the sharks.
My last post completly identifies this...
Look at [Drys] on nasdaq, the U.S. doesnt give a shit...

just check who all preet bharara prosecuted b4 he was shunted.
when u have cyber criminals all around with no recourse u will be the first to plead for regulation. why do folks still use banking, upto 100k protected by fdic

Damm i really have no idea what all this is , but the ants are cool :)

If you understand the ant's chances of requesting no more construction, then you got it.

The government thinks they can control bitcoin and other digital coins.

and they can't

Sure they cannot because the people wont back up this . Every government needs the people on end :)

Maybe they manage to control in some way Bitcoin , with all segwit (AXA behind the scenes) because we can consider as modern terrorists ! But hey we can jump on any other coin right ? ;) Sorry for jumping in to your reply @patelincho , just saying my thought about it

We had a near escape with the ETF thing. They can't control Bitcoin, but if the ETF were approved, they could have manipulated the price by selling more bitcoins than exist or buying more than exist. Like with gold and silver.

Fingers crossed to fail again at the next attempted , or bail us out first at freaking nice price !! Please?! ^^t

Sounds like they feel threatened..

Yay-yuh!

I also heard the IMF is moving its HQ to China (or something like that ). The thrills of losing world reserves status. Threats everywhere!

Lol, I am curious as to how that will play out.

Government always wanna take part in everything. 😂

What they will stop them for delivering a bad product ? and price dump actually ?? They still will be registered but they can failed anytime !
From the other hand they will have someone to blame , prosecute but the money from the investors will be gone ! Am i right ?

They can only mess with the companies that deal in changing FIAT (paper) into digital currencies. They can't hurt the true digital currencies.

I agree with you, @htooms! I am following you!

I'm a big fan of ICO's, so I'm really curious what future will bring to us. I hope we will see many interesting projects and government will not interfere. I strongly believe in decentralized future of business.

I love new ideas and projects! The problem is that have not been able to play the ICO game well. As an investor primarily, I stay away. But, I do love reading and studying the innovation aspects of the ones I find interesting.

I'm a similar personality and I've found it best to partner up with people with different skillsets.

And then again ! Lets say ICO gets register under the name of the DEV team etc ! This will stop ICO's dramas ? i don't really think so.. ICO's was always high risk investment and i think they will remain the same way !

I agree that there are a lot of ICOs out there - ads for them everywhere. I hate that!

I never participate in them. I only invest in coins with at least six months of history - even then with caution.

But another comparison is all the spam that came with email when it got popular. Where was the SEC then? (or its equivalent)

I will totally agree with you !
Its been a while since my last ICO purchases STRAT, ANS , ICN and prior to that was ETH !
Was i profitable ? heck yeah ! But what i didn't like in the whole idea was my money where trapped for a long time, I could even bought more during alts winter time for a much better price, but you can't have it all right ?!

My point is i never touch ICO's i see on ad's especially on FB & thru mail ad's !

SEC is remember to take action when a ICO drama is taking place.. and ofc seeking for another reason to try to regulate the cryptoland ..!

Thanks for the recent support. Glad you are writing from time to time.

Would you post your opinion on upcoming fork and the future of BTC? Quite a lot of people are confused about it.

Ah! I don't own enough Bitcoins to be pulling out my hair. I have 30 in an old old wallet (I think). But it's stored cold and I have my private key is secure. Worst case, I end up with 60 Bitcoins at the time of the fork.

If I have any on my phone, I will cash those out into Dash which is where most of my coins went in December '16 when Bitcoin stopped working. I am glad Bitcoin almost useful again, but the arguments and drama were too much for me.

I think I've read you mentioning you like your transactions cleared in 5 minutes or less :) Dash is obvious choice. I have some litecoin because @kingscrown likes it a lot. Do you think it has a future? I am still kind of new in crypto.

I stored very little in Mycelium because I've heard you have your keys there. What I'm confused about is how to make two coins out of this one. If I transfer to BCC Cash wallet don't I lose BTC in this one as well?

Thanks for the clear reply!

LTC is a copy paste of BTC - it's solid as long as people keep mining it.

If a fork occurs, you will have double the coins. Anything pre-fork doubles (as long as you hold your private keys). With Ethereum, as an example, people with 100 suddenly had 200 (100 of each) but the value of Eth and Etc diverged quite a bit. Forks are anything but stable. Also, buying and selling hours or even days after a fork is not recommended due to network instability.

Some exchanges have promised to supply your balance on both coins, but web sites are not algorithms

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94