6 Things I Learned Exposing the AIOS ICO FRAUD.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #ico7 years ago

All in one social aios FRAUD.png

6 Things I Learned Exposing the AIOS ICO FRAUD.

It was an interesting “adventure” yesterday as I exposed the All In One Social Network (AIOS) as an** ICO FRAUD** as detailed here.

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@cryptick/help-me-report-the-all-in-one-social-networks-aios-is-an-ico-scam

I learned a few lessons I will share.

The Steemit Community Will Come Through.

I will admit I had my doubts. When I posted the initial post I did not realize the extent or the number of posts that were out there. I had seen a few. Last tally had over 40. However, it was an exciting day. I did get about 60 people upvoting my post. I managed to hold my own, the posts on Steemit promoting the ALL IN ONE SOCIAL NETWORK (AIOS) as a FRAUD have stopped. This is two days before the ICO so I think I can claim success.

Some Paid Promoters Thought it Was Legitimate

At first I thought the writers were all in on the scam. They were not. Some of them were being fooled too. When I offered proof, some of them turned around confronted the organizers with my proof in a public way.

A Little Truth Goes a Long Way

It only takes a small amount of light to defeat darkness. When I publically raised the flag on a bunch of posts and brought people to sound logical reasoning and to look at the facts themselves, the truth became apparent. It is really hard to defeat a fraudulent ICO. Now I know that most people don’t do the research. But it also took one easily provable false claim – in my case that the marketing head was not real but rather stock photography- to blow the top off this scam.

Always Act Professionally and Politely

While I habitually do this, I am aware of several attempts that saved my skin, in this exchange, that I did not learn about to later. I found my words quoted out of context to prove points. People looked at my words, attitudes and interactions in judging me. By politely and appropriately reacting; I won honest people to my side. So just keep your cool.

Scamming scammers might be a good business model

During this exchange, an accusation was made that I was blackmailing the scammers and would only take down the post if I paid 2 BTC to a bitcoin address. That thought never even occurred to me. Interestingly enough, that is about $8,000 to $10,000 USD. This is what the scammers thought was "an appropriate blackmail amount." They posted a faked screenshot of me in their forum demanding payment. Well. I didn’t do it. I didn’t even know about the forum until later. That said, it was a good lie. Morally, I object to blackmail. So I can’t do this. I also object to fraud. However, if someone else wants to do so -it might be a profitable business model. A military analyst once explained why at times a government does not get involved. They said, “What do you do when your enemy is fighting your enemy? …Sell them both guns! Let them destroy themselves.” It is possible that one of their own, who was fast thinking, attempted to blackmail them while impersonating me. If that was the case. Well I am impressed by your fast thinking. But needless to say, if the scammers start fighting the scammers, we would all be better off.

Flagging Works

Whenever you are looking at an ICO to invest in, look at all the comments –including flagged ones that are hidden. Also flag these frauds, as I did. When you flag a post several things happen. The post will be hidden. The pictures can be hidden, the comments can be hidden, money is not paid out on flagged content. In this case there are 40 posts out there I found. I flagged them, commented and linked them all back to my exposing post. That said the scammers down voted my exposing comments so many are now hidden.

Note: if some reputable individuals wants to go back and upvote these comments on all the posts it would be appreciated. It would make the comments visible again. I don't want money paid out or other misled.

Also some of these scam posts promoting AIOS still have a payout – in some cases as high as $70 because they were not flagged by a person with high enough reputation. Flagging the posts can stop the payout.
If enough people flag these STEEMIT payouts will not be made to the scammers.

Anyway thank you to everyone who stood up with me against this scam. Thanks for exposing people. I hope we have stopped lots of people from losing their money.

Follow up:
I am not quite sure how to monitor this ICO. Since most of this stuff is blockchain, and open I would also like it if someone could direct me how to see how much money they raise. I would speculate they have promoted this ICO in other places as well.

Thanks Everyone!

Sort:  

I am in their forum too, I saw a few red flags too as most of their team members pics looked too perfect to be a normal guy.
I liked the way you researched and exposed the AIOS.
Maybe they are scam or maybe not, but I will keep away myself from them and their ICO.
I would be happy if you expose a few more upcoming ICO's.
People are scammed daily in the name of ICO. Just a few pages written in the name of whitepaper, a flashy upcoming website, some people with too good careers and 10 million $ funds is ready in the name of ICO.
I do hope there are more people like you who keep exposing ICO/SCAMS.

Well, Thanks. I don't have any magic super powers. You could be an ICO scam researcher. You simple need to google everything and verify it. You pick some random fact and start verifying it. I went straight to the people. No Linked in profiles mean they are probably not real. The bad grammar was also a tipoff. If you had a real team of people sitting in a room and you went live, everyone is going to look at the website. Everyone is going to read what is under their name. The fact that bad grammar was posted showed that it was not done.

dont worry @cryptick am trying to get support to clean up steemit a bit maybe one day steemit wont be held in such high regard for the amount of scams let run wild

The Adsactly Files - 1.0 - False Curation

The Adsactly Files 1.2 - Learn ICO with me

yepp, thanks a lot.

i think it is a good idea @cryptick and i would fund what i could if you were to work more to help clean up any scam ICO's on steemit

Interesting. I am going to take that into consideration. There is a lot that I don't have figured out yet.

ICO grows like mushrooms.
Thank you for this enlightening

They said Martin Ortiz cheated them .... they asked him to make a video and talk about AIOS but he refused to do that and seems the devs were cheated ... now they are going to do a youtube live conference and they will reveal a BETA release date .... Let's see what happens

ohhh and yeah they are hiring a new marketing head

Scam ICOs hurt us all I shared and upvoted. We are designing a real social media cryptocurrency rewards platform that just partnered with Coinomi onG.Social the site is already functional without the cryptocurrency rewards implemented and was incubated by IBM. This ICO really hurts our industry trying to give back to users like Steemit the idea is possible its not all scams Steemit proved that. onG Coin will be able to be exchanged for all the coins in Coinomi's vast repertoire. We extended our ICO last week until Wednessday, check us out, give feed back I hope you enjoy the platform. :)

ICO is such a scam space I go in with a "scam unless proven otherwise" mentality.

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by isacoin from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Nice work @cryptick! I appreciate the courage and bravery of coming to the Steemit community with this information solely to protect innocent members from being scammed! Right on! I am now a faithful follower 👍🏻

Thanks. I appreciate that.

So is AIOS a part of adsactly? Just trying to understand what is being said.

Yeah. It is confusing real confusing. Adsactly was one of the promoters of the AIOS. When I broke this story, he flagged my posts and has refused to edit and correct his posts promoting the scam. Allegations have been made that he is in fact working out of several accounts. Since the community has come to the conclusion that this is a scam, people should edit posts to include this information and remove unwarranted flags. That is not being done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63483.25
ETH 2601.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81