Dimcoin: Creative Bounty Disappointment

in #ico7 years ago (edited)

So, I recently participated in my second bounty campaign, one for Dimcoin. For those of you who have read my previous posts, you will know that I was crypto-scammed by trying to purchase dimcoins and dimtokens from a community member in Bitcointalk (it was my own mistake for not using escrow and being a naïve newbie. If you are curious, you can read my post How I was crypto-currency scammed).

Anyway, Dimcoin was an ICO I missed by a few hours when I was first learning about crypto-currencies, and it seemed like a good project, so after never receiving my coins and tokens from the user I purchased from, I jumped at the opportunity of participating on a post ICO bounty campaign and earning some Dimcoin. I also loved that this was a Creative Bounty Campaign.

DImcoinJetsons.jpg

The terms of the creative bounty were pretty straightforward: “Participants will be paid 1000 – 25000 into their Nano/DEPOTWALLET depending on the creativity and originality of their creation. The more creative, the more DIMCOIN!” The only big no-no was using “team member’s faces in your illustrations”, which I didn’t do. I focused more on using well known cartoon characters as I figured that would make them funnier.

Screen Shot 2017-10-08 at 10.49.19 PM.png

Because I really wanted to earn Dimcoin, I submitted 25 images (you can view them here) and registered all of them individually on their form as indicated (you can check the spreadsheet here (user: AllyCN). I figured the more images, the more I would earn (I also suspected I wouldn’t earn top prize for them because they were images and other people might do gifs, videos, etc. or just in case some would not count because they were seen as too basic, even though I was still within the guidelines). The team ended up picking 5 of my images as their favorites (even though surprisingly some of the ones they picked were not my faves, but it is a matter of personal liking and I am glad they liked them).

Screen Shot 2017-10-08 at 11.45.24 PM.png

You can see the images the team picked as their faves here, and I have included images from the 5 they picked from mine in my imgur Dimcoin Creative album. This is one of the ones they picked:

DimcoinLightbulb.jpg

However, what I did not expect was to only get awarded 5,000 dimcoins for my 25 illustrations. The reply I got from the team was even worse: “The same applies to you, you were paid a collective amount for all the illustration and not for individual images. I hope it is now clear. Don’t hesitate if you have more questions.” (they say the same applies to you because another member also had the same question).

Screen Shot 2017-10-08 at 11.36.24 PM.png

Well Dimcoin team, it is certainly not clear. Yes, you might have mentioned that on the "payout message" (haven't checked that), but nowhere in the terms of the creative bounty did you mention that a collective amount would be granted for the creations (if you were surprised at the number of submissions members did, then you should have put a limit to that early on or set up a deadline).
I assumed that by creation you meant submission (since you had an individual submission form, not a collective one), which is why I submitted my 25 images independently, by filling out the form each time, and not as a collective work. Again, I would understand if not all of them counted for whatever reason, but even if at least 10 – 12 out of the 25 were good enough, I would have expected to be awarded between 1000 – 25000 for each of those creations as the terms read. Now, since you excitedly also mentioned “The more creative, the more DIMCOIN!” I would have thought that is 5 of my creations were picked as your team's favorites, that meant they would have received a higher award, but that didn’t happen. If feels as if I got the lowest award possible for the 5 you picked and that is not how the bounty was advertised. Making this change at the end of the bounty campaign, without notifying the participants beforehand would be like paying a lower number of stakes to Avatar & Signature bounty campaign participants because you felt like it and only letting them know in the payout messages. Members would not accept that, and they would destroy your trust ratings. This is wrong, and reduces your credibility. If you change the terms in something so simple, how can investors be sure you won’t change the terms of your ICO as it better suits you, or even worse, scam them? Where is the security you advertise on your whitepaper?

I hope someone from your team actually replies and fixes this problem. As recommended, I replied again on their creative bounty thread on October 5th, but have yet to get a reply.

Ally

PS. Links to some of my previous articles (I also have some available in Spanish in case you are interested):

Sort:  

I'm not from Dim team, but i don't understand your disappointment... Why should they give you more? Because you think that your art was better than others? Maybe they thinks that all of your works was average? I think 5000 from 1000-25000 is pretty good. Maybe they wanted more single good-quality artworks instead of 100 less-quality? I'm not judging your artworks(in fact right now i have turned off pictures in my chrome, so i'm 100% objective). They just didn't wanted a situation, where every single people send them 200 crappy images made in paint in 10 second. I'm not telling, that you did that, maybe all of your works took you 1 hour each, but you seems disappointed by the fact, that you've sent them 25, and got only 5000. I don't think that was their point(to have as much pictures as they can)...

My disappointment is because their bounty offered that "Participants will be paid 1000 – 25000 into their Nano/DEPOTWALLET depending on the creativity and originality of their creation.", so that means people should have received at least 1000 Dim per creation but they changed the terms without letting participants know beforehand (they never mentioned a collective amount in their conditions, had that been the case I would not have been disappointed).
In no way do I think my "art" was better than others, cause some people did super cool stuff (I even say that I was surprised that some of the ones they picked as their favorites are the ones I liked the least). If they thought it was average they should have awarded the lowest amount per submission and I would have been fine with that. Also if they didn't want a situation were every single person sent them 100 or 200 crappy images they should have a set a limit of submissions per person in their bounty terms (like other campaigns do), but they didn't.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 64536.58
ETH 2626.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83