My Very First DIY Hydroponics SystemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #hydroponics6 years ago (edited)

Somewhere in the fall of 2015 I stumbled upon an article about hydroponics that really sparked my interest. The fact that you could successfully grow veggies and herbs, without attending to them everyday (yes, I’m forgetful) and without soil (I don’t own a garden), made me, once again, very enthusiastic about the idea of growing my own food.

I have been trying to successfully grow plants my whole adult life, but I just never really got the hang of it. So I decided I had a black thumb and the interest in growing my own food faded. Until that article, that is. Now, I’m more enthusiastic about it than ever before, because hydroponics really works well for me. I’m growing lettuce and herbs, plants from seeds of store-bought fruit, zucchinis, all kinds of chili peppers, tomatoes, basically any fruit or vegetable I can get my hands on!

14484862_10211199505963574_1173617953143342048_n.jpg

This article tells you how I started out. It is a very simple setup and I hope it will encourage you to start with hydroponics yourself. A lot of people also have much more noble reasons for growing their own food this way; it uses much less resources than a traditional vegetable garden, thus environmental friendly, ecological responsible, less food miles, healthier food, etcetera. Whatever your reasons are, I hope this article will help you get started (and please let me know if it does, I would love to hear from you!).

The name for this hydroponics method is Kratky. The Kratky method is extremely simple; as your plants grow, they use up the water with dissolved minerals in their container. As the roots of your plants grow longer and the water in your container lowers, it creates an air gap, providing air to roots that are no longer submerged. This way the plant is able to get the air, water and food it needs to grow into a healthy plant. Without you paying any attention to it, mind you. Seriously, you could go on a trip for 3 weeks and find fresh salads in your window sill when you return.

14591818_10211350038046782_8289399850618750535_n (3).jpg

What you need for this:

a plastic (foodgrade) container with a lid, at least 4 inches deep
a hole drill, large enough so that your cups will fit
a couple of plastic cups
a soldering iron
clay pellets
some young plants, preferably herbs and/or lettuce
a water-soluble fertiliser

img_0348-1024x768.jpg
6 chili peppers in my Kratky system

  • Drill a few holes in the lid of the container.
  • Keep in mind that your plants are growing, the container should be able to hold appr. 1 gallon of water per plant
  • With the hot soldering iron, poke a lot of holes in the bottom halfs of your plastic cups
  • Do this outside the house and do not inhale the fumes, it's really gross and not very healthy
  • Fill your container with water and add the water-soluble fertiliser (Masterblend has a good one, but there are also liquid fertilisers available from Miraclegrow, for example)
  • Place the lid on top of the container
  • Place the cups in the holes
  • Carefully remove as much soil as possible from the roots of your plants
  • Fill the holes with clay pellets and your plants, careful not to damage the roots
  • Make sure that at least half of the roots of your plants are in the water
  • Place it in a spot with as much sunlight as possible (a south-facing window for example)
  • Watch it grow and cut your herbs and salad leaves whenever you feel like it

And last, but not least: take pictures, write a blog and show me your results! :)

Sort:  

This looks amazing! I love fresh greens! I think I might try this in my kitchen window. I love it, thank you!

My herbs always die, especially basil. I have no plants in my house because of it. I have a beautiful garden where the plants thrive so this could be the solution to have some herbs in the house (which I would like because dutch winters). Thank you for sharing

This systems works great with basil. Give it a try!

Does this method require any kind of pump? My experience with hydro has always used either an air or water pump.

Hi @aisu, no it doesn't! That's so great about this system, it is basically 'set it and forget it'. Best to take a dark container btw. Too much light causes algae to grow inside your container, but in a dark container this doesn't happen.

I have a aquaponics system too this weekend ill make a post of it i allready made a dtube video of it on my englisch account this is my dutch account. I do it complete with fisch etc.

That's great, I will follow you so I can read your post :) Love aquaponics too, but I do my ponics outside and I'm afraid the fish would freeze unless you have a very large tank, the weight of which would be a problem on my rooftop.

What is your English account @greendelivernl?

It is in my website link

Looks really good. Thanks for replying to my comment on your other post to let me know that you wrote this one. We don't have great windows to put plants in because of the way our house is situated but have several raised beds in the back yard. Once my wife has finished using the grow lights to get this years seedlings up, I'm going to be starting hydraponics using the Kratky method. I figure I've got a month to get it all figured out.

In the mean time, start some herbs and leafy greens in rockwool cubes. That way, you don't end up with a ready-to-go Kratky system, but no seedlings to put in it :)

You have received an upvote from @livesustainably. I promote and curate content that encourages and educates others in living sustainably. You can support the live sustainably cause on Steemit by upvoting, resteeming and creating content under the tag #livesustainably.

You can also benefit and support the cause by using the upvote bot @greengrowth.

Minimum bids from 0.01 SBD! The early adopters of this new bot have been receiving 100% upvotes! Wow!

Thank you!

Very cool! First time that I've read about hydro system that's not overwhelming, great project for newbys! I'm going to try setting up this kratky method system next weekend! Thanks for inviting us into your laboratory! :)

That's great to hear @medicinewheel! Make sure to show your results on Steemit :)

love this!

Ik heb zon bakjes van de Indiase afhaal
had nooit nagedacht om zo te gebruiken

btw am not organic Dutch
but if you use the #nl or #dutch tag you'll find most of them there
and sorry for the late reply had been busy

I hope you have a blast here
keep going!

Hi @englishtchrivy, that's good to know! Thanks for the tip, will definitely include a #dutch tag in my next post :)

I love this post! Your plants look so happy. I'm glad you are getting the results you've been wanting. Looks easy enough to maybe setup for my mom to try. Thanks for sharing!

Do try @phedizzle, and make sure to share the results on Steemit! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61275.32
ETH 2983.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76