My new vertical linear hydroponic system - part 2

in #hydroponics6 years ago

This is finishing up the new hydro system that I've started here.

The hardest and most annoying part of this project was cutting the holes in the pipes.
10.jpg

I've done 3 of them in total and used a separate one as the main water downpipe.
11.jpg

There's 20 plant slots on each pipe(10 on each side), about 60 in total because a few of them aren't accessible due to the frame blocking some.
12.jpg

I simply connected a new water line to existing dutch bucket irrigation system.
14.jpg

Drilled a small hole in each pipe and tied everything in place with some wire. The top one is blocked for now until I get another endcap.
16.jpg

Routed the water back to the reservoir.
17.jpg

The plants will be held in 50mm water pipe. I still need to find out the best length for them, for now they're 12 cm long.
18.jpg

Drilled a few holes in each for air circulation and to make it easier for the roots to get easier access to water.
19.jpg

And ... here it is.
20.jpg

I don't have any seedlings so I've moved a few salads from the buckets to see how they'll do.
21.jpg

Hope they'll like it in he pipes and won't suffer too much after being moved in there where the only grow media is water.
22.jpg

I've started a few seedlings. Basil, parsley, lettuce. Lined some 50mm pipe with a microgreen mat in order to hold the cococoir and gave them a nice home in a bucket, heh.
20180423_140737_HDR.jpg
20180423_145335.jpg

Aaaand... that's a wrap.

Cheers

Sort:  

That's pretty dang sweet. So you have them in that vertical stack (obviously for space reasons); do you think they'll be hindered at all by having to grow 'sideways at an angle' for a bit before going upwards?

Randomly thinking, what if your vertical rack was at a slight angle, and thus your pipes could be turned so the stalks are straight vertical?

Or am I overthinking it?

Thank you
The one you're thinking off is an A frame hydro design and it works great.

I was a bit greedy so I've got holes on both side of each pipe. I've tried to copy these guys. What might make it better could be using slightly longer pipes to hold the plants so they're not touching the soil pipes, but that's easy enough to test for.

I don't think the plants will have issues with growing at an angle, I've seen so many videos of people doing it in all kind of styles. Have a look at BrightAgrotech who have been growing with great success straight from the side of a vertical pipe as well.

Hello @costopher,

Wanted to let you know that you been picked up for my weekly curation digest on the topic of sustainability.

Your post will be Upvoted and REsteemed by @msp-curation bot on behalf of MSP.

Thanks for writing awesome content and if you have some time, make sure to check out some of the other posts from this week.

Sustainability Curation Digest #6 🍒 🦋🌴 by Carpedimus - MSP

Keep up with the great work :) and thanks for sharing!

Thank you @carpedimus ! I was wondering what happened to my post. I enjoyed reading the posts you've chosen, that's some great stuff there!

Cheers

You are more then welcome!

Make sure to share some update photos, I am really curious to see how it all turns out.

I am actually have a few similar systems installed a week or so ago in our new place, will be sharing a post about it soon :)

Nice meeting you :)

There will be updates, don't worry about that, hah!

I've seen the pic of the white tube system you've got. I'm curious about the water level and watering type/schedule. I don't like how my lettuce roots are looking a week after living in the new system, not sure yet if it's a problem.

Anyway, I'll be definitely keeping an eye out for your new posts!

Cheers man

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56677.48
ETH 2329.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36