My new vertical linear hydroponic system - part 1

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

It's been almost a year since I got the materials for this system but never got round to actually build it. Well the day has finally come, heh! The inspiration for this were many a youtube videos. Initially I wanted something akin to what BrightAgrotech designed in their Zipgrow series but in the end I tried to ape the UberGro system. The decision was made because the latter seemed a lot simpler to pull off.

I've started with 110mm soil pipes. Cut them down into 2 metre lengths.
1.jpg

Built a simple frame for them.
2.jpeg

For the endcaps I went for some flexible rubber fittings. They're pricey but seem to work well enough.
4.jpg

Drilled a small hole and pushed a length of water pipe through for the water to flow out. The rubber gives a really good seal that doesn't leak. The whole thing can be twisted around to modify the water level in each pipe, went for a low central position as this seemed ok.
5.jpg

I've used a 50mm water pipe to make a manifold that collects the water from the horizontal pipes.
6.jpg
7.jpg
8.jpg

At the other end I've blocked the top pipes and used a simple endcap that I've drilled into in order to attach the return pipe.
9.jpg

That's the main bit done for now.

Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56800.55
ETH 2331.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34