You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Versions of Hurt... A guy named Johnny sells some Nine Inch Nails for Cash and receives some Sevendust

in #hurt8 years ago

One of my favorite songs, and I love that it only seems to get better when people record it in their own styles. I remember the day I first heard the Johnny Cash version, back when MTV had music. I was speechless and after I watched that entire video, I got my happy little ass on my dial up internet connection and bootlegged it from Limewire or whatever P2P was going on at that point. I don't encourage stealing music, it's free enough now anyway, but it was so powerful and I didn't have the means to actually buy the song/album back then. I must have listened to the Cash version a thousand times and still do from time to time. So raw and guttural it just scratches at your emotions. I knew he was going to die soon when I listened to him singing that song, I don't know if I'm the only person that felt that, but I never felt that from NIN performing it.

Sort:  

I think Cash version is definitely the best and most emotional performance. It seems Trent Reznor agrees on that point too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58630.93
ETH 2517.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35