Mentor an African Child Initiative (MACI): Free Digital Skill Training for Low Income Kids

in #humanity6 years ago (edited)

Here again Steemians. Welcome to my blog. The past few weeks have been a very busy period for me doing so many things at the same time. Making impact in my community and also ensuring that I invest in personal development.
As many are already aware, I am a volunteer teacher and I have committed two years of my life to teach kids from low income community who are also attending underserved schools.


Why is this important to me? Well, I do tell people who ask me why I am so passionate about kids from rural areas and my response always begin with “I was once like them” and only a few of us during my time made it out. What about the rest? I wish we had some people who could have helped us all develop capacity like the kids from urban areas and high income schools are enjoying. This post is not about the past, it is about the future of wish I am passionate about.


maci_logo_white.jpg



I founded MACI to assist kid in underserved schools develop skills in various areas. This is to make them a complete and viable child in an ever competitive world.
At MACI, we work with kids from low income communities (Abeokuta at the moment) and we provide them with training and support in different areas. We are giving them opportunities that are available to their counterparts in high income schools.


Our training covers: Digital skills, entrepreneurship, music, science and technology for innovation and as many unique areas we can find people to mentor the kids.

I believe that collectively as youths, we can help develop our kids to become solution providers and bridge the access to diversity between low and high income kids.

Trans-generational impact in which the youths of today help the future generation to develop their potential for a society marred with many challenges craving for new thinkers


IMG_20180323_121820.jpg

IMG_20180323_122444.jpg

[Images from the last training held in March]

Six kids are already on our digital skill mentorship program. They were selected from the last mass training we had in March.


Second Edition of MACI digital equity training for kids in low income communities

We are looking at training 60 kids and our expected outcome is that the kids will learn how to use the computer systems, its parts, and the basics of coding and there will be projects to be done in groups by the kids on the last day.
This 3 days coding boot camp for kids will involve kids from 14 government primary schools in Abeokuta, Ogun State.
Date: 28th-30th June, 2018
Venue: St Anne's RCM, Okeilewo, Abeokuta, Ogun state.

This is a free training program.



Thank you for visiting my blog and reading my post. I am at @obamike and a receiving teacher working with @openschool project. The open school project aims at making quality education available to students at every corner of the world. You don’t have to be a teacher to be part of this project. You can join us here on discord to find out more, and also visit our YouTube channel.

Sort:  

Dear Leader, @obamike.
My country, my generation and me are proud and previlaged to have you as one of us.
I take pride in the knowledge that folks like us still exist.
I can't tell the joy I hold within my heart knowing that the kids at Abeokuta would be solution providers tomorrow and not problem creators because you @Obamike came their way.

This is what I'm doing in my own little space. https://steemit.com/contest/@sammy0/it-freaks-me-out-to-think-we-might-fail-contest-entry-averageoutsider

I hope we can connect and help each other.

God bless you Sir.
God bless the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Thank you @sammy0. It is a good feeling knowing that more people are providing solutions to solve the challenges facing us a nation. I will check out your work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89