IT FREAKS ME OUT TO THINK WE MIGHT FAIL. Contest entry @averageoutsider

in #contest6 years ago

IMG-20180513-WA0019.jpg

Hello friends, I had already written an easy for this contest on the topic "Feel or Felt Like an Outsider" (one I'd love you to read) and was hoping to upload it soon until something very overwhelming happened.
The fear that encapsulate my little fragile heart now bringing to life many feelings I never knew existed or rather, feelings I had only felt a long time ago (when I hosted the first leadership conference for exclusive 100 young leaders within my State -Abia State, Nigeria).

That fear engulfed me again when one of my teammates, my right hand man -a photographer said he'll not be available for our proposed meeting on Saturday.
Dr. Becky another committed volunteer, had earlier sent an SMS that she had to journey to Lagos and wouldn't be available.
It is a meeting with the Nigerian Association of the blind Abia State chapter. I and my teammates (all volunteers) are trying to reduce the rate at which people go blind in our country by 85% targeting one state at a time in a 3 months active campaign every year starting from 1st July to 11th Oct.

IMG-20180603-WA0023.jpg
It's the first of its kind. We learned through research that 341 people are blind in the world according to World Health Organization (WHO) and more than 80% are in developing countries. That leaves Nigerian with 1.5 million blind people and 9 million visually impaired persons.
The leading cause of this life and destiny destroyer includes River blindness, cataract, diabetes and glaucoma. All these 4 leading causes of blindness are avoidable as stated by National prevalence study of blindness in Nigeria. Same data says that by 2025 the number of victims will increase by 40%.
It was is a disturbing discovery for me so I began to mobilize and gather volunteers.
We hope to achieve this goal with two missions:
-Combat avoidable blindness.
-Empowering the already blind folks.

IMG-20180531-WA0027.jpg
We had to break it down to 5 small goals to help us achieve this:
-Validate the library for the blind schools.
-Providing the blind children with enough food supplies to aid their health and academics.
-Teach the blind adults some special entrepreneurial skills.
-Provide 300 statesmen with free eye care treatment.
-Host the world sight day March on 11th October.

This mission is something way too big for me to carry I've tried to convince myself that it's not in my place but it doesn't feel right. My spirit seem not to accept it and wouldn't let go.

Many persons including Mentors had said to me, you can't do this Sam and that breaks my little heart.
Friends said "My friend, you just graduated from school and you don't want to go for service. Nah wah for you ooo". I've fought with Dad a couple of times about this but still I don't understand why I can't let go.
There are a few persons however that still believes in the vision.

"It's not about me" I keep telling them. "It's about these underprivileged people"

Screenshot_20180626-153545.png
We've registered a few success too.
Currently have 2 eye care foundations willing to care for 300 people.
We have more than 46 volunteers ready to donate and give their best.
We have 4 optometrist and 2 medical practioners ready to serve.

But sometimes when I take a holistic view of what I'm struggling with, my little heart fails.
I felt exactly this way during the 100 young leaders conference I organized to help young people understand that leadership isn't about us as our present leaders had made us believed. Leadership is about a loyal service to others. I was afraid nobody would come for that event and it took the life out of me.

This time, it seem as though my fears just took a quantum leap into something more than what meets the eye.

Honestly? I'm afraid! I'm freaked out!
I'm a bit comfortable expressing myself here than before a team of mothers, fathers and friends who are under my leadership to help them help the blind.

One said to me "Thank you Sam. For giving me an opportunity to fulfill a side vision, to quench a burning passion that my work wouldn't give me time to attend to"

So yes! I'm afraid that it wouldn't be a success.
I'm afraid that they'll laugh at me.
I'm afraid that the decision to forget NYSC this year and help the blind folks would all be a waste.
I'm afraid that the team will soon become overwhelmed and leave me alone on this.
I'm afraid we might not get the help we seek.

Dear steemit, I wish to use this opportunity also to ask for you support in any possible way you can. Nothing is impossible when we stand together. In my country, 4 of every 5 blind persons survives and live a life of hell on earth. Wishing they'd died.
I plead with us to remember that before being a woman, man, or whatever tag we've chosen to label ourselves with, we are humans first. Nothing is too little until the job is done.

I've created a steemit account for this project and will soon flag it off. @savedblind
But you can find us at facebook, instagram and twitter @projectsavedblind.

I feel better now telling my story here.
The show must go on!!!

Thanks for reading.
God bless you.

My entry for the NEW 'Outsider' Pic-a-Topic Writing Contest by https://steemit.com/@averageoutsider

Sort:  

Amazing project you have going There are times you will be discouraged, don't let the dream die.
Kudos

Many thanks dear.
I find strength in your words...
It is my philosophy that we are created to live less for ourselves and more of us to others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54114.77
ETH 2331.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13