Thing Two You Need to Know Right Now to Get Attention on Steemit! Part 2 of 4

in #howto6 years ago

There's a sucker born every minute!

This famous quote is attributed to P.T. Barnum, the subject of the new musical, The Greatest Showman, although there is no historical evidence to support his ever having said it. In fact, in light of his astute understanding and appreciation for his audiences, one has to wonder.

When it comes to drawing a crowd, no greater master class could ever exist than to study Barnum's work.

From being a lowly tailor's son, he managed to cross deeply entrenched class lines to become a world famous promoter and producer. For over 100 hundred years, his circus toured the world, and only closed just this last year, decades after his death.

So, what can we learn from Barnum? I'll sum it up in this:

THING # 2 Know How to Make Your Audience Happy.

Here's another quote from Barnum, that we know he said, "The noblest art is the art of making others happy"

I don't know about you, but as a kid, one of my favorite things was when the circus came to town. The modern traveling circus was almost entirely an invention of Barnum and those who worked with him. The circus made me happy.

To this day, when the State Fair of Oklahoma rolls around, just a mile from my house, I look forward to this tiny Italian family circus that comes and sets up their tent every year. Under that canvas, magic happens. They are master show people in the tradition of Barnum, every sight, every sound, every word every motion directed at one thing, the delight and engagement of an audience.

Here's three ways to make that happen.

###

1. Appeal to their curiosity

Barnum started his career with a wax museum. In it, he featured some of the most bizarre, tantalizing, and outrageous things ever known to man.

But, among all his curiosities, the one that made him the most money was his world famous "Egress"

Visitors to Barnum's museum would pay a nickel to see all the sites, and peppered throughout the exhibits, were wildly colorful signs in the tradition of the day. But, one among them stirred more curiosity than any of the others.

Winding through the myriad of monsters and strong men, mermaids and historical figures, signs indicating, "This way to the egress!" and "Don't miss the GREAT Egress!" led visitors on a chase. In fact, many skimmed right by lesser attractions, intent on the idea that if Barnum put this much time and energy into promoting it the EGRESS was worth seeing!

Finally they'd arrive at a door marked with a question mark and a sign saying, "Through this door lies the Great Egress! FREE!

And through they would go, to find, to their chagrin that "exit" was in fact, the only meaning of "egress" and they were now standing in the alley behind the museum.

So, back they'd go, demanding re-entrance, which they were graciously granted, for a second nickel!

But, did they go out and tell everyone that Barnum was a huckster? Well, some did, it's how he got that reputation, but even more, laughed it off, enjoyed the museum and sent friends there, telling them to make sure to see the Great Egress!

Three ways to pique curiosity on Steemit!

  1. Great headlines
  2. Awesome preview images
  3. Keep them reading, by doling out your goodies in multiple part stories and articles!

2. Network Like a Circus Boss

Barnum was famous for getting audiences with famous and influential people. On a tour of Great Britain, he was invited to meet the queen. Wanting to make a big impression, Barnum thought through things and people he might bring along to make a connection with the queen.

While modern thought varies on his use of people like Tom Thumb, there is no doubt that Barnum did much to improve upon lives that might have been hard and lonely. Tom Thumb, the world's smallest man (so called by Barnum) was one of them. This diminutive dwarf traveled and performed with Barnum for years. Barnum thought the queen might enjoy him.

So he brought Tom Thumb to the palace and introduced him to the queen. She loved him, and in return, introduced Tom Thumb, and by extension, Barnum, to the royalty of Europe! A move that went a long way to legitimizing Barnum's show!

Networking on Steemit is a MUST! Without the votes of larger accounts, and a larger number of followers, not only are large payouts out of the question, your work is unlikely to be read, or seen.

Here are three Great Ways to Network on Steemit!

  1. Comment, comment, comment, reply to comments and comment some more.
  2. Use @ mentions in your work to promote the work of others!
  3. Join Groups like Minnow Support to provide mutual support and gain votes and followers.

3. Reach for the Brass Ring!

Barnum was always improving and growing. Even forty years into his career, he was innovating. He'd been doing circus for decades, when in his sixties, he risked it all on a new concept, the biggest show ever! A three ring circus!!

Here on steemit, bigger is better. If you're going, you might as well go all the way! Half measures will get you some attention, and might grow an audience over a long period of time, but you're on the ground floor here and rising to the top NOW is the best way to ensure your place as competition increases.

So, here are three great ways to up the ante on your steemit game!

  1. Set big goals and make them public, like @markrmorrisjr is doing with his "U Pick the Story, I Write it" contest.
  2. Engage your audience to help you, and reward them lavishly! Offer whatever you've got! If you use Steemplus, you can even split rewards from posts!
  3. Brand yourself with graphics, images and phrases that are recognizable. Become the ringmaster of your blog, and welcome everyone to contribute in the comments.

Read Part 1 of this series!

I support @dolphinschool

Sort:  

I like this post, my friend, and I will say that it's that's cool

hey, great! Did I miss your upvote?

Most definitely you gonna keep missing that upvote until you learn how not to ask for it. You only merit it!

Listen, Dula, maybe you missed the part where he didn't read the post and took the top comment slot, hoping to spam his way into a small upvote, but, here's some advice, don't come into my comment thread and try to school me.

I don’t understand the comments regarding upvotes.... if I like something, I typically upvote it even before I comment. It doesn’t cost ME anything to upvote.. so it’s so weird to me that comments that say NICE don’t upvote. Just sayin.

Thank you. I just hate it when they spam the top slot, coattailing into the conversation, hoping to get a small upvote.

Another great post. You make good points, and I admire your capability of making those points in the way they you do (hm, my English appears to be too limited to really express what I mean... I should work on that.)

I think setting those big goals and going public with them is a good tactic, but to actually be able to do so is a matter of personality, I think. I think you should either be really sure of yourself, or be a good bluffer, and I’m neither... lol

Then why reward the guy talking smack to me about asking for the upvote by a coattail rider getting the top comment spot, when it looks like he didn't even read the article? I guess I don't get that, Mike.

I just thought the comment was funny. It sounded like something I could have said. To be honest, I didn’t pay attention to the first comment. I just agreed with the person I upvoted.
It happens quite often that I’m short on voting power. If that happens, I do comment, but don’t upvote. And although you asked in a nice way, I think you went a bit out of line by asking. (I should have read the first comment, though. Sorry, my mistake)

Wonderfully done, @steemgoblin! I like how you related PT Barnum's success to creating your own success here on Steemit. I have got to try one of these multi-part posts. I think they would be amazing for increased views and upvotes.

Thanks. I think what @dolphinschool does, with launching them five minutes apart to "own" a category is a really gutsy, but bold way to go.

What was good about the post? Leaving generic comments could be seen as spam and flagged as such by other members of the community.

How to Avoid Being Flagged for the Wrong Comment!

Thank You! ⚜

Exactly! I especially hate it when they get the top comment slot to try and get upvotes and replies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62963.68
ETH 3115.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89