THUMBNAIL AND TITLE PICTURES. Here is a fast and easy way to make yours look amazing!

in #howto7 years ago (edited)

MAKES.png

The first picture in you post is always used as the thumbnail of your post, it must be an appealing picture that catches everyone's attention. If it's dull and boring they might skim over the picture and title and never even click on your post. In this guide I want to show you a fast and easy way to make a great first picture that you can use as your title picture for you post. Let's go!

Test 2.png

What site to use - Canva.com

I found a website that I now use all the time when I have to make a title or 1st page for my posts. Canva is fast and easy to use. It has all the features you need to make a great picture and after registration (free) it will save your templates. So after a while you can re-use old templates and modify them the way you want.

Here is a step by step guide on how to make your picture. To make it super simple, let's make this post's first picture.

Test 2.png

Step 1 - Create Your Canvas

Go to Canva and click on Create a design in the top left corner.

canva 1.png

We now have the option to use on of the many designs provided, but the problem here is that some of the dimensions of these already made templates are not the right dimensions for the Steemit Thumbnail picture. We will skip these and click on Use custom dimensions in the top right corner.

Step 1.png

The perfect dimensions we are looking for are 800 x 480 the hit Design!

Step 2.png

Test 2.png

Step 2 - Background

Step 22.png

Now that you have your canvas we will start by adding some pictures, text and other elements to bring your picture to life!

Let's start with a background. Click on BACKGROUND tab on the left. Pick one that you like. We can also upload pictures and use them as backgrounds but for the sake of this tutorial I will use a simple one. This one will work just fine. I like the color.

222.png

Test 2.png

Step 3 - Text

Hmmm... This post now needs a title. Let's call it THUMBNAIL AND TITLE PICTURES - FAST AND EASY

Let's add some text. Look for the TEXT button on your left. As you can see there are many options we can pick from, I like to keep mine simple. After you selected the type of text you want to use you can still tinker with fonts, sizes and colors. If you want you can also rotate your text. Your canvas, your choices!

3333.png

Title done, let's move on.

Test 2.png

Step 4 - Adding a Picture

Picture time! What shall we use? The STEEMIT logo of off course! Google "Steemit logo" and find the logo under images. Something you have to look out for is that the background must be clear (invisible). If it's not you might end up with a square white block that has the logo on it and that just makes your picture look horrible. Below is and example of what you need to look for.

4.png

After you saved your picture you can drag and drop the picture onto the Canva UPLOAD menu located on your left. It will be uploaded and ready to use. (Ignore those sexy pictures of me in the background, it's for my 100 Day Fitness/Health Challenge here on Steemit.)

44.png

Now that we have our picture uploaded we can click on it and it will be added to your canvas. We can rotate, resize,
and move it forward or backward in our canvas.

444.png

Test 2.png

Step 5 - Play around and have Fun

We are pretty much done with the important things, I am no graphic designer so this guide is very basic. Let's add some other elements to it. The ELEMENTS option on your left will let you add lines, shapes, frames etc. Let's spruce it up a bit.

555.png

I have now changed the size of the Steemit logo, made it transparent and then moved it behind my text. Also took a cool looking circle from the elements/shape tab and put it behind the Steemit logo. Latly I added some corner frames.

Test 2.png

Step 6 - Download and Use!

When you are finally finished with all your final touches just hit Download in the top right corner and use it as the first image in your post!

Done.png

Test 2.png

That was pretty easy right!? Once you learn exactly how Canva works it goes really fast and it's super easy. My picture was very simple, but you can go crazy with your designs! Have fun!

Test 2.png

Feel free to check out one of my other guides on how to use Markdown Editing in Steemit.

Pimp Your Post with this Simple Cheat Sheet! Just COPY and PASTE!

Cheat Sheet of how to use the Markdown Editor in Steemit. I live by this Sheet when it comes to writing posts, makes everything so much faster and easier.

Test 2.png

Test 2.png

Thank you for reading and Steem on Steemians!

@scrooger.png

Sort:  

Thanks so much for sharing,

You are welcome! Hope it can help some users!

I'm also South African and I'm completely new to cryptocurrency, steemit and the works. Any chance that you could guide me? From scratch? If you have the time?

@yvonnebraaf, I am also a newbie here but I love learning about Steemit. Shoot any and all questions my way and I will always try my best to help. Try to add @scrooger to any comments you want to direct to me. That allows me to see your comments and follow them. Wil help wherever I can. =) Welcome/Welkom!

Kan ons afrikaans praat, my vrae is so dom, lol

@yvonnebraaf
Natuurlik! Uhm, dis moeilik om hier als te post. (ek gaan bietjie engels en afrikaans meng, ek praat meestal engels hier so my afrikaans is bietjie rusty) Ek dink dit gaan beter werk as jy die DISCORD app download (vir rekenaar of foon) daar kan ons mekaar pm en als baie makliker maak! Ek stel voor volg die link dan as jy klaar is kan ons makliker daar gesels.

waiiiiiit a minute... That's african ?

I can understand nearly everything !!

How the hell has no one informed me that whichever african dialect this is, is either a derivative of (or the ancestor of) the scandinavian languages ?!?

Afrikaans. Yes, spoken mainly in South Africa. We mix and match a lot and some things are very easy to understand. A lot of the grammar is the same too! Mate it's been fun! Congrats on making it to round two! Hope you have a good one, I'm off to bed! Google time in South Korea, this Fork has kept me up for too long! Til next time!

Scandinavian languages? Afrikaans is a derivative from Dutch. How close is Dutch to Scandanavian languages?

Pretty close, I think.
We do only have, like, 3-5 big language roots on the planet, so I might have read a bit much into me being able to actually understand most of what they were talking about XS

Damn... Guess that's my TIL fact of the day/month XO

I Love canva! I've been using it for years!

I only recently discovered it and I must admit now I can't go without it!

Hey scrooger,

Yep, still just going through your guides haha.

I'm going to be adding a better title image to my posts too. Thanks for the dimensions and inspiration.

Canva looks good but I've been using Pixlr to create some of my Instagram content anyone wants another 'Photoshop light' type easy alternative.

You are most welcome and thank you so much. I will go check pixlr. Always interestes in fast and easy ways to create content. Thanks a lot! Have a great weekend

ooooo, thanks for this info, it really came handy! Again ThaNKS !! aloha Al

I always used to wonder about the custom messages and pictures created by people in their blogs or for profile. This article makes it easy to create some interesting signature block. Thanks. Upvoted

Would love to see more posts from you. Following you. Please feel free to follow me and see my posts today if you like interesting wildlife pictures with a story like this one https://steemit.com/portraitcontest/@vm2904/portraitcontest-baboon-reflecting-on-life-entry-1 or https://steemit.com/bwphotochallenge/@vm2904/bwphotchallenge-old-building-witnesses-a-modern-city-grow-around-it and
Also travel blogs like this one https://steemit.com/life/@vm2904/visit-to-sarnath-part2-the-tranquil-journey-continues
Please provide your comments, upvote and resteem if you like any of my blogs

Thanks for the follow mate! Will check out your channel for sure!

Nice knowledgeable post .upvoted.
Followed you.hope u too :)

Thanks mate! Will have a look at your profile =)

Awesome thank you so much, very helpful content

Awesome! Glad you like it! Thanks!

Found Canva in January, its a fantastic app. It also can be used accross all devices. So I can start a design on my phone , work on it on my pc at home and then complete on my ipad. Very versitile and very ease to use, please also hit me up in discord @freetissues so we can get the saffa community building

It really is amazing yes! Ok cool, I'll pm you on Discord after work.

Hey, thank you so much. Very helpful resource. Saving templates is perfect, gonna sign up.

VERY helpful thanks. I will try to step my post game up!

Awesome! Glad it is helping some users! Always makes me so happy when a post can help others! Get it, learn it, use it and post away!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63722.47
ETH 3049.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.03