HOW TO TAKE BETTER PHOTOGRAPHS OF DANGEROUS ANIMALS

in #howto7 years ago

Really?


After my recent photos shoot with a Water Moccasin, I received some questions about getting such fantastic photos of a dangerous snake. Since I actually do a bit of work to make sure that I get the best photos that I can, I figured I would clue you all in and show you how I do it.

DISCLAIMER: As always, just because I do something does not mean that anyone else should. Many things that I do frequently have been considered dangerous or even dumb by others, and I am in no way attempting to encourage others to try this. I am simply showing how I take better photos of dangerous animals.

A SIMPLE HOW TO VIDEO

TIPS AND POINTERS

The basics of my photo tips fall into two categories: setting/background & distance vs. zoom. I'll deal with the setting/background first.

When you locate a wild animal, it may not be in the best location for a stellar photo shoot. Even with getting a closer shot, you can only improve the photo so much, because the setting/background limits the awesomeness of the photo.

In situations like this, I prefer to relocate the animal to a better setting, which enhances the background. Though this makes the photo staged because of me relocating the animal, it is still in its natural environment, so the animal does not look out of place.

Here you can see the same snake in a better location, which makes for a much better photograph.

DISTANCE VS. ZOOM

For me, even though the capabilities of technology are incredible, it still can't always produce the best results. The zoom feature on a camera is provided to give the effect of being closer to the subject being photographed. However, I believe that for the best results, actually being closer is better.

In my opinion, a photograph looks better when it was actually taken up close, rather than from far away with the camera lens adjusting the image to make it appear like it was closer. Others may have their own ideas about this, but that is how I feel about it.

If you are able to understand exactly what is the "safe range" around a dangerous animal, then you can understand how close your camera can actually be. This will allow you to have to zoom much less, which may enhance the quality of your photographs.

Hopefully this answers the rest of those questions about how I get the photographic results that I do. I don't consider myself to be a "photographer" and if I am, I'm an amateur. However, I think that each of us have the opportunity to take some amazing photos as we live our lives, so why not make them the best that we can?

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-taking-better-photographs-of-dangerous-animals



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

I am really amazed that you dared to stand so close to the snake. Aren't you afraid that it will attack you. I noticed that you are not wearing shoes when you picked the snake up. I supposed you are well versed with how to handle them.
Great photo and well done as usual with all your post.
Thanks for sharing
@jackpot

It's just what I do. I try to stay a safe distance away.

Around here at least. Thanks @keerthi!

Thank you and stay safe always.
@jackpot

It seems you feel very comfortable and relaxed with any animal, wild or not :-). I myself am not really scared of snakes but more of mice under our kitchen. I think you would easily survive in the jungle for days or weeks, hunting for food. :-).

with animals I will stay with zoom option anyways - but hats off for you for not taking an easy way

you are brave. and i am not insane, i am freaking scarred of snakes. i would think a thousand time before putting my foot in bush.... so clearly i would think a million times before getting that close to a snake.... there is no safe range for me.....

Thanks @papa-pepper, I am planning to find some snakes to photograph this season, as it starts to head into spring. "Safe distance" ... gulp

Don't blame me... and nonvenomous snakes photograph very well - FYI

LOL, Only @papa-pepper can pull off carrying a water moccasin with barbecue tongs like it was yesterday's leftover sausage, real bad azz 😎

worse.JPG

rather you than me! man that sure looks like some dangerous work ...but agreed for good photography it is always best to up close with the subject. Zoom should always be a last resort! Or for making huge moon photos and things ... so, there are many sides to the story. For wildlife, close up has the most realistic impact.

What a danger.
It is necessary to have a lot of caution when they are going to realize this type of works, we do not let the passion blind us of the danger that is has.

Fully agreed! Thanks for stressing that point!

You're welcome @papa-pepper
Thank you for sharing the experience.
And continue doing what we like au au au :p

Steve Irwin of blockchain era. Mad respect!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58296.60
ETH 3064.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26