HOW TO MAKE A MINIMALIST SCORPION DISPLAY CASE FOR YOUR STEEMIAN FRIENDS

in #howto6 years ago

This one took some time and thinking, but I like the way that it turned out.


Life can be interesting, and life as a steemian even more so. I would have never thought about taking some "Canadians" hunting for scorpions, but then, thanks to steemit, that's exactly what we did last year when @vcelier and @naru-celier came down for a visit. Mr. @vcelier wanted to enjoy a vacation with his grandson @naru-celier anyway, so he figured, "Why not visit @papa-pepper and the Pepper Tribe?"

As you can tell from the expression on the face of @naru-celier above, it was an exciting and successful time. In fact, both @vcelier and @naru-celier each found a scorpion on our outing. We had a lot more fun than that over the visit, but this may have been one of the highlights.

If you take a look at the video, you will see that within five minutes of unlocking the gate @naru-celier had located his first ever scorpion! It was a good sized Striped Bark Scorpion and it was very quick. I grabbed it and put it in the container that the @little-peppers had brought along. At about the 8 1/2 minute mark, @vcelier found our second scorpion of the night. To have a keepsake from this experience, I wanted to send both @naru-celier and his grandfather @vcelier a gift, so I finally made them recently.

HOW TO MAKE A MINIMALIST SCORPIO DISPLAY CASE

I struggled for quite a while on how to preserve and display some dead Arkansas scorpions. Eventually, I chose something sleek and simple, that would keep the focus on the subject matter, which is the scorpion.

The main things I used were a glossy clear coat spray and some super glue. The clear coat would help preserve the exoskeleton of the scorpion while giving it a nice shine, and the super glue would hold it in place.

These beautiful two inch bu two inch display cases that I found online seemed perfect for the job. They are very clear and look great for use in either a shelf or desk display.

The first step was to apply a few coats of the glossy clear coat spray to the scorpions. I like to do both the top and the bottom, and to also give them a few coats.

Since I had three dead scorpions, I made an extra one which I'll be mailing up to @mini-provider as a gift. He's an old friend from Wisconsin that I think will really enjoy it.

After the clear coat dried, I carefully mounted the scorpions in the center of the display case. I think that they look really cool, and will give people the chance to get a closer look than they may normally be comfortable with.

Here's what all three of them look like. I'll do my best to get them mailed out this week, and hopefully they survive the shipment without becoming detached or breaking. I think that they will make a great keepsake to remind my out of country steemian friends of our wonderful adventure together. What do you think?

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-cool-scorpion-display

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

I found one like those under a hostel bed in Colombia once. That one was black tho

Whoa! I wonder how dangerous those are!

The deader they come, the better

That is really cool stuff @papa-pepper I actually just recently doodled then digitized a scorpion..... scorpion2.jpg
Scorpion

Wow! I like it! I'll check it out!

What a cool idea! I wouldn't have thought of that, but I think you did really well.

How dangerous is it to get stung by a scorpion?

Depends. I suppose a lethal scorpion species could be life-threatening, while others probably just hurt a bunch!

I was impressed at how you just went for the tail. I guess that's the best way to keep it from using that tail against you. Still, scary! Ha ha.

lol! hey papa-pepper! my favorite pastime...catching freakin scorpions! caught one a couple nights ago but in on the bathroom floor. It is simply amazing how those thing glow so brightly under that light!

I remember when I first joined here you commented with a photo of one on your tongue and I'm like "who is this crazy guy?!" lol.

they make very unique gifts for sure and that's an innovative way to encase them, great job sir!

LOL - Yeah, crazy guy for sure!!!

I like the simplicity of the display with the focus on the scorpion. Nice work!

I think you have made new invotion for scorpio.

Always Innovation at its Best with @papa-pepper as MacGyver ..........

Scorpion are the one of the dangerous insects for me. A catching a scorpio is impossible task..

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool, what's small like this is dangerous,
Is it a poison that can kill it?

This is a really cool idea, @papa-pepper! This is a nice reminder of an exciting vacation for a grandpa and grandson! From my experience, the black scorpions are more dangerous as their sting is much more potent than some of the brown ones. I have been stung three times and the balck one was definitely the worst!

Ouch! I've never been stung yet, so I'll be careful...

Well, my own special way of being careful anyway...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99