HOW TO ACCURATELY IDENTIFY A COPPERHEAD SNAKE

in #howto7 years ago

Snakes can be scary, and some can even be dangerous!


The Copperhead is one of the few kinds of venomous snakes in North America. It often can be found out on the prowl at night, which can make things even more dangerous. During the day, though, its incredible camouflage can make it hard to spot even then. In this video, @papa-pepper shares with you some of the easiest ways to accurately identify a Copperhead snake.

HOW TO ACCURATELY IDENTIFY A COPPERHEAD SNAKE


Later, I may make a photo post covering this information so that users have an image to go along with each characteristic, but photographing specific features on venomous snakes by yourself can be difficult, as many shots have to be made one-handed. My current camera is malfunctioning anyway, so I think I'll get a STEEM-powered upgrade and see if I can't pull it off.

STAY SAFE!



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

extremely informative video sir, I love learning about nature and animals my dude, please make more of these. Is there any other wild animals that you are also knowledgeable on?

A lot of other animals, a lot.

For real? what animal should we all expect to see you analyze and explain next?

Water Scorpion?

I've never even heard of that...so YES please do one on it please :)

udaman!

I forgot that this was a copperhead too!

Your name in peppers!

LOL! You got the Coral Snake though!

Thank you for RELOCATING instead of killing... we just relocated a baby brown snake from our patio to the woods... at first we thought it was possibly a copperhead...

As long as I can identify from a distance!

Ouroboros ... well sort of. :)

Where did you learn all this snake stuff?
Where did you learn to handle venomous snakes?
You appear so nonchalant, calm, cool and collected.
But now with a Copperhead?
You really are the snake pied-piper, err, I mean, snake pied-pepper!!

Most of my "education" was always hands on, and a lot is self taught. I just figure it out and learn as I go...

Just one of many of natures misunderstood creatures....well done for your educational post. The more we learn the less afraid we become.
We have been terrorised from the poor snake myth right from birth in this western world deception. Compare how many snakes are killed by humans each year to how many humans are killed by snakes to know who is really scary.

All good stuff to know. ;-)

For anyone interested, that perhaps is not overly keen on snakes, New Zealand has no snakes. Not even little ones. We are 100% snake free.

So if you'd rather live somewhere that doesn't put you close to a copper headed, cotton mouthed, rat snake wearing moccasins, then this is a pretty good destination for you ;-)

Take care @papa-pepper, and keep that good record of not being bitten intact.

I will, or, at least I'll try...

This is actually good to know @trevor.george

The animal control facebook page for my area did a post talking about how more people than normal are calling them to catch copperheads. They even started a special email-hotline for snake identification because snakes have been so bad. Now that I live in a house near the woods my biggest fear is copperheads. I crawled under my house to fix a pipe and a black snake was by my foot the entire time. Didn't notice until I was done. So happy it wasn't a poisonous snake.

I would be excited about that, but I understand your caution. Mostly, they leave you alone, so you've got that going for you.

If they are successful at remedying the snake problem, I can't wait to hear about the vermin problem that will follow, hahhahahaha

Well, our local animal shelter is having funding problems. Maybe they can put to use all those stray cats they can't afford to keep. Then again...that might cause problems in itself if they aren't fixed.

LOL - indeed!

Too scary! We have too many snakes here in our state. My daughter stepped on a copperhead and was not bitten. Thank God for His protection!

Wow! Praise God indeed! Glad to hear it!

What about praising Cottonmouth Animal Totem? ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54