Super Sneaky Elbow Slide By Take-Down

in #howto6 years ago (edited)


In this video we demonstrate the "Elbow Slide By" technique. This technique can be used to set up many throws but in this video it sets up a simple "Double Leg Take-Down.

This technique is actually my favorite setup for a throw, unlike shooting for a take-down this is very low risk if you miss and high reward if you succeed. This move requires a great deal of timing and skill to perform but it is well worth the time invested to master this technique. I suggest when training this move to focus on the slide by itself rather than a throw. This move can be practiced over and over without the throw sparing your training partner from constant impacts against the ground. I suggest maybe 10 each training partner drills the Slide By 10 times each and only finishes the throw on the 10th attempt, then switching, this cycle should be repeated several times. I would also suggest mixing in some Duck Unders since they are very similar techniques.
The set up for this technique (tech), is brilliant. Most grapplers are fighting for inside control, this move differs because you are surrendering inside control, this gives you opponent a false sense of security. Once your opponent has his inside control on the side that you are going to perform the Slide By push into your opponent and when he pushes back into you, make your move. When you successfully hit the slide by you will have excellent angle of attack while trapping your opponents arm. This tech works best when your opponent is pushing into you, this way when you slip past them they tend to come off balance as you slide past them. Also remember to do all of the steps.

  • Have inside head control on the opposite side that you plan to slide to.
  • Step to the outside of the side you plan to slide to.
  • All at once, look behind you, bump or pull the arm past and pull on his head, HARD!
    I love this tech because it is similar to a "Duck Under" but less risky specially for Jiu Jitsu because if you miss the duck under you might be setting yourself up for a Guillotine choke, but if you miss the "Slide By" you just lose control of your opponent and have to start from a neutral position.
    In the below link I use this technique in a NAGA (North American Grappling Association), Expert level division (149 pound class). My opponent is pushing into me perfectly and I implement the slide by. In this video I oppted to pull the elbow passed rather than bumping with my forearm, both ways work but in this situation I went with the pull not the bump, the result was good. You will also notice that instead of going with the Double Leg I went with a hip heist to a modified suplex (a full suplex will get you disqualified at NAGA). I went with this because my opponent turned giving up his back in an attempt to lock up my arm.

We would love to hear what you all think about this article, all comments welcome.

  • Was this article helpful?
  • Do you use a technique like this or will you be adding it to your repertoire?
  • Was the video explained well?
  • Was the video quality okay?
  • Did you enjoy it?

Thanks for visiting, click the follow button so you do not miss the next article.

Combat sports are dangerous, always practice with a trained professional do not try any of these techniques without the supervision of a trained professional and speak to a doctor before begining training for combat sports.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Nice move! I've learned something similar when I was training martial arts. Also, it's really nice to see something other than crypto related content on Dtube.

Keep providing that diversity/value. It's highly appreciated.

I couldn't agree more, except to maybe replace "Dtube" with "Steem/it" in general. Geez I get that this is a crypto space, but it is so nice to see quality content about something else. @embomb701 makes awesome video tutorials.

Agreed, Steem/it also needs the diversity. That's why I always appreciate it no matter what it's about. Art, cycling, boxing, make up tutorials, whatever. We need the diversity to appeal the mainstream.

Diversity is what we need to have in order to achieve massive success in the future and be a platform for everyone. Not just crypto based people.

Thanks for providing that to our chain of blocks. Keep them coming!

Thanks man, I will continue to make content, thanks again for the feedback!

Glad you enjoyed it, I actually learned this move by review engineering it (per say). In my first grappling competition in 2005 I faced the East Coast Wrestling Champion (I should not have, he fought in the beginner division when he should have been intermediate or expert). He used this move on me and I watched the video over and over to dissected this technique, then I cultivated it and made it my own. This blog is slip between Crypto and Martial Arts, I hope you follow so you don't miss future additions. Also feel free to check out some of our previous articles. Thanks for commenting!

Nice move and great explanation of what is happening. Even I understood what I was seeing!

@melinda010100, thank you so much for taking the time to comment! I hope you follow, I promise to have more content a few article a week. (I used to do one per day but I usually work 60 hour weeks and I am taking two 3 credit college courses over the next 8 weeks online while still training to compete next month. I will sleep when i'm dead...

I remember those days! You have a great attitude! Steem on!

Thanks doll (blushing), you Steem on too ;)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Love this - great writeup, great instructional video and the competition video is a perfect illustration of this in action. You rock

@carlgnash Wow thank you so much for this, it really feels good to hear this kind of feedback! Glad you enjoyed it friend, there will be more where that came from in the days to follow.

Congratulations @embomb701! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 700 replies. Your next target is to reach 800 replies.
You made more than 44000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 45000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard notifications improved

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Right on! Very similar entries in Muay Thai clinching, love the transition to the throw.

Correct, interesting enough I train the Muay Thai clinch all the time, but I have never used it in am MMA fight, probably because my fight style uses a lot of staying out of range and blitzing. Thanks for commenting.

New_Intro.gif

This post is Powered by @superbot all the way from Planet Super Earth.

Follow @superbot First and then Transfer 0.100 STEEM/STEEM DOLLAR to @superbot & the URL in the
memo that you want Resteemed + get Upvoted & Followed By @superbot and 1 Partner Account.

Your post will Appear in the feed of 1300+ Followers :)

So don't waste any time ! Get More Followers and gain more Visibility With @superbot

#Note - Please don't send amount less than 0.100 Steem/Steem Dollar ,Also a post can only be resteemed once.

Thank you for using @superbot

If you would like to support this bot , Please don't forget to upvote this post :)
Stay Super !

Congratulations @embomb701! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 45000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 46000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 13.59% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74