How to start a coin collection relatively cheaply and benefit from itsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #howto7 years ago

This is my first entry for the “HOW TO” Challenge by @papa-pepper.
The link to the contest is below:


https://steemit.com/howto/@papa-pepper/i-m-declaring-myself-king-of-steemit-how-to-and-i-ve-got-200-sbd-on-the-line-to-prove-it


I thought that it would be interesting to create a "howto" post, and decide to make one on the topic that I recently got interested in, which is "coin collecting".
I am also a beginner in this topic and you should perform your own due diligence when you decide what to buy. None of the below should be taken as financial advice.



Coin collecting can sometimes sound quite boring and not interesting at all for some.
I used to think like that and now I am creating a post to talk about it.

When people talk about coin collecting, some may think that it is referring to Gold and Silver so how is that cheap. So this post is not referring to Gold and silver, but if you do have a Gold and Silver collection, then good for you.

This post is about a collection of old coins which are not made of expensive metals


The Steps

  • Step 1: Purchase the coins
  • Step 2: Purchase an entry level coin catalogue
  • Step 3: Purchase some Cardboard Coin Holders
  • Step 4: Purchase some Coin Sheets
  • Step 5: Purchase a Coin Album
    The above are essentially the items that you need and I will go into each in slightly more detail.

Step 1: Purchase the coins



The old coins can generally be purchased at an affordable price based on weight for example in one's local coin shop. Although the coins are not worth much in terms of numismatic value, one would be surprised on the rewards (not necessary monetary) that one can gain from a collection of old coins.



This is a typical lot of coins that you get at a local coin shop at quite a cheap price per weight unit (kilogram/pound etc).



I was fooled initially to think that something may be gold because it looked like gold, however that is generally not the case, but you will get the hang of it as you start looking at more coins.

Again even though collection of old coins is considered a cheaper option, also consider your budget, so that you don't buy too much.


Step 2: Purchase an entry level coin catalogue


There are several coin catalogues out there:

  • On a specific country
  • or on coins around the world.

When I first started collecting world coins, I purchased a coin catalogue which allows me to understand coins. one may also search on line to check out the coin, however when you are checking out a large amount it is generally easier to flip through a book based on the country and the year, rather than typing it on the computer every time. Unless there is a app that can identify a old coin when you take a picture of it.


Step 3: Purchase some Cardboard Coin Holders


They look like this



And come in different sizes


Essentially you find a particular coin that you want to hold in the cardboard coin holder.
Find the size that is most applicable for the coin. You then fold the cardboard coin holder across the middle and staple the coin holder.

It should look like this in the end



Some people prefer to staple only 3 sides to save one staple, but I prefer stapling 4 sides.
Whichever way you decide to staple, make sure it is consistent so that it will look good when you put them together


You will also notice that I wrote on the cardboard coin holder. There is no standard way of labelling it, the way I follow is as follows:


Again, Consistency is King, so that you are able to identify the properties of the coin immediately as you look at the coin holder.


Step 4: Purchase some Coin Sheets


Coin Sheets look like this


This particular coin sheet I have can hold 20 cardboard coin holders. You can then easily slot your completed cardboard coin holder into the coin sheets, like this


Once you have completed all your cardboard coin holders labeling, your coin sheet will look like this


Looks structured right? You can choose to collect the same coin over different years, or to collect the different denominations of the same year. I will cover that in more detail in another post. In this case, I collected the same coin over different years.


Step 5: Purchase a Coin Album


Once you have multiple Coin Sheets, you want to keep them together in a Coin Album

Make sure that the Coin Sheets and your Coin Album are compatible. For example, if your Coin Sheets are compatible with a 3 ring binder, then purchase a 3 ring binder.


Possible Benefits


  • As you start researching about the coins, you will start to learn more about the history of the different countries.
  • One of the reasons the lot of coins is sold quite cheap in local coin shops is because the shop owner has generally gone through the coins and took out all the coins which have more value. Hence, the left over pile is generally worth very little by itself. However, you never know, shop owners are also human and they may overlook the coin pile, and you may just be lucky to find a coin which is worth more.
  • Although, it is unlikely that you would find gold from a pile of coin like that, you may generally find some coins made from fine silver or a more valuable old coin. (Do take note that when you look at coin catalogues that you understand that the catalogue values are not generally the price that you would be able to sell your coins for, it depends highly on the quality and also the supply and demand for that coin - the catalogue value can only be taken as a guide and generally the upper limit of the coin)
  • You can say that you have a coin collection now. Maybe sometime in the future, where no one transacts with physical coins anymore, your physical coin collection may be worth slightly more.

And this is it for now, let me know if you want me to cover more in a particular area.



If you like this post, please upvote, resteem, follow and comment.

Thanks for your time and have a great day!



Sort:  

I use to collect coins as a kid and I'd have to say any coins that are different still catch my interest. It's a pretty simple and fun hobby/collection to do and you've set out how to start up also clear and simple. Especially as a child I think it's a good activity for them to do, stamps as well if they have people around them who use them, because they're items that atleast use to come by a person without having to buy for them, which makes them a somewhat easy to start of collection.

Thank you for the positive feedback @duckiemyfriend. It means a lot to me. It has been a pretty fun hobby so far, and I also collect different types of coins that catch my interest. Have a fantastic day!

I just started to collect coins for my country of origin and I have to admit being disabled makes it hard to get around, however EBay is brilliant place to start, it is cheap and sort of reliable. I haven't had any problems, but worry for others. the coin I'm after is a nice conditioned full crown, I could never get one when I was younger and the old coins were being replaced with the new coins of today, though even some of them are cracking I love the new fiver when it first came out and had some fun with the new two pound coin, buy two pounds of petrol exact amount pay the cashier with two pound coin and try to leave, hoy this foreign stuff is nay use, great telling them its the new coin, and they should watch the news more. oh how do you up vote and resteem. I cant see any buttons.

Thanks for the comprehensive comment @lazaronn, really appreciate it. For the up vote button, you look for the blue circle with a up arrow, under the tags of the post. The resteem button is situated left of the word "Reply". Seems you are quite new to Steemit, you can consider creating an introduce yourself post to interact with the community. Let me know if you have more questions. Have a great day!

Thank you for the help.

This is a very thorough and down to earth post!

When I was younger I collected us pennies, I got pretty far back, into the late 19th century, with some even further back. It was interesting learning about history with the help of my grandparents, for example with tin pennies during ww2.

One day my grandmother gave me her penny collection from when she was a girl, and it was basically just like mine but half a century earlier!

I probably have 3 or 4 dollars worth of pennies that are worth 6 to 8 dollars, but I learned from and connected to my grandparents and to history, which was priceless.

Thank you very much @ecoinstant for your kind words. Yes, even though some coin collections may not be worth that much, it is still priceless because it connects you to history and also to the family member which gave you the coin collection. It is amazing that you have coins going that far back and it will become a great collection. Keep it going, my friend. Have a fantastic day!

I love the history part of collecting coins the most. I love learning about the era it was minted in and the history of the coin itself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66952.44
ETH 3091.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72