Anwen Meditates - A Steemit Health Channel // Today: Introduction and Alternate Nostril Breathing

in #howto8 years ago (edited)

Hi friends! I am creating a new tag #anwen-meditates to post my own health videos and tutorials. I am creating a Steemit health channel - all of my videos and tutorials are for the wonderful users of Steemit! I am planning on sharing many tutorials, including yoga, guided meditations, breathing exercises, and more. I am also uploading the videos to YouTube in the hope of attracting more users to Steemit.

I have been practicing yoga and meditation for 8 years now, and these practices have been critical in shaping who I am today. My constant practices have brought me inner peace and stability during crazy times, have healed physical and emotional injuries, and have taught me how to be PRESENT!

I am really excited to be able to share these practices with you all. I am first going to share tutorials and videos that you can do right now, wherever you are. These can be used as breaks from the information overload of Steemit / life in general, when you wake up, before you go to bed, or really any time at all :-) My first video tutorial is called "Alternate Nostril Breathing". This ancient Indian practice has many benefits, for example it: connects your right and left hemispheres of your brain, quiets your mind, calms your emotions, prepares your body for meditation, and regulates your body temperature.

Here are the steps that I cover in the video:

  • Use your right thumb to close off your right nostril
  • Inhale through your left nostril
  • Close your left nostril with your ring finger and release your thumb from your right nostril
  • Exhale through your right nostril
  • Inhale through right nostril
  • Use your thumb to close of right nostril
  • Breathe out through your left nostril

Happy Sunday and Namaste :-)

Sort:  

Namaste @anwenbaumeister,

Everybody make sure your nostrils are clean and free of boogers before you inhale and exhale. :P

This was quite famous a few years back here at Nepal. A famous Yogi called Baba Ramdev (He is quite famous in India and Nepal) taught this aasan on TV. He called this aasan Anulombeelom. I have never tried it though. I'll give it a try in the evening if I remember. Another one was called Kapaalvaati in which you had to rub the tips of your fingers together.

Ok, time to take a (short) break from Steemit to try it ;) Namaste

Finally, a post with some substance that has been rewarded.

You mean you didn't want another makeup tutorial? ;-)

Oh yes that would be...... no thank you :)

Congrats on making the front page! It looks like the promo for your new health channel racked up $7,816.80 so far. You might consider cashing out some of that now that it's possible.

You've clearly captured what it takes to make an irresistible post here (i.e., original content, interactive content -- not just text, instructional content, and content that mentions steemit haha). Congrats again and thanks for sharing!

Glad to hear :-) I will be posting another tomorrow!

Awesome Post @anwenbaumeister! Love growing this yoga community!

Thank you! I'm excited for the growing community as well :-)

Very cool! But I do not take way for these things! I have little balance ... lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66149.79
ETH 3275.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71