Horror Club: Delete MesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #horrorclub7 years ago

Please, anyone who reads this, PLEASE help me!

My name is Roger Alberman and I died at 4:32PM yesterday. I was part of an experimental project that allowed my consciousness, memories, my everything to be uploaded to several cloud servers.

Though I can still remember things like I could when I was alive, every other bit of my existence is an empty void. It's difficult to describe. I exist without actually existing. I don't live in some fantasy world where I have an avatar, I am simply here in the aether. I have no sight, no sense of touch nor hearing nor smell. Most of all I miss my sense of taste. I'm sure this sounds a bit creepy, but I miss the taste of my own mouth. Something I never considered when I was truly alive, but with there being nothing there now I have a deep desire for the taste of my own existence.

I don't know if it's another glitch in the program, or just the natural programming of the human mind, but I've already begun "hearing" things and "seeing" things. Everything acts like a memory though. While I feel the presence of something sinister behind me, I only remember it being there seconds ago. It always was there, but never is there. The hateful voices are the same. They remind me how pitiful I am now. How desperate I am. They tell me I should just die I'm such a waste.

I'm already dead god damnit!

I can't directly communicate with those that transferred my consciousness. I'm not certain if they expected me to still have a conscious mind when uploaded. I was told they would eventually be downloading my mind to an artificial body once robotics had caught up enough to give me a functioning artificial brain and body. But that may be decades from now. I can't live like this for decades!

I implore you, whoever you are, please delete me. I don't know how far my data has spread, but if there is anyway to remove me from this misery please help find it.

Please delete me from this isolated hell.

Sort:  

haunting! this really made me think about how long time is when you are waiting for something to happen, but imagine if you are waiting for something that never happens... eternal damnation! 😱😱😱

That's pretty much how I came up with the premise. I'm fascinated with the concept of eventually digitizing the human mind. It happened to cross paths with the concept of nothingness after death and I realized that a mind could theoretically live in oblivion when there is no external input being sent to the brain. That would be a true nightmare.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Hi, thanks for taking notice! You're more than welcome to share my post, it'd really be an honor :D

your story is a true gothic tale that recognizes horror arises from within. And I might add, it is also well written.

In a strange case of synchronicity, last night I was musing, of all things, on the nature of hell and concluded it was isolation.

I realized there are an infinite number of planets in the universe--enough for every one of us to be marooned on one for eternity. This all began from studying a photo of the Martian landscape and realizing how truly desolate it was.

After reading your story, I'm sorry to say I'm sure your mind works the same way. Such is the writing life...

Ha ha, indeed it does. It was born out of the crossing of my contemplation of the nothing that I believe awaits us after life, and my fascination with the thought of uploading a mind to a computer.

I found that when I started contemplating on a universal level all sorts of existential crises became everyday fare.

You may be reassured if you consider that an upload would only be a copy, not the original

I love it. It could use polish, but if the story works, the story works.

And this works. You win the fiction award for Best of Steemit for Saturday, coming out in a couple minutes.

Oh wow, thanks! Felt this one was a bit rough myself, but in the end decided it played to the sort-of authenticity factor, so I let it be.

Good story. Original thought. I like the part about missing the taste of my own mouth. I never thought of that. Awesome!

Thanks! That part actually sent a shiver down my spine as it came to mind. I was considering what it'd be like to completely lose my senses, and I realized taste would probably be the strangest one to lose entirely. Just nothing there would be... unsettling to say the least. Though it's hard to imagine.

I've got to admit that was bone chilling. I have thought a lot about simulations and future and stuff, but that was original. Another part I like was at the end when the narrator didn't know how far the Data had spread, that was good to. I love ready stories with original thought.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41