Tar Demon

in #horror6 years ago


Tar Demon

I am Void

I should have died that day. My wife and I lay down on our bed, crushed between three walls and a long open space all the way to the door. The springs poked my back and kept me awake. That annoying street light outside our bedroom was aglow, speckled with dark flying insect silhouettes.

I was rolled up on my side, taking measured breaths. I was exhausted from work and needed the sleep, but it seemed that night was going to be one of those rare nights where every little chirp and squeak would echo against the otherwise silent room.

I pulled my legs up tight against my stomach and tried to visualize that scene where Charlie Brown runs up to kick the football only to have Lucy yank it away. I don't know why that was the scene I always used, but it seemed to work wonders to calm me down when I was anxious. Even that didn't work, though.

I stared. I looked in corners. I heard whispers and buzzing.

I knew I was afraid of the dark. This wasn't normal darkness, though.

I gulped and turned my head to a small movement at the edge of my vision. The darkness there seemed to fold into itself, becoming darker and thicker. I knew it was just me imagining things, but I didn't want to take that risk. I closed my eyes and concentrated on that football-kicking scene. Nothing happened.

I sighed and opened my eyes. In the middle of the folded darkness I saw a pair of eyes glowing red. There was no voice, for it had no mouth. There were no claws, for it had no arms or legs. The eyes were hot embers in a deep abyss. It had not voice, so it never said a word to me.

I knew it wanted to kill me where I lay. I was transfixed. My eyes couldn't blink and my arms were trapped. No words, but a mountain of meaning.

I tried to ask for help, but only a whisper of air escaped my mouth. I screamed. No sound issued forth. Tears squeezed out of the corners of my eyes.

The shadow moved. It clung to the wall and spread across the entire span of the narrow room. A web of tarry darkness stretched from wall-to-wall. It expanded and pulsed. The creature crawled forward.

Air was sucked from my lungs at its approach. Suddenly the air began to pulse and pound. Dah BUMP! Dah BUMP!

I couldn't swallow. There was no moisture on my tongue as it suctioned to the roof of my mouth. My chest felt heavy.

Another crawl forward.

Dah BUMP! Hoosh! Dah BUMP! Hoosh!

It was getting close to me. I couldn't think. I tried to flip over and still I couldn't move. My breath was shallow.

BUMP! Dah BUMP BUMP! Hoosh!

I gasped to drag air into me. I panted, but I was still unable to move. I wanted to run, but where could I run to?

Bump Bump Bump Dah Bump. Hoosh Bump Dah Bump.

The demon was next to me. I could feel a vast chill and couldn't get warm. My breath puffed out in small clouds of steam. So cold.

I saw an extension reach out and I tried to scream. In my head I heard the scream tear through me! Outside of it, silence.

My heart was a constant thudding. Then my wife shook me awake and I just wanted to cry. I still, to this day, can see that Demon of darkness. I know the Demon would have claimed me if my wife had not saved me that night.

I don't know when it will happen, but I truly believe that Demon is going to be the one to take me in the end. I just hope it treats me with gentleness from its oily black form.


https://steemit.com/contest/@dirge/win-6-66-sbd-and-more-halloween-in-spring-horror-fiction-contest-1524386602-7787652#@dbzfan4awhile/re-dirge-re-dbzfan4awhile-re-dbzfan4awhile-re-dirge-win-6-66-sbd-and-more-halloween-in-spring-horror-fiction-contest-1524386602-7787652-20180424t122535367z

Sort:  

I pulled my legs up tight against my stomach and tried to visualize that scene where Charlie Brown runs up to kick the football only to have Lucy yank it away

Love that detail.. its interesting and adds to character. Scary story!! I have written one but im not sure its as horror as some of the ones I am seeing and am a bit nervous about sharing it!

Well done, would like to read more.

If you are unsure and would like help with your writing skills then you should join The Writer’s Block (TWG) on Discord and go through some workouts.

In addition you can pass the story into their critique system to get some great suggestions on the piece. It’s a good group in which I’m part.

https://discord.gg/ByPfh

Fab... will do when i have time!

No worries and good luck.

You are writing horror brilliantly.This story is really exciting.

I appreciate the feedback. Although it got my heart racing to go through it, I would gladly have not ever had to have that experience.

its so horrific. you have written in unique style. keep writing the articles bro. :)

It was even more terrifying the night that it happened.

its very horror...you wrote a good article...keep it up

Thank you very much, I appreciate the praise!

What are you telling....it was so scaring

It is something I have personally experienced. It was a story from my past.

Thats nuts! Are you serious!

Totally serious. One of the scariest things I’ve experienced.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45