When I Think of Yellow Around the Homestead...

So it's been a long week around the homestead but I'M BACK! My not posting had nothing to do with the holiday or the steem market just too busy to do more than the bare minimum on here. YEP, THAT'S RIGHT! I'M A SLACKER! I just had a fly by the seat of your pants spare no second kinda week. Have you been there?

I'm still wayy behind but I wanted to spend some time with you beautiful people! To ease myself back in I decided to take up this weeks #HomesteadPhotography contest Yellow Around the Homestead by @knowledge-seeker. I hope you'll join the contest too a little competition can be wonderful thing when applied to expanding knowledge within our Steemit homesteading community.

When I Think of Yellow Around the Homestead (1).png

Now it might be strange to you, but when I think of yellow around the homestead I think of love, sunshine, and my pigs!

KIMG1455.jpg

Growing up I have heard the term "sweating like a pig" more times than I can count probably. I found the phrase more funny after we started our homestead because sweating like a pig is what I do everyday around here, not the pigs! Like pigs literally don't have what we think of as normal sweat glands!

Where we live there is absolutely no lack of sunshine. Stand outside on any given day between February and October - after 30 seconds it is a true possibility you might think you have been set on fire! Since pigs are basically incapable of sweating that means building pens where we can provide adequate shade and still be close enough to the well to be able to change out waterers and give them all a nice cool soaking area to wallow in.

So with all that sunshine we invested in a solar powered electric fence by Parmak as well as all of the supplies. Which, as you can see from the photo, a lot of the supplies happened to be yellow - gate connectors, corner pieces, and a little bit of polywire so the pigs can see the boundary a little better before they feel it!

KIMG1798.JPG

All day the sun shines bright while I'm checking that all of the fences are functioning correctly, digging them out when they're not working, and fattening up the pigs with extra corn. Our pigs enjoy each day and every meal throughout the day to the fullest extent. They wallow in the mud, play in the sand, and nap most of the afternoon away. All the while I'm profusely sweating, running around, checking on everybody and lugging around a hose to fill all the waterers or add more mud to their hole.

The pigs prefer the soaked corn and digest it much easier so every day I scoop and soak the corn in preparation for the next. My arms get a great daily work out too from all that scooping. Sometimes I get a little sloppy when filling or feeding from the buckets and the corn spills onto the ground- it's all good though since the spilled pieces grow and then we feed the young corn stocks to the pigs as well.

KIMG1997.JPG

Although they may not have the ability to say it, they show me gratitude in their own way and it makes all that sweat-equity worth it. This is what I think of when I think of yellow around the homestead.

KIMG3453.JPG

All content is 100% mine. If you would like to see more from me follow me @HomesteadinMama. Feel free to upvote, resteem and comment!

Sort:  

Congrats!

We saw something we like here so, we decided to Upvote and resteem.

How do we select posts for resteem? Click Manual to find out.

We are here cos' you followed us, if you don't, follow now @alphawhale

Your Post Had Been resteemed on @sam-resteem

resteem your steemit post using sam-resteem platform
--how it works:--
post your steemit URL post following this link below
https://busy.org/@sam-resteem/resteem-your-content-14

Thanks for using sam-resteem platform
Follow @sam-resteem

This post was resteemed for FREE, by @rcr.bis Resteem Service.

Follow @rcr.bis to have your posts upvoted and resteemed plus a chance to win @steembasicincome shares.

I really enjoyed your take on the contest this week and your photography. We have not started raising pigs yet, but I like the tip about soaking the corn. Great Job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57738.58
ETH 3102.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34