Another TRAGIC Loss! BUT, We Will Get Answers!

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

peanut3.jpg

Gone Too Soon!


As many of you have already found out we had another very tragic loss on our farm. Our Beautiful brown Alpine Goat, Peanut, Miss Sassy Pants, was gone suddenly. This goat was my friend, my child and my entertainment with her quizzical stares over the stall door while I milked everyone in the morning. She comforted me when I was sad and laughed with me when I was happy. She really had bonded to us deeply. I am beyond sick with grief over the passing of another one of our family members and in such a short amount of time.

She began with diarrhea (just like the other goats that have been sick this past month) and had no other symptoms besides lethargy. She was gone in less than 24 hours even with all of my normal treatments. I couldn't save her and I am distraught over that. I was not expecting this outcome.

We did take the extra steps this time to get her to Auburn to have the State Diagnostic Lab determine a cause of death through a necropsy. The preliminary findings have ruled out parasites, food, toxins or pneumonia as the cause of death. That is a little scary because those are the common fast killers. The vet told me 90% of what she sees is death due to parasites. There were some signs of an infection and further lab testing has been sent off. We will not know any more thanthat for 2-3 weeks. The wait and worry is torture. The vet seemed very surprised and intrigued that it wasn't a run of the mill issue.

I am devastated and terrified. Whatever this is, I really hope it's preventable and treatable because she was with our herd every day so everyone is exposed. Her condition could be related to the other sicknesses but it's not likely because the other goats got better. Her symptoms were the same as Spice's who we lost at beginning of July. But who knows maybe the two we lost had other issues maybe they didn't? I won't ever know.

As of today, we have another goat that began having diarrhea. I started antibiotics immediately in case it is an infection. I am also doing all my other expert natural remedies to keep her strong. There is nothing else I can do. I hope it is enough. I have done everything I can!

We are very confused, sad, scared and tired. Please pray for answers and that all the others will be fine. Thank you for your love and support during our extremely difficult time. I will update as soon as we know more.

Sort:  

@wholesomeroots I am so sorry to hear of your loss. Please share with us the outcome.

Thank you! I will as soon as I find out results.

So sorry to hear about the loss of your precious "Peanut", the hurt is so great when we lose a treasured member of our animal family. Hopefully the state vet will find the answer, let us know...

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

scary hopefully, they find out soon.

Thanks we hope so too

i'm so sorry!!

It's feed. Try to change the feed. Just give them hey.

Same feed as entire herd for past year and vet already ruled that out.

Sorry for your loss @wholesomeroots, let her go in peace. But other goat in your herd, thier are natural treatments for scours , but it all depends on what is causing it. IF worms are the cause her lower inner eyelid will be light pink or white, if white she could be close to, death. If coccdi is the cause a sulfa drug is needed, if E-coli is the cause neomicin is needed. So here are the questions needed when posting a health question! the more info the better. Inner eyelid should be red. is it? what minerals do you feed ? what food do you feed ? have you changed her diet any? If you can what is her rectal temp? when was the last time you wormed her , with what, and what dose? and any other info such as she lays around alot , or seems to be in a daze etc...

All of this has been addressed and all is normal. This is not the typical goat illness. The State Vet is doing the testing. Everything is being looked at! Thank you for your concern. We will have tissue culture back in 2-3 weeks.

I hope the rest of your herd are safe from this mystery threat.

This is an excellent post - very revealing to see the difficulties of losing animal family members you've formed deep bonds with.

I'm following you and look forward to happier news soon!


I just found a baby swallow and posted a philosophical story about it. Check it out here!. Or don't. It's cool. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39