God Speaks in Symbols - I Rescued a Baby Swallow and Got Lost in Its Eyes

in #philosophy7 years ago

IMG_20170816_090128-does-does-does.jpg

This morning, I found a baby swallow alone on the ground near our water tank.

At first, I ignored it - being no stranger to the way of the world in Nature. I fully expected it to gain its strength and fly off.

I kept walking, went to the river and looked around at the state of overgrowth we always have here during the rainy season.


I returned a while later, deep in thought, only to find the same juvenile swallow where I'd left it. We were both still a moment as we scrutinized one another.

I decided to "rescue" it.

It wasn't really in any danger just yet, but our cats would see to it soon enough if I did nothing.

It tried to escape me a bit, failed and let me pick it up.

"What beautiful eyes!" I whispered to it. They were big and brown; frightened, but lovely.

I held it in two hands as I returned to our house - wishing I'd brought my phone to snap a picture. Oh well, there was time for that later.


Once home, I saw to it that this teensy fellow was housed appropriately in an empty bird cage we had lying around and set up in my room to monitor while I work.

IMG_20170816_090317-does.jpg

Valkyrie, my cockatiel, was hardly cogniscent of the newcomer's arrival. She was much more preoccupied with being fed; as usual. She'll be going on a diet soon.


I originally thought it a young nighthawk, but they're far fluffier and not as darkly colored. They're also bigger.

My Aunt in the States identified it as a swallow, but its exact type is yet a mystery.

Swallows are insectivorous birds and incredibly deft flyers. They're common on farms in North America. Looks like Central American farms are no exception.

IMG_20170816_090109-does.jpg


On top of topping up my Cute-o-Meter for a good while, this temporary guest has brought with it a revelation. That God is indeed monitoring my progress through the trials of this life.

This swallow is symbolic...

It represents my own struggles to find myself, my purpose; my wings.

It is but one of many symbols God has bombarded me with of late, but it is by far the clearest.


Just yesterday, I was under the impression I was being tested.

My laptop of 7 years began malfunctioning severely. I did my usual analysis - ultimately pinpointing the origin of the problem as being hardware-related.

I never quite figured out what was causing it though; an unusual occurrence. It's back to normal at the moment.


As my day progressed, an interesting idea came to mind; that such strange occurrences were not tests at all, but symbolic representations of our progress in this life experience.

My laptop malfunctioning despite my best efforts (as a reasonably skilled technician) could point to a number of things, but I took it intuitively as reflecting change; raw change. A metamorphosis of my life from old realities to new realities.

You see, I'd been meaning to get a new laptop, but the MSI I covet is priced pretty high. Oddly enough, I received compensation for a bit of work I'd completed some while back just yesterday and multiple offers for additional work to boot. I'll have more than enough for it soon.


"'The question is,' said Humpty Dumpty, 'which is to be master - that's all.'
We are the masters at the moment, and not only at the moment, but for a very long time to come."
Lord Shawcross

As masters of our own lives, it is truly up to us to evolve into that which we aim to be.

As we strive to do so, God sends us clues as to our progress and the direction we're moving in.

He sent me a young, grounded swallow. Will I nurse it to health and release it, or will it die before experiencing the bliss and freedom of flight?

DSCN3492-does.JPG

Take note of God's symbolic messages. He is watching and he is waiting. We have a chance at joining him, but we must first grow into our wings and take flight.

When I went on to continue my walk, I nearly stepped on a massive king snake. I'll let you guys guess what that message means. ;)

Disturbances in your life are signs you are progressing. They are signs you are changing; transforming. God is speaking to you as he does to us all. He is helping you to see.

Though you may have fallen from your nest, there are endless possibilities for you in the skies above. They are beckoning you to freedom. Do not lament the loss of your warm nest, rejoice in the manifestation of your self-chosen destiny.


Sort:  

You're amazing. I absolutely love your writing. I enjoyed every word. Your personality and heart are so transparent. I need to pop in on you more often. I'm usually better about that! And you're right, that little bird's eye are mesmerising!

Wow, thank you so much for the kindness!

Its eyes seem unreal at times haha.

"Take note of God's symbolic messages. He is watching and he is waiting. We have a chance at joining him, but we must first grow into our wings and take flight." Beautiful message.

God does speak to us in all things, especially in nature:

7 But ask the animals, and they will teach you, or the birds in the sky, and they will tell you; 8 or speak to the earth, and it will teach you, or let the fish in the sea inform you. 9 Which of all these does not know that the hand of the LORD has done this? 10 In his hand is the life of every creature and the breath of all mankind.
Job 12: 7 - 10

Thanks for adding this lovely insight!

+jalai Thank you for this wonderful Bible verse. It is always more encouraging when we can correlate the Word of God to what the Holy Spirit speaks into us. Thanks again! Peace.

What an interesting little face it has, almost owl like! Great story about so much! Did you know snake is the symbol of rebirth, sounds fitting!

It does look a bit like an owl. We've been calling it toothless as it resembles the dragon from "How to Train Your Dragon" lol.

Snake being the symbol of rebirth is pretty neat and an eye-opener for me. Thanks :)

OMGoodness...wholesomeroots' post about the snake being a symbol of rebirth is very interesting and encouraging. I will have to research this fact a bit further, as the Bible links the serpent to the demise of Adam and Eve's garden sanctuary. Wow! I love when I learn something new.
Btw, you will have to do an update on the little bird. Prayerfully it will be able to fly away, soon.
Blessings!

Yes, @wholesomeroots added quite an interesting bit of info!

I'll definitely be doing an update soon. It's on the floor practicing flying right now.

It must be very heart-warming to know that in time of need this little guy found a friend in you. It is disturbing how high the suicide rate is becoming among young teen girls and young adult males. If only, as this little bird, they could find a good-hearted someone to help them heal from their pain, the world would be a better place for all. Let us pray for those in need of a little encouragement today!

This is a beautiful idea :)

+wholesomeroots, as noted in my initial post, I saw a garden snake and within seconds a Swallowtail butterfly with a damaged wing. I'd love to hear your take on the two.
Peace!

Butterflies are joy, transformation, and resurrection like the metamorphosis cycle! Sounds like you have some powerful, good life changes either already happening or about to! Good luck on your new path! good stuff!

Thanks for your reply! I received Holy-Ghost conviction this morning to look inward for understanding; and, believe that the butterfly and snake represent that in every aspect of life good and evil must coexist; and, we must learn to focus and embrace good so that evil will do as the snake, slither away. Thank you for your explanations. As noted, I do believe there is something very mystical about the beautiful butterfly.
Peace.

Congratulations @oddnugget! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Taking time to be "Humane" is never a waste! Being of service, even to the animal kingdom is a reminder to us all of the potential for good in all of us!

Thank you for showing mercy and giving us an example we call all follow : )

upvote/followed

Thank you so much. I doubt I'm the best example to follow, but I'm honored by this sentiment. Followed you as well!

Oh poor little creature! Please make sure you update us on it. Followed!

I'll try to keep you all posted. It's on top of the cage at the moment - practicing flying. Hope to have it safely in the air soon :)

Ha! Great post! I totally agree with you. So much so, that I wrote a daily devotional entitled "God Speaks: Are You Listening?" (shameless plug :+) I'm including a link if you'd like to support the cause. God speaks to people who are listening for Him often. Your encounter with this precious creature reminds me of a recent experience I had. It was a beautiful sunny morning, and on looking out onto the patio I saw this beautiful Swallowtail butterfly laying prostrate on the ground. Within seconds of seeing it, I saw a snake slither on its way. Alarmed; but, of the mindset, you don't bother me, I won't bother you; a sort of communing with nature. Back to the beautiful butterfly. I knew that while 'safe' on the patio, I knew that it needed care, as it lay there without moving. I saw that it was trying to fly; but, obviously had a damaged wing. I didn't know what to do; but, knew I had to do something. It was a 50-50. If I didn't do anything it would not survive, if I did something it would have a chance. So after a little research, I put it in the fridge for thirty minutes to calm it down. I did a quick tutorial on how to make symmetrical the other wing, with hopes this little guy could live to fly another day. I learned so much from this experience that lasted for days. Long story short, my snipping with the scissors didn't give it flying power; but, was astonished to learn that butterflies with damaged wings make great house pets. I learned that a little sugar-water in a soda-pop cap was perfect for rehydrating/feeding. With that said, my over-zealousness to restore its freedom was short-sighted, as I set it out amongst the garden plants for the night, with hopes that come morning, it would have taken flight. The next day it had taken a severe tumble and was in obvious distress. I brought it in, and left it in the fridge for half an hour with hopes it would rejuvenate. It did, and survived a few more days. I have to say the encounter let me know that God brings beauty into our lives frequently, and on occasion gives us a chance to be up close and personal with it. I took pictures, and decided to place it in a small picture frame, under glass as a reminder of life's surprises. Now, about that snake....within the next 72 hours, I did a botch job of D-Banning my primary computer. Botch because I failed to perform the most important step...flashing the drive! To this day, that reptile was an omen of things to come. And, the fact that the butterfly didn't survive, was just a to-boot!
Peace, and thanks for the post!

Oops...I almost forgot my shameless plug :+)....I don't want to hide what God has blessed me with under a bushel. So here's the link:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00T77PZ8O

Peace!

Hi,

That is so cool!

I'll get my hands on your book once I have a little steemit cash in a cryptopay account. :)

What an interesting experience you had with that butterfly. Butterflies are fascinating and the refrigerator thing is pretty neat.

I get the feeling you and I were supposed to connect here on this wonderful platform, so I'll follow you. Our entire world is changing and I've a feeling God has incredible things in store for us all.

I totally agree about the synergy. There are no coincidences with God. Everything is of Divine Design!!! Speaking of butterflies, my logo is a monarch butterfly. I am currently having trouble getting it to upload; so, as you can imagine, I find them quite the intriguing creature. I mean the fact that they can fly from Canada to Mexico is a wonderful mystery in and of itself.
Blessings!

Monarchs are incredible :) Monarch programming... Not so much.

Yes, there are definitely no mistakes made by God in the design of this world and experience.

Upvoted - thank you for being a good hearted human being (and for writing good content with a deep message).

Much appreciated :) I feel like most of the users here are good people and that we are all helping to change the world by sharing our stories and talents.

Good job

Hi and thanks! :)

Looks interesting.

Thanks for checking it out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36