Thoughts from a Humble Homesteader: Think Small. Look at What Thinking Big Has Done.

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

char.jpg

I watched a documentary recently called "The New Alchemists". It profiles a community engaged in developing sustainable living methods, including food production and small-scale solar and wind technology, in the 1970's. Well before sustainability was a mainstream concern, this group was working on creating a vision of a greener, kinder world.

Think small," say the New Alchemists. "Look what thinking big has done.


In a way that simple statement sums up why we are homesteaders. We've seen the direction that the world is going and we don't like it.

We can scream from the rooftops about the problems with GMO foods, pesticides, Nestle,factory farming, child labour, deforestation and so on. The problem is that very few people are listening and they get awfully tired of you talking about unpleasant things after a while. Eventually the passionate protester becomes dis-enchanted with ... everything.

What can we do? How do we effect change?

Think small. That's what we can do.

Whatever your passions and beliefs you can incorporate them into YOUR life. Spit on Monsanto by growing organic heirloom vegetables. Boycott Nestle and the fifty other companies they own by supporting small businesses instead or by making it yourself. Raise animals with compassion (or buy meat from farmers who do). Tell the beauty industry that they suck by making your own skin and beauty products or purchase all natural from smaller companies that have good values.

Thinking small sounds really good eh?

You can nurture the land around you, whether its an acreage or small garden box on your balcony. This helps the bees and butterflies and creates a more beautiful world. You can reduce our consumption and footprint by preserving food, using reusable packaging, being frugal with our energy utilization and not being such a consumer! There are so many small things that you CAN do.

Think small.


Follow me @walkerland

If you liked this you might also like:

The Homesteader's Food Rebellion
Homesteading: A Lonely Affair


WalkerLand_3-e1458831620676.png

Sort:  

Hello @walkerland, Thinking small is what I am up to. I have wanted to be an off grid homesteader for years. I have been collecting small pieces of equipment over the years solar battery chargers,solar flashlights ect. I have recently been able to find a piece of land that will work for me. It has wild strawberry's,Black walnut trees,Bluberry,s and several apple trees. Also an old small building that I am going to make into my tiny home it is 16 feet x 13 feet. I am going to make a post about it soon. I have done this with very little money. I might be able to help others if I write about how I did it. I am not comfortable using the computer so much. But I am getting better at it. I am 61 years old and my dream is about to come true .There are a lot of kind, loving individuals on steemit. I am following you on here. I enjoyed your post very much.

Hello @kathylee! I am so excited for you, and I admire you for following your dreams. I can't wait to read about your adventures. You'll find plenty of people willing to guide you on using Steemit, if you ever have a question I will do my very best to help you out.

I have not heard of this documentary. I will have to search for it now. You have my interest piqued to see it now.

I am not a full-fledged homesteader by any means but I am doing what I believe to be in the right direction for my family and household. I think we all do that.

Yes, I have goals and dreams, some realistic, others not so much.

But thank you for sharing! I found inspiration in this post.

Sorry If I came off judgemental in this post, that was not my intention. I was writing it partly by having been inspired by that video, and because the way the world is ... hurts my heart.

I was really trying to say that no matter where you live and what your principles are that you don't have to be frustrated or tormented by trying to change the way the entire world thinks or feels. Instead you can focus on your own small part of the world and let that radiate outward.

Obviously not everyone is concerned about the same things. This won't resonate with everyone.

January puts me in such a strange mood, must be the weather. All these thoughts get stuck in my brain and writing them is a bit therapeutic. I've never really had an outlet where I could say what's on my mind without having to censor every bit of it. I am really interested in knowing what other people think.

Thanks for reading.

Oh no.. Sorry if my comment was taken that way.

I was really trying to say that no matter where you live and what your principles are that you don't have to be frustrated or tormented by trying to change the way the entire world thinks or feels. Instead you can focus on your own small part of the world and let that radiate outward.

This is exactly how I understood your post to mean.

I love your passion, whether seasonal or weather related... and honestly, I share your sentiments in this post.

I am anxious to find a viewing/video of this documentary somewhere online or perhaps at the library.

Thanks so much for the feedback. I was worried to have offended and I am relieved that I didn't. Here is the video.I should have included it in the post. I will do that now. https://www.nfb.ca/film/new_alchemists/

There are also journals with phenomenal information and resources.https://newalchemists.net/publications/new-alchemy-1971-1991/

Thank you @ walkerland

OH great!!! thanks for the link! Perfect!!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @walkerland to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Love the advice on thinking small! Some people think because they live in an apartment that they can't make an impact. It's like the old saying my mom used to tell me when I was a kid. She would say Bill how do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time. And before you know it the elephants gone. Thank you for the read @walkerland!

gosh, I haven't heard that saying since I was a kid. Thanks for reading :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67203.60
ETH 3513.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20