Homesteading: A Lonely Affair

in #homesteading6 years ago

IMG_1054.jpg

Being a homesteader is a bit of a lonely affair. Of all the things I have done in my life, this has alienated me more from common society, and people in general, than any other thing I have done.

The first factor is that as a homesteader, part of the INTENT of the whole thing is to remove your reliance on major parts of society. We don't want to buy poisoned food, for example, so we grow most of our own. We don't want to run to a service provider at the first hint of a problem, so we've become more self sufficient in terms of fixing our own stuff. We don't eat out, because we cannot get the quality of food (nor food preparation) that we get at home. We've become much smaller consumers, so our trips to the shopping malls are far and few between. Because we do not do these things, we miss out on the social benefits associated with them. You don't make a lot of friends when you're at home 99% of the time.

Another factor is that as a homesteader, you are removed from your previous life, and as such, can expect to lose contact with a great number of people from that old life. There is the old "out of sight, out of mind" explanation, which is absolutely valid. There is another factor, though, and that is the loss of shared experience. In your old life, if you were employed, you spent 1/3 of your time, or more, working with others on commonly shared goals (work tasks.) You had a team-based purpose. Moving to a homestead severs this tie .. you're no longer involved. You're on your own. And the people you worked with before, were friends with, are just not there (especially if you move!)

I have found that 90% of the people I tried to maintain contact with simply lost interest (or made no time) in maintaining a dialogue. I have found this with family, with friends .. more or less with everyone I know. Now, it IS possible that I am just an asshole, and am only finding out now .. so perhaps this experience is limited to me. I suspect not though, as I have read a number of anecdotes pertaining to this very subject and the message is clear. Homesteading can be lonely.

This was "heavy" for me, for a time, something that made me rather uncomfortable. It bothered me to see that all these people with whom I had had close relationships were no longer interested in maintaining them. What did I do? Am I just a bad guy? Why can't people take ten fucking minutes to drop me an email?

After a time, I laughed at myself for this perspective, seeing it for the weakness it is. It's all just math, really, and we each have to do our own. Time is the real currency of this world, and if people do not have any spare to spend, that's alright, that's the way it is. I even understand it, in large part, as the occasional responses I get have one commonality - excessive work. Everyone is absolutely focused on "the crazy time of year" or the "huge project", or some other thing. The thing is, it never, ever ends. Every time I talk to them, rarely as it is, that is ALWAYS the central focus. Work. Busy with work. "How are you doing?" "Oh, so busy with work!!" What's new? "Oh, work is just crazy."

Is this at all surprising? Work is one of the great cults of our modern world, and much is sacrificed on its altar. For those who wish to achieve decently high levels of success, everything must be sacrificed. Health. Relationships. Intellectual pursuits. Hobbies. Children. Time. Everything must play second fiddle to almighty work. And by default, most people are OK with it (because they have been taught to be OK with it, to strive for it, even!) It's necessary to live, right? With all THAT being sacrificed, is it any wonder why no one has time to pick up a phone or answer an email?

Another aspect to the isolation is the changing perspective one gets by living this lifestyle. I walk into a grocery store and I see poison. I see someone play with their i-phone, and I see child labour. I see people whip out a VISA and I see the support of exploitation, usury. Fast food? Animal torture. Microsoft? Spyware. Anything the government says? Demonstrable propaganda. The list goes on and on .. and on. Now that I no longer live with these things by default, I see them more and more for what they are. Because of these perspectives, I find that I have less and less in common with those that do not see -- and this is another source of homesteader isolation, at least in my case. What are you going to talk about when you actively stand against many of the things that the lives of others are entirely made up of?

Homesteading, directly and indirectly, can be a very solitary affair. If you are considering the life, make sure you consider this. Are you willing to give up a lot of what you knew, including friends and relationships? Are you ready to morph into someone who is largely incompatible with 98% of the rest of the world, and the people you know? Are you ready to be that lonely black sheep of the flock? Are you ready to be the dissenting voice? To stand for change? To be the odd man out? If the answer is yes, get to it.

And if you're in the life already, and struggling with the loneliness aspect, take heart! You are not alone. Many people are doing just what you're doing, and going through the exact same difficulties. It gets easier over time. The work you are doing to live naturally and change yourself is very, very valuable. It's hard BECAUSE it's the right thing. So don't fret. Roll up your sleeves and get back to doing whatever it is you're doing. Keep going. The rest will all take care of itself.

IMG_2519.JPG

Sort:  

I can relate to the loneliness, not as much from the homesteading angle, but I felt the same effect because I was the only woman among my work circle to leave the workforce and become a SAHM. Suddenly there was that “working mom” and “SAHM” divide that just intensified how lonely I already was, day after day of not going somewhere for adult interaction. Throw in the homesteading angle and the gap cracks open even wider—so your article really spoke to me!

I too thought a lot of folks would want to “get away” to relax in the country. It’s been an interesting revelation to see who does make the effort to maintain that contact, and who doesn’t. Maybe the silver lining is seeing who really cares the most?

I just saw your reply @mtnmeadowmomma sorry for not replying sooner. I am still learning how to navigate things around here :( I wish we were neighbours I can tell we would get along really well. It's nice we aren't alone in how we feel. :)

Oh, it’s fine! I’m sure I’ve missed responses too. And I agree that it would be nice to be neighbors. (There are a lot of folks on here that I wish I was neighbors with!)

Keep it up the good work! Your article makes me think about life, friends and family. And how someone can live alone. Thanks for sharing. Followed and upvote!

Thank you, and you're welcome. Glad you enjoyed it.

This is a really interesting article. I moved to a rural cottage for a few months less than an hour from my circle. I figured folks would come visit for a weekend in the country and was surprised at how few did. I also don't think I'm an asshole but I still find it an interesting phenomena.

I suppose everyone is focused too intently on the business of their lives. We've been there. I am just grateful that we can appreciate the world through a different lens. It's a good place to be even if it gets lonely from time to time.

Your story encouraged me more in this endeavor of offgrid living. People have awakened already to the fact that the world before the industrialists came was more beautiful, and PERFECT.

Do visit my posts on offgrid power source, as in the next few days I will be revealing more specifics. OFFGRID and UNSELFISHNESS for me is the future; I am now readying myself to leave my children with such knowledge.

Regards.

I look forward to reading your off grid content. We live off grid on our homestead and have no regrets.

Thank you for the good news. Nice to know like-minded people here.

Great read about the social challenge involved in taking a new direction! I like to believe that If we take the steps to align our lives closer to our values we will also find relationships that are closer to these values. Some relationships we will grow out of, others will be strengthened, others healed and new ones found. All this takes time, and patience and humility, and a good dose of loneliness...

We moved countries and it will have been ten years this year. At first we would email with closer friends, but it's tapered off as the years have gone by. Like you say, there was only really work to be talked about and as we became more self sufficient that was our work, but most people have no interest in hearing about it. I've always been a bit of a bore to most people anyway! Lol!

I've actually found social media a help in this area as I can connect with that small percentage who do get our perspective.

I can relate to everything you said. I have my husband and two dogs and you know something, for the most part I am not really lonely. Perhaps it's my naturally introverted personality that makes it easier. Social media has been quite hit and miss for me but I know I need it. I worry that I will get too much inside my head and forget how to interact with others if I don't keep trying to engage. This is why I think I have taken to Steemit so much this past week. I love that you can say what you think and talk about just about anything. It feels "good" here.

On Facebook I have to "watch what I say" on my "blog fan page" and I don't even bother posting to my personal page anymore because I find it depressing. Reddit seems a bit "aggressive and pessimistic" I don't feel at home there and my blog (walkerland.ca) is mostly one sided with me writing articles but very little feedback. You can't say I haven't been trying (lol). I am having so much fun on Steemit that I've been neglecting everything else completely this past week.

So glad I am here! Thanks for the comment, I look forward to reading more of your posts!

“On Facebook I have to "watch what I say" on my "blog fan page" and I don't even bother posting to my personal page anymore because I find it depressing. Reddit seems a bit "aggressive and pessimistic" I don't feel at home there”

^^^ see, now I really wish we were neighbors because yep yep yep me too!! Though I never was on Reddit; I used to be super active on Babycenter for years, but the aggressiveness and downright meanness of the social justice warriors, and having to be suuuuper careful about what I said, eventually wore me down. I’m just out of patience with the fakeness of Facebook and would delete my account if it wasn’t for my business page. Steemit has been a breath of fresh air. It has the support and friendliness I’ve been sorely missing in online forums. I’ve been neglecting my sewing for it, ha!

This really is TOO FUN! I am letting the house fall down around me spending so much time on steemit. This has never happened to me before where I was so eager to be online. I would close my personal FB page as well if I could. Hopefully things will evolve here where that becomes possible! :)

I was reading through all of that thinking yep, yep annnnd yep! Lol! I closed my first facebook account and the only reason I went back was to open a page to share our journey. I don't post at all on my private page, it's just interaction on groups, more for information purposes. On Instagram I do have a lovely circle of cyber friends, but I'm always cautious about what I post there. Most people don't want to know that we prepare our excess roosters for food, so unless I'm directly asked I don't mention it. It's amazing how often I get asked if we eat the miniature lop rabbits we breed though! Seriously!! Don't ask about the obvious food animals, but a tiny ultra cute pet animal, well we must be eating them!!

I like the lack of judgment here. I still half expect it when I post something slightly controversial though. Glad you're enjoying it here. It can be addictive! I need to put my tablet down a bit and get on with real world chores...

oh gosh, sorry for not replying to this sooner. I fell down a rabbit hole I think (lol). I really feel free to speak here. It has been so liberating. thanks for connecting with me I love chatting with you - I look forward to learning more about your world and these fancy lop rabbits of yours. :)

Lol! Don't worry about it. I nearly missed a reply the other day and it was my hubby who asked me why I hadn't replied to them!

loved this story! i think you brought up a few home truths that are well known but seldom addressed. great post! mentioned in the MSP PAL curation

Insightful. Thanks, a lot of folks don't include a loss of friends and connection to the everyday world in their going off-grid equation when planning the big move.

A genuinely moving article. You may have lost 90% of your friends, but I'm ready to bet that the ones you still have are worth more than the ones you lost all put together...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69715.93
ETH 3772.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77