The Homesteader's Food Rebellion

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

IMG_3989-1024x683.jpg

Food is Life

When you get to know me, one thing you'll learn is that I love food. I love being involved in the entire process: planting the seed all the way through to serving it at the table.

img_7384.jpg

Rebelling

One of the things that moved us towards homesteading was food. We didn't like the uncertainty of what was in our food, how it was being grown and we were bothered by many of the things that the global food industry is doing. They can keep their GMO food, patented seeds and pesticides, we aren't buying any of it.

Trial & Error

Taking a stand like that means we need to produce as much of our own food as possible. One does not become a master gardener or farmer over night however.

We had a few hard lessons. Raising pigs for example was a profound experience that will be etched on our hearts forever. We loved our pigs and we had to kill them. Last summer we had a field of garlic (our first cash crop) get ruined during some flooding. These things you can't always anticipate. You just adapt, learn and do it differently next time. We probably wont raise more pigs (even though they are awesome) and we won't plant garlic in a field that floods.

The Miracles & Wins

The wins exceed the losses and each year we get better. We've got food growing in gardens, fields, containers and bushes. If it will grow, we will happily plant it. Each seed that takes hold is a small and delicious miracle, other than the Jeruselum artichokes. I rue the day I decided to plant them. No one seems to like them and they multiply like gremlins.

We forage and gather wild apples and herbs. Dandelions, rose petals and hips become tea, jam, jelly and wine. There is so much food around us once we change our way of thinking and open our eyes.

IMG_8882.JPG

Preserving & Storing

In order to get through winter we have a lot of preserving to do. We can, dehydrate, ferment and brew. When it comes to learning new methods, we'll try anything once (or twice). A well stocked pantry is a beautiful sight. Sometimes I "visit the pantry" just to look at the food. I really am in love with food - our food.

IMG_0034-1170x1755.jpg

At the end of the day we are proving to ourselves that we can be self reliant when it comes to food. We still buy things because we want to (coffee, sugar, flour and oats for example) but if we really wanted to we could stop. Honey could easily replace sugar and I could live without coffee and the other treats we buy. With a bit of compromise it would work for us.

It's hard work and it takes determination but what a marvellous journey! I think this is a worthwhile rebellion.

Happy Homesteading & Be well,

Charlotte

WalkerLand_3-e1458831620676.png

Sort:  

Beautiful photos, and whaaaa!!?? That pantry is amazing... Very inspiring...

Thank you @schoonercreek. It's a labour of love!

Every time I plant a seed, harvest a tomato or herb, clean and preserve- whether dehydrate or can... I smile at what I am able to bring to my family's dinner table.

Granted it's only myself and my husband (and our baby 100-lb chocolate lab) but nothing tastes better than that homemade marinara sauce or chili with fresh herbs sprinkled on top

AS you said A labor of love

We've got an empty nest now so it's just my husband and I and our two dogs (plus the chickens and other critters). I sometimes joke we should have had more kids so we could put them to work (lol) Our son has no interest in homesteading at all but ...he'll come around.

There really is a strong feeling of accomplishment when the food you put on the table comes from your own land (and sweat). I don;t think anything I did before work wise gave me that same satisfaction.

I worked outside the home for years and never went to sleep at night so satisfied as I do now.

Impressive pantry! I'm following you! Oh, upvote, too! :)

Thanks @mamajeani! I am following you too.

This post has received a 1.28 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @walkerland

I hear you, especially as a parent I have become so much more aware of what we eat, we are what we eat and staying away from pesticides and gmo foods has a hugely positive impact on our health. This is a great rebellion. resteemed
P.s Your pantry is definitely something you should be proud of.

Love what you do - very inspiring. Its so hard these days to source good, quality, non-toxic organic produce - I cant afford to buy it, so only one thing left and that is to get busy in the garden!

Very inspiring! We just (like 20 minutes ago) got approved to buy our own little [future] homestead - in Canada as well. Looking forward to your inspirational and informative posts!

Congratulations! I am excited for you. All the best with your adventures :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63033.54
ETH 2434.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54